Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Sega Genesis cartridge doesn't work

  1. #1
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    22
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Sega Genesis cartridge doesn't work

    hi, everyone!
    i have a problem with my sega genesis...well, last week i bought a SONIC 1 cartrigde (the guy told me that the cartridgee is tested and working), so when i happily put it in my console...surprise, it doesn't work...black screen (not even PRODUCED BY OR UNDER LICENSE blah blah blah)
    i tried to clean the cartridge contacts with rubbing alcohol, with no results...did the same in the cartridge slot, no results...
    i think something is wrong with the cartridge's circuitry, since my SONIC 2 works fine in the console

    could it be that i use a generic power supply to power my genesis?
    could it be that a condenser or resister in the cartridge is faulty?

    any help or tip will be appreciated =)

    video of the problem: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=etCKp9X9ewU

  2. #2
    Insert Coin (Level 0) SithWarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Brampton, Ont, Canada
    Posts
    69
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    SGT SITHWARRIOR
    PSN
    SITHWARRIOR-22

    Default

    Do you have the game bit(4.5mm game bit) to open up the game to get a better look at the board or the contacts on the cartridge. but for the board I don't have any experience with that type of stuff so hopefully someone else can help you with that.

    Here's a link of other ways to clean the cartridge contacts http://www.digitpress.com/forum/showthread.php?t=138010
    JACK of all trades, Master of none...

  3. #3
    Kirby (Level 13) Leo_A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    5,878
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    If you can't revive it but it's in good cosmetic shape, I'd hold on to it.

    You might come across one in poor cosmetic shape that works in the future and can transplant it's innards into the non working cartridge.

  4. #4
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    22
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    thanks! well...i'm not sure if mine it's a gamebit, but i use a gamecube screwdriver that does the job =)
    here it is the cart's pcb:

    front:


    back:


    hope this could give you more info =)
    Last edited by darkshadow1804; 08-07-2010 at 07:32 PM.

  5. #5
    Peach (Level 3) izarate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    603
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I don't know why but I have FOUR Sonic 1 carts and only one of them works. I tried all of them on each one of my Genesis and Nomads, even on a Firecore...

    I even tested all the traces with a multimeter, replaced the capacitors, etc., and I still don't know what's the deal with those Sonic 1 carts.

  6. #6
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    22
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    OMG! so it's maybe that the sonic 1 carts are faulty? i mean...i think it's difficult to find a cartridge that is COMPLETELY DEAD (DAMAGED ROM)...
    so i can't figure out even doing the same as you...using a multimeter, testing the capacitor (itīs in good status), same as the resistor (or a diode, idk) but both seems to be working...so...anymore ideas?
    could it be the power supply? i said is a generic one...here's the specs: 9V - 2A...and i know that the genesis needs: 10V - ~0.85A...could it be that?
    Last edited by darkshadow1804; 08-07-2010 at 08:49 PM.

  7. #7
    ServeBot (Lɘvel 11) RP2A03's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    59 6F 75 72 20 48 44 44 20 61 64 64 69 6E 67 20 65 6D 62 61 72 72 61 73 73 69 6E 67 20 64 61 74 61
    Posts
    3,548
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Your power supply should be fine, however, it looks like your cartridge contacts could be cleaner. I have found that with some games you need to go the extra mile with cleaning. For the really stubborn games I use Weiman Cook Top Cleaner being careful not to rub it on the green protective layer. Afterword, I follow up with alcohol to remove any reside left behind.
    Mario says "... if you do drugs, you go to hell before you die."

  8. #8
    Apple (Level 5) Custom rank graphic
    Urzu402's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1,157
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I strangely have the same problem, I have two Sonic 1 carts, one works, the other doesn't with the same problem mentioned in the first post. It's the same for all my genesis systems. sometimes the licensed by Sega screen comes up some times it doesn't. I don't really care, but I just thought having the same problem was strange
    What's up with islands? Get more land.
    What's up with deserts? Get less sand.

  9. #9
    Peach (Level 3) izarate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    603
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Yeah, I don't know what's the deal with the Sonic 1 carts. I even went and mapped every contact to the ROM chip to aid me in testing the traces:



    Every trace was ok, and every capacitor was replaced:


    Still no go. Anyway, I finally found a cart that works so I don't care a lot about it but is like having a pebble in your shoe

  10. #10
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    22
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    hmmm...tried that with the cleaner (a similar one, because here it isn't even known) and alcohol and nothing...

    well, in my case ONLY with sonic 1 NEVER shows the PRODUCED BY OR blah blah blah...it's strange because when i put the game...turn on...blank screen, and (without turning it off) i put out the cartridge and put in SONIC 2, press RESET and the words come out and sonic 2 loads (you can't do that with both working games, the console just crashes and you have to power it on again)...
    it's like the console doesn't EVEN recognizes/loads the rom into memory...
    it's very frustrating

  11. #11
    Alex (Level 15) Custom rank graphic
    Gameguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Richmond Hill, Ontario (Canada)
    Posts
    7,651
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    49
    Thanked in
    43 Posts

    Default

    I also have a dead Sonic 1 cart. It's an easy game to find so I haven't tried to fix it.

  12. #12
    Cherry (Level 1) raylydiard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    wales united kingdom
    Posts
    387
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    raymondlyd
    PSN
    soniccd

    Default

    had the same problem a few years back i bourght a sonoc 1 cart keept takeing it back to the store they repalced it every singel one was faulty
    must be rom bad i wonder if they can be reflashed
    with a epprom programmer and repair them


    Quote Originally Posted by izarate View Post
    Yeah, I don't know what's the deal with the Sonic 1 carts. I even went and mapped every contact to the ROM chip to aid me in testing the traces:



    Every trace was ok, and every capacitor was replaced:


    Still no go. Anyway, I finally found a cart that works so I don't care a lot about it but is like having a pebble in your shoe

  13. #13
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    22
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    well...i didn't get it work anymore...so i bought another one and it works fine!!! the rom must be bad!!(though i'm still keeping it)...thx to all for the help

  14. #14
    Cherry (Level 1)
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    345
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by raylydiard View Post
    had the same problem a few years back i bourght a sonoc 1 cart keept takeing it back to the store they repalced it every singel one was faulty
    must be rom bad i wonder if they can be reflashed
    with a epprom programmer and repair them
    Commercial Genesis games use mask roms, they are not programmable. Flashing is different than programming an EPROM. There is no such thing as an EPPROM.

  15. #15
    Cherry (Level 1)
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    361
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    If you have a Retrode or similar device (or mail the cart to someone who does), comparing byte for byte against a good cart might explain the problem.

  16. #16
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    5
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by darkshadow1804 View Post
    hmmm...tried that with the cleaner (a similar one, because here it isn't even known) and alcohol and nothing...

    well, in my case ONLY with sonic 1 NEVER shows the PRODUCED BY OR blah blah blah...it's strange because when i put the game...turn on...blank screen, and (without turning it off) i put out the cartridge and put in SONIC 2, press RESET and the words come out and sonic 2 loads (you can't do that with both working games, the console just crashes and you have to power it on again)...
    it's like the console doesn't EVEN recognizes/loads the rom into memory...
    it's very frustrating
    Yep. Sonic and Knuckles doesn't even give you the "No Way" screen and just starts up like nothing is inserted. I think the chip isn't even powering up. If it isn't clear, I have one of these failed Sonic 1 carts too. I tried hitting it with a heat gun but that didn't change anything. I wish I had some of that "cold in a can" stuff to see if that would do anything. The cart looks pristine.

    I'm wondering: is it just retail copies doing this? Does anyone have an NFR that behaves the same way? I'm very curious and want to get to the bottom of this.

    Edit: OK, I see that the video from earlier was an NFR. I found a website saying that the chips were made by Fujutsu or something but they look just like MOSEL RAM/Flash chips. Because this was Sega's first mega-hit I wonder if they used some kind of FlashROM to reach capacity/meet demand? It's entirely possible that these are custom made in a way that they can't be flashed again but they will still eventually die (never refreshed; killed by cosmic rays and radiation).
    Last edited by CZroe; 01-31-2016 at 07:00 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Sega Genesis cartridge slot
    By cheaterdragon1 in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-18-2011, 07:56 PM
  2. Sega Genesis Doesn't show up video
    By darkshadow1804 in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 12-28-2010, 06:59 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-08-2010, 02:32 AM
  4. Sega SG-1000 & Mark III: R/F doesn't work!
    By Breetai in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 08-30-2009, 04:06 AM
  5. Doesn't look like a Sega Genesis 3-Game Lot to me...
    By esquire in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-07-2003, 10:04 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •