Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 51 to 57 of 57

Thread: The 3dfx Thread - "That is power most-awesome."

  1. #51
    Banana (Level 7) Zing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,491
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    The Voodoo cards only enable when the GLIDE driver is used. Only GLIDE games will turn them on.

    The passthrough is purely analog and will work with literally any other video card.

  2. #52
    Red (Level 21) Jorpho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    We're all mad here
    Posts
    13,537
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Soviet Conscript View Post
    1) my 2 voodoo 2's seem to be 2 diffrent manufacturers, ones a monster and the other has no label but it is a black card.
    You will need the drivers from 3dfxzone.it for "mismatched SLI". (And of course you will also need an SLI cable, but apparently you can cobble one together from an old floppy cable.)

    Quote Originally Posted by Zing View Post
    The Voodoo cards only enable when the GLIDE driver is used. Only GLIDE games will turn them on.
    Heck no, sir! That might be true in DOS, but the Voodoo cards were also quite capable of Direct3D and OpenGL.

    2) i know the voodoos are passthrough cards but do i have to use a dedicated 2d card with them or can i use anouther 2d/3d card like this spare viper v770 ultra i have laying here? will that create any conflicts or will the voodoos only kick in when i use a game that supports them?
    If you are playing Direct3D games, it can be tricky. There's a little doodad at http://www.falconfly.de/tools.htm called 3D Control Center that will let you switch between cards, but if the drivers for your Viper support a higher DirectX version than the 3DFXZone drivers, the Viper will always be used.
    "There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge." --Bertrand Russel (attributed)

  3. #53
    Banana (Level 7) Zing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,491
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Someone with a TNT2 Ultra would clearly want to use that for Direct3d instead of a Voodoo2. I had both back in the day, and always preferred the TNT2 for anything Direct3d. It was a coin flip for Quake 2. The TNT2 had 32bit color, so the game looked great, but it didn't have the rock solid FPS of the Voodoo2.

    When you say "OpenGL" you really mean "Quake". The Voodoo and Voodoo2 cards had a miniGL port, specifically made for Quake/Quake2. It wasn't a full OpenGL implementation.

  4. #54
    Red (Level 21) Jorpho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    We're all mad here
    Posts
    13,537
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Well, a lot of things used the Quake/Quake2 engine.

    Also, while it can't use the OpenGL ICD, if you copy 3dfxvgl.dll to an application's directory and rename it to opengl32.dll, that will work. There's also WickedGL, but that doesn't support everything either.
    "There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge." --Bertrand Russel (attributed)

  5. #55
    Peach (Level 3) PC-ENGINE HELL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    679
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zing View Post
    Someone with a TNT2 Ultra would clearly want to use that for Direct3d instead of a Voodoo2.
    Depends on the game. Some earlier DirectX titles were not supported too hot by the earlier Nvidia drivers, and the problems (speed and grafx bugs) were never addressed completely, causing you to bounce back and forth between driver sets, etc. 3DFX driver support was really just a bit stronger and more well rounded up until the end of the company.

    Plus you got the benefit of Glide and better performance in Open GL type titles like Quake 2 or SIN. That makes a big difference when you're looking to do a build that handles a certain Direct X time frame, from like 96-98, since you want to have a build that can cover as many bases as possible as best as possible, not just Direct 3D. TNT2 Ultra was also built for single-texturing, which presented its own set of fps/performance issues on some games.

  6. #56
    ServBot (Level 11) Edmond Dantes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    3,453
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    14
    Thanked in
    14 Posts

    Default

    I have a Voodoo 3 2000 PCI in my classic gaming rig. I've been quite satisfied with it for the most part. The only thing is I've noticed framerate drops in the original Half-Life if played with OpenGL or Direct3D. I seem to recall other issues, but its been awhile. Mainly I just chalk it up to Half-Life being the most resource-intensive game I own.

  7. #57
    Pear (Level 6) Soviet Conscript's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    1,361
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    anyone know really how much more powerful the voodoo 5500 is then the voddoo 3500? i know the 5500 can do 32 bit color and a few fancy things but from what i looked at they have the same max res. same RAMDAC speed and the core/mem speed of the 5500 is acually slower, 166mhz to the 3500's 183 mhz. i know the 5500 has 2 gpus so does it make a huge diffrence in practice.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 128
    Last Post: 05-24-2019, 01:06 PM
  2. Awesome "Underdog" Games
    By BeowulfXXIV in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 08-13-2005, 01:23 AM
  3. "The official spine card scan thread" or "Gam
    By boatofcar in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-28-2005, 11:02 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •