Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Best Way To Play Dreamcast

  1. #1
    Insert Coin (Level 0) Adam Blue's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Bedford, Tx
    Posts
    6
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Adam Blue
    PSN
    bluegamer

    Default Best Way To Play Dreamcast

    I'm wanting to be able to play my Dreamcast through VGA. I have the Pelican box and it works fine through my computer monitor and has for years. But, my HDTV displays invalid signal, so I'm guessing my TV is unable to display the default resolution the DC is set at without a converter.

    I could get a converter, if that's a known solution, but they seem to be pricey. I've also heard it's possible to mod the VGA box. If that's true, I just need the instructions to that.

    But is VGA the best way to go? Is there other ways to get the best picture quality out of the Dreamcast?

  2. #2
    Pac-Man (Level 10) theclaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,213
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post
    Xbox LIVE
    theclaw135
    PSN
    Eonclaw

    Default

    Where in the world does one get an HDTV that won't display 640x480? Must be some bizarro bargain-basement model...
    Lum fan.

  3. #3
    Cherry (Level 1)
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    239
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Seems to me that it should work too.

    Just a couple suggestions... I'm assuming the HDTV has a 15-pin input for PCs and you're connecting the VGA box there? Do you have a PC or laptop handy with 15-pin video output? Have you tried running a PC at 640x480 - 60Hz to see if it also gets the 'invalid signal'? (use the same video cable that you're connecting to the DC VGA box) Does the HDTV have a dipswitch, remote control button, or setup button that toggles to PC mode or something? What TV model? Maybe someone else here has the same TV...


    VGA is definitely the best video quality for DC and worth the extra effort to make it work vs stepping down to s-video.

  4. #4
    Kirby (Level 13) Leo_A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    5,871
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by theclaw View Post
    Where in the world does one get an HDTV that won't display 640x480? Must be some bizarro bargain-basement model...
    His television certainly can display that resolution. But the manufacturer probably never expected such a low resolution signal through the VGA input which is causing this issue.

    It's no different then the many people that can't play things like PSOne games and Ico on their PS2's through component to their HDTV's. The HDTV wasn't designed with the expectation of recieving a low resolution signal through that input and something somewhere down the line makes it unable to be displayed.

  5. #5
    Insert Coin (Level 0) Adam Blue's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Bedford, Tx
    Posts
    6
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Adam Blue
    PSN
    bluegamer

    Default

    Yeah, what I gathered on the net is that it can't display that low of a resolution out of the box with newer TV's. My HDTV is an LG4230.

    I hooked my netbook up to the VGA port on my TV and while 640 x 400 worked, 480 did show the invalid format text I get with the Dreamcast. Not sure what that means though, except that it's just the nature of my TV.

    EDIT: That's actually 42LG30.
    Last edited by Adam Blue; 08-14-2010 at 09:34 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Anyone play Dreamcast DUX yet?
    By fishsandwich in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-13-2009, 02:06 PM
  2. Is it still possible to play Dreamcast online?
    By greedostick in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-13-2005, 10:15 PM
  3. I Want to Play Imports on my N.A. Dreamcast
    By Canadianzombie in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-18-2005, 12:46 PM
  4. Is there still online play for Dreamcast?
    By mkuo7 in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-16-2005, 09:26 PM
  5. Best way to play Dreamcast imports?
    By dreamcaster in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-02-2004, 10:27 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •