Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Vic-20 tape drive issue

  1. #1
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Boondocks
    Posts
    121
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Vic-20 tape drive issue

    7 months ago a friend of mine snagged a boxed Vic-20 for me. Since I always get backups, I bought another one off of ebay, but this one came with the printer and a tape drive (as I know there are various forms of the tape drive).

    However, the tape drive is broken, and although I do repair electronics as a second job, I've never messed with a tape drive.

    The Eject button is stuck (won't push down), and the Rewind button is stuck (pressed down). However I can push the rewind button up, but it'll just go back down.

    Also the tape drive just says "Commodore" on it, no specific model is mentioned on the front. On the back it reads "C2N Cassette." I thought I'd mention this since there are many forms of the datasette.

    So how can I fix this problem with the buttons? Thanks
    "The expenses of the government reach EVERYBODY"
    -Calvin Coolidge (30th President of the U.S.A.)

  2. #2
    Cherry (Level 1) channelmaniac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Dallas, Tx Metromess
    Posts
    203
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    It's a mechanical issue. You'll have to take the mechanism out of the unit and see what is bent/stuck.

  3. #3
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Boondocks
    Posts
    121
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I will have to do that sometime later on today. Maybe after I get off work.
    I'll let you know what I came across.
    "The expenses of the government reach EVERYBODY"
    -Calvin Coolidge (30th President of the U.S.A.)

  4. #4
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Boondocks
    Posts
    121
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Double Post

    I fixed it, it was a simple fix, all I did was disassemble it, something was not pieced togather right.

    Works great now. Later
    "The expenses of the government reach EVERYBODY"
    -Calvin Coolidge (30th President of the U.S.A.)

Similar Threads

  1. Using an iPod as a giant tape drive...
    By DeputyMoniker in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-13-2014, 02:01 AM
  2. Sega Mega Drive freeze issue and no sound issue.
    By suverman in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 05-19-2012, 05:07 AM
  3. NES tape drive??? Need tech info!
    By davidbrit2 in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 06-18-2005, 12:23 PM
  4. Iomega Tape Drive For Auction
    By shaggy in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-06-2003, 05:27 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •