Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: retro duo/ demons crest/ super ghouls and ghost???

  1. #1
    Cherry (Level 1) hellraiser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    304
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default retro duo/ demons crest/ super ghouls and ghost???

    For thoes guys running a retro duo can any one confirm if super ghouls and ghost works or not? Wiki says it dosent but ive read some places it does...


    Also has anyone tried demons crest? Wiki says its laggy but the same as the snes?


    sorry if im
    I'm the best there is at what I do. But what I do best isn't very nice. -James "Logan" Howlett

  2. #2
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    26
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Super Ghouls 'N Ghosts works, up until Stage 3, where the boss goes invisible (same problem on FC Twin). I haven't been able to test past that, but from what I've heard Stage 4's terrain doesn't load properly so all you can see are the sprites.
    - Excellent deals on used video games from the 8 and 16-bit era. Better than eBay prices almost every time!

  3. #3
    Key (Level 9) Satoshi_Matrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,956
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    PSN
    Satoshi_Matrix

    Default

    Speaking of the Retro Duo, has anyone got Megaman X2 to run? My copy doesn't seem to, though oddly Megaman X3 does. X2 works on my RetroN3 though.
    check out my classic gaming review site: http://satoshimatrix.wordpress.com/

  4. #4
    Cherry (Level 1) hellraiser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    304
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Eleuthria View Post
    Super Ghouls 'N Ghosts works, up until Stage 3, where the boss goes invisible (same problem on FC Twin). I haven't been able to test past that, but from what I've heard Stage 4's terrain doesn't load properly so all you can see are the sprites.
    Thanks, this sux.... Its one of the best games on the system and i cant play it!!!

    I landed up picking up demons crest today by happenstance... seems to play ok so far.

    Quote Originally Posted by Satoshi_Matrix View Post
    Speaking of the Retro Duo, has anyone got Megaman X2 to run? My copy doesn't seem to, though oddly Megaman X3 does. X2 works on my RetroN3 though.
    Good question as it is the next game i was planing on buying/playing after demons crest....
    I'm the best there is at what I do. But what I do best isn't very nice. -James "Logan" Howlett

  5. #5
    Key (Level 9) Satoshi_Matrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,956
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    PSN
    Satoshi_Matrix

    Default

    I tried it again, and yup it works perfectly. I assumed it would. Must have been slightly dusty.
    check out my classic gaming review site: http://satoshimatrix.wordpress.com/

  6. #6
    Bell (Level 8)
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1,618
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Don't have a clone device, but I do believe Demon's Crest has copy-protection.
    IIRC, it makes one of the bosses invincible if it detects its a bootleg.
    Are the clones good enough to avoid tripping the copy protection check?

  7. #7
    Cherry (Level 1) hellraiser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    304
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Satoshi_Matrix View Post
    I tried it again, and yup it works perfectly. I assumed it would. Must have been slightly dusty.
    Cool... thats great news!

    Quote Originally Posted by SparTonberry View Post
    Don't have a clone device, but I do believe Demon's Crest has copy-protection.
    IIRC, it makes one of the bosses invincible if it detects its a bootleg.
    Are the clones good enough to avoid tripping the copy protection check?
    Wow dude!!!! You opened a whole can of worms for me!!!
    I never knew there was copy protection for games back then...

    I think it kicks in if your playin a bootleg or copied game. Im not 100% though. I keep reading it wont let you beat an early boss but im not sure what boss it is...
    I'm the best there is at what I do. But what I do best isn't very nice. -James "Logan" Howlett

  8. #8
    Key (Level 9) Satoshi_Matrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,956
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    PSN
    Satoshi_Matrix

    Default

    No. Earthbound has rthe 2x enemy encounter rate on both the Retro Duo and RetorN3.
    check out my classic gaming review site: http://satoshimatrix.wordpress.com/

  9. #9
    ServBot (Level 11) MarioMania's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    3,499
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Mega Man X2 plays fine in my Retro Duo

  10. #10
    Cherry (Level 1) hellraiser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    304
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Well im a couple levels deep into demons crest. I still dont know what boss is suposed to be unbeatable. If any one knows please let us know.

    I looked around youtube and i guess games like super metroid, super punchout and mario allstars are supposed to have similar anti piracy. All thes games seem to play fine in the retroduo and i know they are all legit "non copied" games. I fully admit i never got through lost levels or that far in punchout though.
    I'm the best there is at what I do. But what I do best isn't very nice. -James "Logan" Howlett

  11. #11
    Bell (Level 8)
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1,618
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Satoshi_Matrix View Post
    No. Earthbound has rthe 2x enemy encounter rate on both the Retro Duo and RetorN3.
    With an authentic copy of the game?
    I thought that would only happen if it caught someone hacking the ROM to disable the anti-piracy "WARNING" screen. (as an authentic copy would have not have a hacked ROM, I would think it would either stop at the WARNING screen, or play normally.)

  12. #12
    Key (Level 9) Satoshi_Matrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,956
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    PSN
    Satoshi_Matrix

    Default

    Correct. An Authentic EarthBound searches for the security feedback NTSC hardware provides, and clones that lack it will trigger the anti-piracy measures.
    check out my classic gaming review site: http://satoshimatrix.wordpress.com/

  13. #13
    Cherry (Level 1) hellraiser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    304
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Hey Satoshi_Matrix have you ever tried a repro? Ive been considering a megaman & bass but have been to chicken.
    I'm the best there is at what I do. But what I do best isn't very nice. -James "Logan" Howlett

  14. #14
    Key (Level 9) Satoshi_Matrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,956
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    PSN
    Satoshi_Matrix

    Default

    I'm not sure what you're asking. Are you asking if a Megaman & Bass repro would run on the Retro Duo? If so, then the answer is yes. I own a copy of Rockman & Fortre that runs perfectly.
    check out my classic gaming review site: http://satoshimatrix.wordpress.com/

  15. #15
    Cherry (Level 1) hellraiser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    304
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Satoshi_Matrix View Post
    I'm not sure what you're asking. Are you asking if a Megaman & Bass repro would run on the Retro Duo? If so, then the answer is yes.
    Thats what i was askin.... thanks!
    I'm the best there is at what I do. But what I do best isn't very nice. -James "Logan" Howlett

  16. #16
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    41
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Confirms that super ghouls and ghost 3rd stage boss is invisible.

    For Demon Creast, I've been playing on flash cart without any problem.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 33
    Last Post: 11-22-2013, 03:08 AM
  2. Snes with 8 games. Contra 3, Super Ghouls n' Ghost, etc.
    By PC-ENGINE HELL in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-27-2011, 05:32 PM
  3. E: Demons Crest, Mega Man parts, Zelda
    By Wily in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-13-2008, 05:25 AM
  4. Ghouls and Ghosts 3 for super famicom??? 2player GnG????
    By Devilredeemed in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 02-20-2007, 11:04 PM
  5. What's the better version of Super Ghouls N Ghosts?
    By stargate in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 10-26-2003, 09:49 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •