Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: A question about restoring a Coleco Telstar 6040

  1. #1
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    12
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default A question about restoring a Coleco Telstar 6040

    I found an old Coleco Telstar Model 6040 at a junk shop and am in the process of cleaning it up. Here is a picture for clarification since they made so many models:
    http://img29.imageshack.us/img29/9260/pict0224g.jpg

    Now my question: I've cleaned the case and board all up inside and out, but the graphics on screen are smudged.
    Pictures:
    http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/6417/pict0226m.jpg
    http://img43.imageshack.us/img43/5/pict0225m.jpg

    I know that's not the way it is supposed to look. Is there anything I can do to fix this? I've already tried several tvs and replacing the cable which connects it. It is connected directly to the coaxial input since I don't have the RF switch for it, and I am using a 9 volt AC adaptor from the Salvation Army which isn't the actual adaptor, but is the correct voltage and amperage.

    This thing is so cool! Please help me restore it!

  2. #2
    Strawberry (Level 2) Compute's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Appleton, WI
    Posts
    463
    PSN
    compute1984
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Some caps will dry up/short over time. Although I'm not familiar with the hardware, caps are always a good starting point. Does that one run on batteries? Maybe try running it on batteries or try a different ac adapter.
    See my latest arcade repair at the Holodeck 2 Arcade Repair Blog: http://holodeck2arcade.blogspot.com

  3. #3
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    12
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Compute View Post
    Some caps will dry up/short over time. Although I'm not familiar with the hardware, caps are always a good starting point. Does that one run on batteries? Maybe try running it on batteries or try a different ac adapter.
    It can run on batteries, so I'll try that first. I'll test the capacitors if that doesn't work. Thanks for the info!

Similar Threads

  1. Coleco Telstar Value?
    By crazyjackcsa in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-14-2011, 12:06 PM
  2. Coleco Telstar Marksman
    By Corporal Coleco in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-26-2011, 09:47 PM
  3. Looking for a Coleco Telstar Arcade
    By atomicthumbs in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-06-2005, 02:21 AM
  4. restoring Coleco tabletops
    By Kid Ice in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-21-2003, 08:50 PM
  5. Coleco Telstar Colortron????????
    By godsey1 in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-06-2003, 10:34 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •