Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Fallout GOTY Edition Question - Side Quests

  1. #1
    Crono (Level 14)
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    6,331
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Fallout GOTY Edition Question - Side Quests

    So did they ever fix with one of the DLC packs where you can go back in the original game and finish your side missions? I am close to beating the main story of the game, but nowhere near finishing the side missions. I know this was an issue with the original game, but I heard rumors this was fixed with DLC. Any clue? No spoilers please!
    #vbender

  2. #2
    Pretzel (Level 4) LaughingMAN.S9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    The Vatican
    Posts
    996
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    MILKnoCrackerz
    PSN
    ElPrivon

    Default

    i have another question, if i already have fallout 3, and buy fallout 3 goty from gamestop used, can i just install the dlc to the ps3 hd, then go back and exchange it for something else?

    i know it was done alot by people i knew with oblivion, can anyone confirm?
    "Kidnap the presidents wife without a plan..."

  3. #3
    Insert Coin (Level 0) Misto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Cleveland
    Posts
    199
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LaughingMAN.S9 View Post
    i have another question, if i already have fallout 3, and buy fallout 3 goty from gamestop used, can i just install the dlc to the ps3 hd, then go back and exchange it for something else?

    i know it was done alot by people i knew with oblivion, can anyone confirm?

    Yes, the DLC is on a separate disk. You just put the second disc with the DLC in and pick which expansions you want to install.

    As for the going back, I believe you can. After finishing each DLC I was able to go back into the wasteland. Although, I already had all the main quests done when I started the DLC, so I could be wrong.

  4. #4
    Crono (Level 14) Custom rank graphic

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    6,634
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    13
    Thanked in
    13 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Misto View Post
    Yes, the DLC is on a separate disk. You just put the second disc with the DLC in and pick which expansions you want to install.
    The DLC isn't on a seperate disc on the PS3 version. Only the 360 version.

    Quote Originally Posted by LaughingMAN.S9 View Post
    i have another question, if i already have fallout 3, and buy fallout 3 goty from gamestop used, can i just install the dlc to the ps3 hd, then go back and exchange it for something else?

    i know it was done alot by people i knew with oblivion, can anyone confirm?
    But to answer the question, yes, I'd assume so. Whenever on the main menu of the game it says DLC and then has install each seperate DLC. I didn't download and install any of the DLC, but whenever getting out of Vault 101 all the information for the quests popped up anyways.

    So I'd assume that you can just go on there, download all the DLC and then return the game. Also the trophy support says Fallout 3, not Fallout 3 GotY.

    Even though you're buying it and returning it used. It's technically stealing as you're keeping the DLC as you've got a refund of what you've paid for.
    Last edited by kupomogli; 01-08-2010 at 02:14 PM.
    Everything in the above post is opinion unless stated otherwise.

  5. #5
    Great Puma (Level 12) heybtbm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    4,338
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    The Shamemaker
    PSN
    heybtbm
    Steam
    The_Shamemaker

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LaughingMAN.S9 View Post
    i would have given anything to see what that dyke splashchicks response would have been
    Quote Originally Posted by LaughingMAN.S9 View Post
    i have another question, if i already have fallout 3, and buy fallout 3 goty from gamestop used, can i just install the dlc to the ps3 hd, then go back and exchange it for something else?
    You stay classy.
    "One of the ways I gauge a DS game is by recharges. "...Tycho (Penny Arcade)

  6. #6
    ServBot (Level 11)
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    3,791
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    So, I'm thinking of buying the GOTY on the PS3. I heard there used to be problems with freezing and such. Was this ever resolved? I have the standard version, but I'd really like to play through it again with the additional content.

  7. #7
    Kirby (Level 13) megasdkirby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Bayamon, Puerto Rico
    Posts
    5,190
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    12
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    9
    Thanked in
    8 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    megasdkirby
    PSN
    megasdkirby

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TheDomesticInstitution View Post
    So, I'm thinking of buying the GOTY on the PS3. I heard there used to be problems with freezing and such. Was this ever resolved? I have the standard version, but I'd really like to play through it again with the additional content.
    Well, last time I played, the game froze on the aptitude/test segment. Just booted back to the XMB menu.

    After that, I stopped playing it. I should definitely go back.
    Proud owner of a Neo 25 Neo Geo Candy Cab!

  8. #8
    Crono (Level 14) Custom rank graphic

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    6,634
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    13
    Thanked in
    13 Posts

    Default

    I've gotten out of the vault, finished the quests from that one girl, and then covered pretty much the entire map south of the vault. Then I got bored and haven't played it since.

    I haven't had any freezing at all. If there is freezing issues at the beginning of the game then it might just be random. If it's supposed to actually have freezing issues then I must be really lucky.
    Everything in the above post is opinion unless stated otherwise.

  9. #9
    Peach (Level 3) Howie6925's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    London Ontario,Canada
    Posts
    610
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    RicknSam
    PSN
    howie6925

    Default

    Since the DLC is on a single disk for the ps3 version, would my regular edition save file work on the goty edition? I really dont want to pay the dlc price when I can pick up the GOTY edition cheap off a friend plus I dont really want play the game over again since Im about 40 or so hours into it.

  10. #10
    Great Puma (Level 12) skaar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    #vbender
    Posts
    4,723
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    SkaarDragoon

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by heybtbm View Post
    You stay classy.
    He's said stupider shit.

    Anyway, at least for the first two DLC packs - when you finish the DLC it brings you back to the main world/area so you can keep doing whatever you want. You're not locked in and I don't think you ever were?
    <Sothy> its the internet <Sothy> who cares

    Quote Originally Posted by Daltone View Post
    This is a classic gaming site and the most active thread is a load of people wanking off to my little pony.

  11. #11
    Great Puma (Level 12) Tempest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    4,548
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Tempest 2084
    PSN
    Tempest 2084

    Default

    Does anyone know what the current cost of all five expansion packs would be for the 360? Am I better off buying the GotY edition even though I already own the regular version? The Pitt and Broken Steel are the only two that really interest me, but I might want to check out rest for the hell of it.

    Tempest
    --- www.AtariProtos.com ---
    All Your Prototypes Are Belong To Us!

  12. #12
    Great Puma (Level 12) skaar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    #vbender
    Posts
    4,723
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    SkaarDragoon

    Default

    They were all 400 points awhile back, I bought them all but haven't gotten to them yet.

    They will likely go on sale again when new Vegas starts getting more promoted.
    <Sothy> its the internet <Sothy> who cares

    Quote Originally Posted by Daltone View Post
    This is a classic gaming site and the most active thread is a load of people wanking off to my little pony.

  13. #13
    I can't change my avatar. Custom rank graphic
    Porksta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    2,755
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    YaoIsGod

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by skaar View Post
    They were all 400 points awhile back, I bought them all but haven't gotten to them yet.

    They will likely go on sale again when new Vegas starts getting more promoted.
    Yeah during the Holiday Season sales they were all $5 as opposed to the $10 they are currently.

    Just find yourself a gameshare, that's what I did.
    Like free stuff? I have earned hundreds of dollars in free Amazon gift cards through Swagbucks. Check it out here! Earn 3000 points and I will give you FREE shipping the next time you buy from me!
    http://www.swagbucks.com/refer/Porksta

  14. #14
    ServBot (Level 11)
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    3,791
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by megasdkirby View Post
    Well, last time I played, the game froze on the aptitude/test segment. Just booted back to the XMB menu.

    After that, I stopped playing it. I should definitely go back.
    When I played through the first time, I believe I got hung up in this area. You should go back, it's an amazing game. My favorite current gen game, without a doubt. My only complaint would be not being able to play after you've finished the main quest. I guess that was resolved with the GOTY edition.

  15. #15
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Gone till November
    Posts
    107
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TheDomesticInstitution View Post
    When I played through the first time, I believe I got hung up in this area.
    I got stuck here as well (the test), but it was the non-GOTY version.

Similar Threads

  1. Please help me identify this Oblivion GOTY edition.
    By piesel in forum Modern Gaming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-26-2010, 09:30 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-10-2010, 02:25 PM
  3. ps3 Fallout 3 Goty question
    By punkrockdave in forum Modern Gaming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-06-2009, 11:48 PM
  4. FF9 Side Quests
    By kainemaxwell in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-16-2005, 10:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •