Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: SNES Controller Port problem

  1. #1
    Insert Coin (Level 0) SithWarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Brampton, Ont, Canada
    Posts
    69
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    SGT SITHWARRIOR
    PSN
    SITHWARRIOR-22

    Default SNES Controller Port problem

    HI I have this nice yellowed Snes and the first player controller port dose not function right, like when I hit the d-pad up it pause's the game, A button acts like the right d-pad so on and so forth basically, I'm trying to find out whats wrong with it. I opened it up taken it apart everything and put it back together just in cause something was lose, well that didn't do anything if anyone has any idea what the problem may be please reply.
    JACK of all trades, Master of none...

  2. #2
    Cherry (Level 1)
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    345
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Sounds like chip that decodes the controller data is busted, or the CLK line.

  3. #3
    Insert Coin (Level 0) SithWarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Brampton, Ont, Canada
    Posts
    69
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    SGT SITHWARRIOR
    PSN
    SITHWARRIOR-22

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by madman77 View Post
    Sounds like chip that decodes the controller data is busted, or the CLK line.
    where would i find the chip or the clk line in the SNES and fix them?
    JACK of all trades, Master of none...

  4. #4
    Cherry (Level 1)
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    345
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    The only fix would be to replace the chip, you can't fix a chip.

  5. #5
    Insert Coin (Level 0) SithWarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Brampton, Ont, Canada
    Posts
    69
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    SGT SITHWARRIOR
    PSN
    SITHWARRIOR-22

    Default

    what would be easier to replace the chip or the board?
    JACK of all trades, Master of none...

  6. #6
    Pear (Level 6) Custom rank graphic
    alec006's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    DFW
    Posts
    1,270
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SithWarrior View Post
    what would be easier to replace the chip or the board?
    The board is the easiest to replace,just buy another one from NES Repair Shop, they have lots of goodies. http://www.nesrepairshop.com/online_...?productID=482
    "...leave love bleeding, in my hands, in my hands again..."

  7. #7
    Insert Coin (Level 0) SithWarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Brampton, Ont, Canada
    Posts
    69
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    SGT SITHWARRIOR
    PSN
    SITHWARRIOR-22

    Default

    Thanks for the link but sadly they only ship within the U.S at the time, I'll be sure to look around
    JACK of all trades, Master of none...

  8. #8
    Pear (Level 6) Custom rank graphic
    alec006's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    DFW
    Posts
    1,270
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SithWarrior View Post
    Thanks for the link but sadly they only ship within the U.S at the time, I'll be sure to look around
    Found someone who ships outside the USA.

    http://www.nintendorepairhut.com/rep...=1263319377665
    "...leave love bleeding, in my hands, in my hands again..."

  9. #9
    Insert Coin (Level 0) SithWarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Brampton, Ont, Canada
    Posts
    69
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    SGT SITHWARRIOR
    PSN
    SITHWARRIOR-22

    Default

    Thank you very much alec006, I have bookmarked the site and when I have enough money I'll be sure to get it.
    JACK of all trades, Master of none...

  10. #10
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    1
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SithWarrior View Post
    Thank you very much alec006, I have bookmarked the site and when I have enough money I'll be sure to get it.
    Sorry to bump an old thread, but I was wondering if replacing the port solved your problems. I am having controller issues with a SNES I picked up that registers random button presses and the d-pad's are super sensitive (all controllers and both ports do this). But I'm skeptical that replacing that port will do anything since it appears to only be re-routing traces from the controllers to a ribbon cable (so no processing done on this board). I doubt it's the culprit.

  11. #11
    ServeBot (Lɘvel 11) RP2A03's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    59 6F 75 72 20 48 44 44 20 61 64 64 69 6E 67 20 65 6D 62 61 72 72 61 73 73 69 6E 67 20 64 61 74 61
    Posts
    3,548
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JalopyPilot View Post
    Sorry to bump an old thread, but I was wondering if replacing the port solved your problems. I am having controller issues with a SNES I picked up that registers random button presses and the d-pad's are super sensitive (all controllers and both ports do this). But I'm skeptical that replacing that port will do anything since it appears to only be re-routing traces from the controllers to a ribbon cable (so no processing done on this board). I doubt it's the culprit.
    I have found that dirty pins can cause behavior similar to what you describe. Scraping away the oxidation with a needle may solve the problem
    Mario says "... if you do drugs, you go to hell before you die."

  12. #12
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    8
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Just throwing this out there. My monster problematic snes which i got fully working again today had a dysfunctional controller port (both no buttons worked and buttons doing different things). It happened after taking apart the SNES to inspect/clean after buying off craigslist.

    Make sure if you or someone else has taken the SNES apart that every male lead of the controller port ribbon cable is making contact with its respective contact lane (and not crossing) in the female plug on the snes motherboard. I had a problem where the blue plastic insert that backs the exposed tips of wire that plugin came unglued and I had to manually flatten/straighten the pins and unplug/replug several times before every lead was inserted into the correct register/contact. I eventually had to replace the capacitors and one of the male leads broke off. My solution was to cut the ribbon cable an inch shorter and use a knife to scrape off one side of the ribbon cable exposing the leads. That way i can just plug the cable right into the female plug without needing that blue plastic shim as it fits like a dream already.

  13. #13
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Hi, guys, I'm new here, I joined this forum after looking at this thread and maybe you could help me.

    My snes has a similar problem as described in the last posts, but only on my 2nd port. Player One plays perfeclty, but if i Connnect the same controller on the second port it acts all weird

    Slect works as Start, (I think it's Select + Start), B works as Y+B+L+X or somthing like that, UP works as Left + Up + L + Start and so on...

    I don't know where to look a friend of mine hooked and oscilloscope and the only weird thing we saw was that the clock fluctuated a little bit on that port (not pretty sure about this maybe I remember it wrong I'm not an expert)

    I started trouble shooting the controller ports, the ports PCB and the ribbon, they worked fine, and the 100 ohm resistors read +/-100.3 (one of the second port read 101.7 i think it was R88) all of them made contact with it's respective CPU pin

    any ideas where else to look at? I play mostly 1P games, but since I'll be getting a couple fighting games I just noticed this

    Any advice is welcome and thanks in advance!
    Last edited by srmoska; 10-25-2013 at 02:06 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. SMS controller port problem
    By johnvosh in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-03-2013, 12:03 AM
  2. Coleco Vision controller port problem...
    By Heidi in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-13-2009, 05:41 PM
  3. TG-16 Controller Port Repair (pics added- it's a different problem now)
    By Ryaan1234 in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-14-2008, 09:36 PM
  4. Genesis Model 2 Controller/Port Problem
    By HarroSIN in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-07-2007, 05:25 AM
  5. Genesis 3 controller port problem
    By AB Positive in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-05-2003, 09:10 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •