Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Hooking Older Systems Up To An LCD TV

  1. #1
    Great Puma (Level 12) Tempest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    4,548
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Tempest 2084
    PSN
    Tempest 2084

    Default Hooking Older Systems Up To An LCD TV

    I'm rearranging my game room a bit so now I am using a 32" widescreen LCD TV for my gaming (I was using an old CRT before). I'm hooking up a wide variety of systems to the TV and I'm wondering if I'm going to have problems with any of them. I know people in the past have reported that some systems don't look right on an LCD TV or have ghosting/lag problems. Hopefully the later won't be a problem as the refresh rate on this model is very good (10ms I think). It's a fairly high rated JVC model (LT32X576) and has a 'game mode'.

    The systems I'm going to hook up to it are:

    Xbox 360 (DVI)
    Wii (component)
    PS2 (component)
    PSP (component)
    SNES (S-Video)
    Saturn (S-Video)
    Neo Geo MVS (S-Video)
    DC (S-Video)
    7800 (S-Video) - This is Longhorn Engineers S-Video mod
    Turbo Duo (composite)
    Genesis (composite)

    The two systems I'm most worried about are the Genesis and Turbo Duo since I'm not sure how good the composite is on this model. The 7800 may also have issues, I'll have to test it but I thought I read somewhere that people have tried LE's mod on an LCD and it worked.

    Any suggestions or advice?

    Tempest
    --- www.AtariProtos.com ---
    All Your Prototypes Are Belong To Us!

  2. #2
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    London, Ontario
    Posts
    511
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tempest View Post
    I'm rearranging my game room a bit so now I am using a 32" widescreen LCD TV for my gaming (I was using an old CRT before). I'm hooking up a wide variety of systems to the TV and I'm wondering if I'm going to have problems with any of them. I know people in the past have reported that some systems don't look right on an LCD TV or have ghosting/lag problems. Hopefully the later won't be a problem as the refresh rate on this model is very good (10ms I think). It's a fairly high rated JVC model (LT32X576) and has a 'game mode'.

    The systems I'm going to hook up to it are:

    Xbox 360 (DVI)
    Wii (component)
    PS2 (component)
    PSP (component)
    SNES (S-Video)
    Saturn (S-Video)
    Neo Geo MVS (S-Video)
    DC (S-Video)
    7800 (S-Video) - This is Longhorn Engineers S-Video mod
    Turbo Duo (composite)
    Genesis (composite)

    The two systems I'm most worried about are the Genesis and Turbo Duo since I'm not sure how good the composite is on this model. The 7800 may also have issues, I'll have to test it but I thought I read somewhere that people have tried LE's mod on an LCD and it worked.

    Any suggestions or advice?

    Tempest

    I've never had an issue using older systems on an 42" LCD or 50" plasma.

    the Genesis is notorious for having a very shitty composite, even worse then it should be. Good thing you can s-video mod them:

    Genesis 50" plasma

    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v2...n/DSC00286.jpg

    Saturn - 42" LCD

  3. #3
    Pear (Level 6) wingzrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,283
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    My advice? NEVER play any videogame that only runs interlaced on an LCD TV, ever. Basically everything all the way up to the gamecube/xbox/dreamcast/ps2 erra should only be played on a CRT. There are exceptions though. Some games from that gen play in progressive and would look better on an hdtv.

  4. #4
    Great Puma (Level 12) Tempest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    4,548
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Tempest 2084
    PSN
    Tempest 2084

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wingzrow View Post
    My advice? NEVER play any videogame that only runs interlaced on an LCD TV, ever. Basically everything all the way up to the gamecube/xbox/dreamcast/ps2 erra should only be played on a CRT. There are exceptions though. Some games from that gen play in progressive and would look better on an hdtv.
    Well thankfully this is only temporary. When I finish my basement off I'll have my 42" HD CRT to play things on and a 34" non-HD CRT on standby.

    Tempest
    --- www.AtariProtos.com ---
    All Your Prototypes Are Belong To Us!

  5. #5
    Great Puma (Level 12) Tempest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    4,548
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Tempest 2084
    PSN
    Tempest 2084

    Default

    I just got around to testing everything. All the systems work and look good (the SNES has dithering issues but that's because of the S-Video and not the TV) except for the Genesis. I get a picture for a second or two, but then it goes away. If I switch inputs back and forth I can get the picture back, but then again only for a few seconds. If the game switches screens like going from the standard Genesis startup screen to say the Konami logo to the main title screen the picture stays up, but then it goes away once it sits on the title screen for a few seconds.

    Is there a way to fix this issue? I assume the problem is that the Genesis isn't outputting a strong enough signal. I'm using a Genesis 2/CD 2/32X combo, would using a Genesis 1, CD 1, or removing the 32X help at all?

    Tempest
    --- www.AtariProtos.com ---
    All Your Prototypes Are Belong To Us!

  6. #6
    Pear (Level 6) Oldskool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    1,262
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Run component video on the Genesis. You don't even have to mod it.

  7. #7
    Pear (Level 6) Custom rank graphic
    alec006's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    DFW
    Posts
    1,270
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tempest View Post
    I'm rearranging my game room a bit so now I am using a 32" widescreen LCD TV for my gaming (I was using an old CRT before). I'm hooking up a wide variety of systems to the TV and I'm wondering if I'm going to have problems with any of them. I know people in the past have reported that some systems don't look right on an LCD TV or have ghosting/lag problems. Hopefully the later won't be a problem as the refresh rate on this model is very good (10ms I think). It's a fairly high rated JVC model (LT32X576) and has a 'game mode'.

    The systems I'm going to hook up to it are:

    Xbox 360 (DVI)
    Wii (component)
    PS2 (component)
    PSP (component)
    SNES (S-Video)
    Saturn (S-Video)
    Neo Geo MVS (S-Video)
    DC (S-Video)
    7800 (S-Video) - This is Longhorn Engineers S-Video mod
    Turbo Duo (composite)
    Genesis (composite)

    The two systems I'm most worried about are the Genesis and Turbo Duo since I'm not sure how good the composite is on this model. The 7800 may also have issues, I'll have to test it but I thought I read somewhere that people have tried LE's mod on an LCD and it worked.

    Any suggestions or advice?

    Tempest
    The Genesis composite signal may look abit dark sometimes on a LCD. Usually some people opt for the SCART cable so they can convert it to component or RGB and get the best possible signal on a LCD.
    "...leave love bleeding, in my hands, in my hands again..."

  8. #8
    Great Puma (Level 12) Tempest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    4,548
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Tempest 2084
    PSN
    Tempest 2084

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Oldskool View Post
    Run component video on the Genesis. You don't even have to mod it.
    How?

    Tempest
    --- www.AtariProtos.com ---
    All Your Prototypes Are Belong To Us!

  9. #9
    Pear (Level 6) Custom rank graphic
    alec006's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    DFW
    Posts
    1,270
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tempest View Post
    How?

    Tempest
    For Component Video you need these things:

    A Sega Genesis/Megadrive SCART cable: (Choose the one that fits your Genesis Model 1 or 2)

    http://shop.ebay.com/i.html?LH_PrefL...rt+cable&_ipg=

    A SCART Selector Box with RCA Line Out: (If you have a Genesis 2 or 32X)

    http://cgi.ebay.com/SCART-Selector-S...sConnectors_RL

    And a SCART to Component adapter:

    http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-SCART-RGB-YP...efaultDomain_0

    If you have a model 1 with the headphone out jack you can use a stereo Y adapter in place of the SCART selector which would only output mono sound from the Genesis model 1 multi out jack.

    http://www.amazon.com/3-5mm-Mini-Plu.../dp/B000FEHO0U

    If you have a Sega CD attached to the Genesis just use the Line Out on the back of the Sega CD.
    Last edited by alec006; 08-16-2010 at 11:24 AM.
    "...leave love bleeding, in my hands, in my hands again..."

  10. #10
    Great Puma (Level 12) Tempest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    4,548
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Tempest 2084
    PSN
    Tempest 2084

    Default

    A little pricey, but interesting. Can you do this with any other systems? I might be inclined to go for this setup if I knew other systems could benefit from it. For right now I just moved it downstairs to my old CRT TV.

    Tempest
    --- www.AtariProtos.com ---
    All Your Prototypes Are Belong To Us!

  11. #11
    Pear (Level 6) Custom rank graphic
    alec006's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    DFW
    Posts
    1,270
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tempest View Post
    A little pricey, but interesting. Can you do this with any other systems? I might be inclined to go for this setup if I knew other systems could benefit from it. For right now I just moved it downstairs to my old CRT TV.

    Tempest
    SNES can be in RGB
    Saturn can be in RGB
    Neo Geo can be in RGB
    DC can be in VGA which is RGB
    Turbo Duo can be modded for RGB

    All those systems look amazing in RGB converted to Component on a flat screen. Ask for older systems in RGB Component on a CRT they look amazing and people argue better. It's a nice step up from S-Video which looks good to begin with, but the larger the screen, the better you want the signal.
    Last edited by alec006; 08-16-2010 at 02:00 PM.
    "...leave love bleeding, in my hands, in my hands again..."

  12. #12
    Great Puma (Level 12) Tempest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    4,548
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Tempest 2084
    PSN
    Tempest 2084

    Default

    So all I need to get RGB from those other systems is the switch box and the SCART cable?

    Tempest
    --- www.AtariProtos.com ---
    All Your Prototypes Are Belong To Us!

  13. #13
    Insert Coin (Level 0) SithWarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Brampton, Ont, Canada
    Posts
    69
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    SGT SITHWARRIOR
    PSN
    SITHWARRIOR-22

    Default

    I'm not 100% sure but watch out for the the Scart to Component converters that upscales the image.
    JACK of all trades, Master of none...

  14. #14
    Pear (Level 6) Custom rank graphic
    alec006's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    DFW
    Posts
    1,270
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tempest View Post
    So all I need to get RGB from those other systems is the switch box and the SCART cable?
    Yep,SCART cables for each system, the selector box for convenience and the converter box and your all set.

    For the converter box,you may want to ask the seller for a 110V US power adapter other wise you will have to buy your own.

    This selector box however would be a better bet being as it has a SCART output cable built in http://cgi.ebay.com/4-Way-Scart-Sele...sConnectors_RL

    Or you could get the other selector box and buy a SCART cable to go from the selector box to the converter.

    Quote Originally Posted by SithWarrior View Post
    I'm not 100% sure but watch out for the the Scart to Component converters that upscales the image.
    I believe it upscales it to 480i,but it still looks sharp.
    Last edited by alec006; 08-16-2010 at 05:37 PM.
    "...leave love bleeding, in my hands, in my hands again..."

  15. #15
    Insert Coin (Level 0) SithWarrior's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Brampton, Ont, Canada
    Posts
    69
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    SGT SITHWARRIOR
    PSN
    SITHWARRIOR-22

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by alec006 View Post
    I believe it upscales it to 480p,but it still looks sharp.
    but there are some that try to make the image 720p, 1080i or is that just with the HDMI one's?
    JACK of all trades, Master of none...

  16. #16
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    469
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Would buying a Scart cable, then hooking it to a Scart to RGB adapter (like this http://www.svideo.com/scartrgb.html) then plugging component into your TV not work?

    If I understand correctly, it would work but not upscale. Which is probably the best solution cost-wise. Or I am just completely off.

    I'd guess you'd need to get audio as well. Could you get audio from the RF output at the same time? An RF modulator would get you simulated stereo.
    Last edited by CYRiX; 08-16-2010 at 04:45 PM.

  17. #17
    Pear (Level 6) Custom rank graphic
    alec006's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    DFW
    Posts
    1,270
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SithWarrior View Post
    but there are some that try to make the image 720p, 1080i or is that just with the HDMI one's?
    Yea those are the HDMI that upscale them to 720p or 1080 and it looks like crap. And correction I made, I believe its 480i not 480p.

    Quote Originally Posted by CYRiX View Post
    Would buying a Scart cable, then hooking it to a Scart to RGB adapter (like this http://www.svideo.com/scartrgb.html) then plugging component into your TV not work?

    If I understand correctly, it would work but not upscale. Which is probably the best solution cost-wise. Or I am just completely off.

    I'd guess you'd need to get audio as well. Could you get audio from the RF output at the same time? An RF modulator would get you simulated stereo.
    That adapter wouldn't work because RGB and Component are 2 different things. That adapter is just a pass thru from SCART to RCA RGB. The converter box converts the raw RGB signal to Component 480i. Ask for audio, sure you could get the audio from RF, but it would be in mono only. Also a RF modulator only converts signals like S-Video and Composite to RF. If you were to plug the RF cable into say a HiFi VCR that would work,but it would only be dual mono and you would have to have your VCR on all the time for audio.
    Last edited by alec006; 08-16-2010 at 05:38 PM.
    "...leave love bleeding, in my hands, in my hands again..."

  18. #18
    Pear (Level 6) Oldskool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    1,262
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I have a SCART/RGB ----> Component set up for my Genesis X'Eye, and it looks damn good. But only on my 50" Projection TV. On my LCD it doesn't like the low res component, so make sure your LCD can handle low res component before purchasing all the stuff. (Unless you just want a better picture on a standard def TV like a Wega or something)

    If you hook your PS2 up to your LCD with component cables, and run a few PS1 games, you'll find out if it will work or not. It will have a problem displaying some PS1 games.

    I have heard that the Sony LCD's are fine. I have a cheap Polaroid and it did not like it.

    There is a "vs." thread somewhere around here that I posted pictures and there is a ton of information about various ways to set things up.

Similar Threads

  1. Hooking up muliple Systems
    By bioshockfan in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-03-2013, 09:19 PM
  2. Having trouble hooking up multiple systems (New and Old)
    By MovieSounds in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-26-2005, 08:19 AM
  3. Best option for hooking up game systems?
    By GarrettCRW in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-19-2005, 08:15 AM
  4. Hooking up ancient game systems to modern TV's
    By Anthony1 in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 06-23-2003, 04:53 PM
  5. Hooking older game systems to newer television sets
    By ManekiNeko in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-05-2003, 02:42 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •