Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Improving video on Atari Consoles

  1. #1
    Insert Coin (Level 0) Hippytipper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    106
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Improving video on Atari Consoles

    I just picked up an Atari 2600 Jr and a 7800 console. I got them for practically nothing so I wasn't expecting perfection. They were dirty as hell too.

    Upon testing both of them, they work (signal and sound), however the video quality is fuzzy/wavy. I have tried a few different cables as well a cleaned them a little hoping for some improvement. It helped a bit, but not enough as these problems are most likely internal.

    Aside from a composite mod. What would actually be required in going about restoring/improving the video quality? I know this isn't a 1 step process and I'm not asking for a guide. Just would like to know, is this a test and replace capacitor deal, or would I have to buy all new parts for these systems?

    Or would it be more worth it in the end to forget about as it would be to costly?

  2. #2
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    552
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Your best bet is to build an amp for s-video. It cleans up the picture quite nicely. There are instructions for it on the wiki over at gamesx.

  3. #3
    Great Puma (Level 12) Steve W's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    DFW Metroplex, Texas
    Posts
    4,252
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    26
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    20
    Thanked in
    18 Posts

    Default

    If you're looking for a quick, cheap fix, just pick up one of these. I've got a few for my old systems, they work pretty well. You're still going to pick up a slight amount of interference, but most of the time you'll get a clear picture to the best of that console's ability.

    http://atariage.com/store/index.php?...ct_detail&p=42

  4. #4
    Insert Coin (Level 0) Hippytipper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    106
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve W View Post
    If you're looking for a quick, cheap fix, just pick up one of these. I've got a few for my old systems, they work pretty well. You're still going to pick up a slight amount of interference, but most of the time you'll get a clear picture to the best of that console's ability.

    http://atariage.com/store/index.php?...ct_detail&p=42
    I actually already have a bunch of those. They are so much better than the regular old school RF switches. Tried one too with these systems, no change.

  5. #5
    Banana (Level 7) fahlim003's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    The sinking old sanctuary
    Posts
    1,507
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve W View Post
    If you're looking for a quick, cheap fix, just pick up one of these. I've got a few for my old systems, they work pretty well. You're still going to pick up a slight amount of interference, but most of the time you'll get a clear picture to the best of that console's ability.

    http://atariage.com/store/index.php?...ct_detail&p=42
    I was going to post this myself but figured the TS wanted an even better result. I must admit after going through several third party TV-Game switches I was very impressed with the improvement of quality thanks to this device. It's affordable and it works.
    Whaddya mean invalid parameters?!

    9,000 gigs of ram and it still can't answer a simple question!

  6. #6
    Pear (Level 6) Oldskool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    1,260
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I use the same RF adapter on my Atari CX2600A and the picture looks pretty amazing actually even on my HD TV.

    Here is a link to my thread I posted a screenshot on.

    http://www.digitpress.com/forum/show...23#post1741523

  7. #7
    Insert Coin (Level 0) Hippytipper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    106
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    As it turns out. ALL of the cables I had been using to test are crap. Got myself a nice new composite cable and added one of the Coax/RCA plugs to it. Both systems actually look a lot better now. Feel kind of like an ass for jumping right to a hardware issue without properly testing the cables.

    However one of the connections I tried was a RF adapter for an NES. It works great with my Nintendo, but I guess there are different results with Ataris.

  8. #8
    Alex (Level 15) Custom rank graphic
    Gameguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Richmond Hill, Ontario (Canada)
    Posts
    7,276
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    36
    Thanked in
    30 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hippytipper View Post
    However one of the connections I tried was a RF adapter for an NES. It works great with my Nintendo, but I guess there are different results with Ataris.
    Ataris don't output a strong enough signal to use automatic switchboxes, you would need a manual switchbox to display a picture properly.

  9. #9
    Pear (Level 6) Oldskool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    1,260
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    And even then manual switches boxes look like garbage too like the radioshack one or at least mine did.
    Quote Originally Posted by Gameguy View Post
    Ataris don't output a strong enough signal to use automatic switchboxes, you would need a manual switchbox to display a picture properly.

Similar Threads

  1. Need Help Improving GBC Sound.
    By RP2A03 in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-30-2014, 10:07 PM
  2. Ideas for improving the Retro Duo mods
    By ZombieRyushu in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-01-2009, 07:03 PM
  3. Is the 360 RROD Situation Improving?
    By cityside75 in forum Modern Gaming
    Replies: 65
    Last Post: 12-29-2008, 09:50 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •