Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Gameshark N64 v2.2 Broken- any clue why?

  1. #1
    Insert Coin (Level 0) Enigmus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    the dark side of the Moon, really.
    Posts
    1
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default Gameshark N64 v2.2 Broken- any clue why?

    Just bought a GS v2.2 for the N64, cleaned it, put Super Mario 64 onto it, and turned it on, only to find a blank screen and the GS itself reading #8. Removed it and powered up the N64, and it says #1. Removed the GS, and put in SM64, and it's not my N64 screwing up. I've read about how the GS's flash memory screws up, and I fear that might be the cause.

    Any idea how to fix it or am I SOL?

  2. #2
    Pac-Man (Level 10) Dangerboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,744
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    It also may be that the GS is still in "Nintendo Mode" - all 1st Party Nintendo Games required you to place any 3rd party game on there, choose the 1st party game codes, and then turn off the system and do a quick swap of carts, and vice versa to change the GS back to 3rd party mode. Research that process, may help...

  3. #3
    Pear (Level 6) Custom rank graphic
    alec006's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    DFW
    Posts
    1,269
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    That sounds like one of those annoying key code things. Try putting a game like Diddy Kong Racing or Legand of Zelda Occarina of Time. It should boot then from there go to the key codes menu. Press Z for factory default. Turn the system off, remove one of the key games and try Super Mario 64 again.

    Ironicly when I was trying to do this myself just now I had the same problem where it kept showing 8 or 1 or half 1. I got it to work after alot of blowing my cart lol. Be sure to clean your game carts contacts cause the GameShark has a really flemsy cart port. Also if it does work the 8 should flash and fade and count down from 4.
    "...leave love bleeding, in my hands, in my hands again..."

  4. #4
    Apple (Level 5) Superman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    1,025
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I'm guessing it is the keycode issue as well.

    If you have tried adjusting it (like you would do with a game only), but it still doesn't work, then the next likely reason would be the keycode issue.

  5. #5
    Insert Coin (Level 0) Enigmus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    the dark side of the Moon, really.
    Posts
    1
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Well, this thing is not a keycode problem- all it gives me is a black screen while the GS has an 8. I tried different carts (OoT, G007, and Castlevania 64) and still no results. Since it appears to be corrupted memory, I might as well throw it out, seeing as there's no one nearby with a v3.3 to reprogram the v2.2's memory with, and I have no access to eBay or Goozex (yet my dad can buy shirts he really doesn't need from King Size for $70+ and I can't buy a GS for $10 or lower ) I'll just wait for an update to Wii64 that improves compatibility and adds GS codelisting, unless I somehow strike it lucky and find a v3.3 at the thrift store. *sigh*, why do the GS Pros on N64 suck so bad?

  6. #6
    Pear (Level 6) Custom rank graphic
    alec006's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    DFW
    Posts
    1,269
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Enigmus View Post
    Well, this thing is not a keycode problem- all it gives me is a black screen while the GS has an 8. I tried different carts (OoT, G007, and Castlevania 64) and still no results. Since it appears to be corrupted memory, I might as well throw it out, seeing as there's no one nearby with a v3.3 to reprogram the v2.2's memory with, and I have no access to eBay or Goozex (yet my dad can buy shirts he really doesn't need from King Size for $70+ and I can't buy a GS for $10 or lower ) I'll just wait for an update to Wii64 that improves compatibility and adds GS codelisting, unless I somehow strike it lucky and find a v3.3 at the thrift store. *sigh*, why do the GS Pros on N64 suck so bad?
    Gez that sucks. I remember a GameShark I had fried because I turned on 101 codes at once, I was a kid and didn't read the instructions very well lol. I'm trying to think how I or my friend fixed it because,it actually came back to life one day,some kind of factory reset method I recall. Ask for why they suck, pretty much they built them poorly and we forked over $29.99 when they were new. Makes me wonder if the Retrode's N64 adapter will allow access to the RAM of the GameShark.
    Last edited by alec006; 08-09-2010 at 07:35 PM.
    "...leave love bleeding, in my hands, in my hands again..."

  7. #7
    Insert Coin (Level 0) Enigmus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    the dark side of the Moon, really.
    Posts
    1
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Huh. I'll have to read up on the factory reset method.

    Either way, if it's broke at least I paid $3 for a clay shooting target.

  8. #8
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Buckeye, AZ
    Posts
    9
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Enigmus View Post
    Just bought a GS v2.2 for the N64, cleaned it, put Super Mario 64 onto it, and turned it on, only to find a blank screen and the GS itself reading #8. Removed it and powered up the N64, and it says #1. Removed the GS, and put in SM64, and it's not my N64 screwing up. I've read about how the GS's flash memory screws up, and I fear that might be the cause.

    Any idea how to fix it or am I SOL?
    I just received a gameshark v3.2 that was DOA. I opened it up and cleaned the contacts on the board the same as I would for a game. Came right up after that. Not saying tha's the problem, just offering up something you may try.
    My Nintendo 64 Controller Page
    http://www.squidoo.com/controller-for-n64

  9. #9
    Insert Coin (Level 0) Enigmus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    the dark side of the Moon, really.
    Posts
    1
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Retrogamecraze View Post
    I just received a gameshark v3.2 that was DOA. I opened it up and cleaned the contacts on the board the same as I would for a game. Came right up after that. Not saying tha's the problem, just offering up something you may try.
    I cleaned the pins on the board (70% rubbing alcohol) and it still won't work. Either way, is there a way to fix its memory, seeing as that might be the problem?

Similar Threads

  1. Atari Paddle Fire Button Broken - Any Clue How To Repair It?
    By Enigmus in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-14-2010, 11:20 AM
  2. Anyone have a clue as to what this is
    By finisher in forum Modern Gaming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-18-2008, 10:13 PM
  3. is it just me, or does this guy have no clue what he's doing
    By bobdrywalls in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-13-2003, 07:52 PM
  4. is it just me, or does this guy have no clue what he's doing
    By bobdrywalls in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-13-2003, 03:17 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •