Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Atari 400

  1. #1
    Apple (Level 5) Custom rank graphic
    Urzu402's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1,157
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Atari 400

    before i get one what should i know about it? like will it hook into my TV and stuff.....

  2. #2
    Alex (Level 15) Custom rank graphic
    Gameguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Richmond Hill, Ontario (Canada)
    Posts
    7,184
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    33
    Thanked in
    27 Posts

  3. #3
    Insert Coin (Level 0) jahvybe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sandy, OR
    Posts
    169
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Oh, here let me google that for you......
    http://lmgtfy.com/?q=atari+400

  4. #4
    Apple (Level 5) Custom rank graphic
    Urzu402's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1,157
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    believe me i tried google.

  5. #5
    Cherry (Level 1) PutUrQuarterUp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    201
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    haha.. before this gets too out of hand..

    http://www.atariage.com/howto/connect.html

    there you go..

    I know this doesn't mention the 400, but this will tell you what you need to know..

  6. #6
    Part of the #vbender crew Custom rank graphic
    Ze_ro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    2,511
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Abstract Zero
    PSN
    Ze_roV
    Steam
    abstractzero

    Default

    First of all.... why a 400? It's easily the worst of the A8 line of computers, with one of the worst keyboards of all time. I suggest you look into a different model... most people seem to prefer the 800XL. There are a handful of games that require the original 400/800, but it's not worth limiting yourself to a 400 just for them.

    Second of all, the 400 hooks up exactly like an Atari 2600, except with a different power supply. RF only, so you need a switchbox or an adapter like is shown in that AtariAge guide. Later models in the A8 line offer composite output, which is easier to deal with and will give a better picture quality.

    --Zero

  7. #7
    Apple (Level 5) Custom rank graphic
    Urzu402's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1,157
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    because i have the opportunity to get a 400 for 25 bucks plus some games for it so its not because i'm limiting myself....

  8. #8
    Alex (Level 15) Custom rank graphic
    Gameguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Richmond Hill, Ontario (Canada)
    Posts
    7,184
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    33
    Thanked in
    27 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Urzu402 View Post
    believe me i tried google.
    You must suck at google, I used it and right on the first page I found the links I posted. They give the complete technical data on the system with a description about the computer including known limitations and problems(the crappy keyboard being one of them). They mention that it's RF output, meaning it gets hooked up to a TV. It took me less than 2 minutes to do that.

    It seems you want it so just buy it, it's just $25.

  9. #9
    Key (Level 9) chrisbid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,819
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    if you use a direct rf connection through a phono>coax convertor, then the picture is actually not half bad.

    and while the 400 is neutered, it will play most a8 carts. it is well worth 25 bucks for the carts themselves... just make sure you get donkey kong

  10. #10
    Apple (Level 5) Custom rank graphic
    Urzu402's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1,157
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    turns out its an Atari 800 not a 400.... does that make it so much of a better deal?

  11. #11
    Professional Geek Custom rank graphic
    Damaramu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    3,423
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Jebus you're dense. Are you even reading what people are typing here?

  12. #12
    Apple (Level 5) Custom rank graphic
    Urzu402's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1,157
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    is there anything you have to do to get the keyboard to work? because mine doesnt.....

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-03-2012, 02:42 PM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-03-2012, 02:52 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-14-2011, 08:21 AM
  4. FA: Boxed Atari 2600 BMX Airmaster (NTSC Atari Red Label) ENDS 2/21
    By PingvinBlueJeans in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-21-2009, 03:54 PM
  5. FS/FT list Sega Nomad/Atari 2600/PS1/PS2/Atari 7800/SNES Kiosk
    By EricDeLee in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-14-2007, 12:20 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •