Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Genesis region mod keeps playing in USA mode

  1. #1
    Cherry (Level 1) JimmyDean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    274
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Genesis region mod keeps playing in USA mode

    Ok, so I did the genesis region mod, flipped it to Japan, and... No warnings, or red flashing lights like its supposed to. I quadruple checked and measured with a multimeter 10 times, yet it keeps playing in US mode. Only thing I can think of is those crappy radioshack switches I used. Has anyone else experienced this problem? Thanks!

  2. #2
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    London, Ontario
    Posts
    511
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JimmyDean View Post
    Ok, so I did the genesis region mod, flipped it to Japan, and... No warnings, or red flashing lights like its supposed to. I quadruple checked and measured with a multimeter 10 times, yet it keeps playing in US mode. Only thing I can think of is those crappy radioshack switches I used. Has anyone else experienced this problem? Thanks!
    what model genesis?

    also, just because it is a local game, doesn't mean it will not play on a JPN system; some games show no change, some the title changes, some you get the 'warning'

  3. #3
    Cherry (Level 1) JimmyDean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    274
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Model 1. Sonic 2, Altered Beast, and Golden Axe (My only 3 genesis games) will continue in US mode. I had Sonic 3 on my other Genesis (That I sold) and it went to the warning screen. Actually, I kept Sonic 3 so I will have to dig it up sometime.

  4. #4
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    London, Ontario
    Posts
    511
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JimmyDean View Post
    Model 1. Sonic 2, Altered Beast, and Golden Axe (My only 3 genesis games) will continue in US mode. I had Sonic 3 on my other Genesis (That I sold) and it went to the warning screen. Actually, I kept Sonic 3 so I will have to dig it up sometime.
    it almost sounds like the trace wasn't cut all the way.

    you could test this and your switch with a multi meter

  5. #5
    Cherry (Level 1) JimmyDean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    274
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I tested it and it was cut out all the way. I cut it in 3 different places with an xacto knife to make sure it was. I even dremeled the damn thing to high heaven. (making sure not to cut any other traces, of course!) So, yeah, its cut out all the way.

  6. #6
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    London, Ontario
    Posts
    511
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JimmyDean View Post
    I tested it and it was cut out all the way. I cut it in 3 different places with an xacto knife to make sure it was. I even dremeled the damn thing to high heaven. (making sure not to cut any other traces, of course!) So, yeah, its cut out all the way.
    perhaps if you take a picture, there are a couple variations on the model 1, one in particular is annoying, it has a cap across where the mod is performed (this cap should NOT be removed)

  7. #7
    Cherry (Level 1) JimmyDean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    274
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Well, my dad's camera isn't working and there is NO way my sister would let me use hers.

  8. #8
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    London, Ontario
    Posts
    511
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JimmyDean View Post
    Well, my dad's camera isn't working and there is NO way my sister would let me use hers.
    lol.


    to night I'll take a couple pics of mine, then you can see if any of them match....

  9. #9
    Cherry (Level 1) JimmyDean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    274
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks, dude!

  10. #10
    Pac-Man (Level 10) FABombjoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lansing, MI
    Posts
    2,145
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    If you've got a multimeter, you should be able to quickly check and make sure it's good.

    1: Unplug the power
    2: Continuity (diode) test from ground to the common jumper trace. Flip switch back and forth - should only read continuity in one direction.
    3: Continuity test from voltage regulator output pin (rightmost) to the common jumper trace. Should only read continuity in the opposite direction.

    If you don't have a continuity test position, substitute with resistance & watch for 0 ohms.

  11. #11
    Pear (Level 6) ApolloBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    1,219
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JimmyDean View Post
    Model 1. Sonic 2, Altered Beast, and Golden Axe (My only 3 genesis games) will continue in US mode.
    All of those games are region-free, so they will work no matter what region setting your Genesis is on. Almost all Genesis and Mega Drive games released before 1993 are region-free.
    Quote Originally Posted by starsoldier1 View Post
    GUY WAS SUPPOSE TO PLAYABLE IN THE GAME
    My collection

  12. #12
    Jessica's Knight / SOFEL Fanboy InsaneDavid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    7,342
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    13
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    9
    Thanked in
    8 Posts

    Default

    If you don't have a game that is region locked, then get a copy of Streets of Rage or Streets of Rage 2.

    Streets of Rage 2 will not load in JPN mode, you will get an error message. Streets of Rage will load as Bare Knuckle (Japanese title) in JPN mode. Those are the games I'd use as a visual test back when I was modding a lot of Genesis consoles.
    Contributing Writer, Retrogaming Times Monthly 2004 - 2013
    Chief Editor, The Retrogaming Times 2016 - Present *NEW RETROGAMING HOBBYIST NEWSLETTER!*


Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-21-2012, 08:17 PM
  2. Anybody Playing Black Ops Zombie mode? For 360
    By OldSkoolBrian in forum Modern Gaming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-08-2011, 02:34 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-29-2008, 01:35 PM
  4. Which rpgs have self-playing auto-battle mode?
    By kevin_psx in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 11-01-2005, 09:55 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •