Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Sega Genesis & NES Picture Scrambled

  1. #1
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    3
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Unhappy Sega Genesis & NES Picture Scrambled

    I have both a Sega Genesis (square shape) and an NES, both of which give perfect sound, but the pictures are scrambled and some of the words look to be in Russian. We have cleaned the cartriges and took apart the SEGA, but no luck.

    The NES, we are using the original A/V coax output cord and the Sega we are using a new component cord (yellow, white, red) that I got off ebay. At first I thought the problem might have been the new Sega cord, but since the Nintendo is doing the same thing, now I have no clue. Would the newer tv's have anything to do with this, do they receive the picture signal differently than older tvs?

  2. #2
    Famicom Pirate Custom rank graphic
    Parodius Duh!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,558
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    very weird, since they are both doing this, it could be the television. Do you have a CRT television to test them on? no matter what, vintage games/systems will always look and act better on CRT, seeing as how thats what they were made for.

    do you have an RF you could try? maybe the av connection on the tv itself is shot...
    Last edited by Parodius Duh!; 04-30-2011 at 01:05 PM.

  3. #3
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    3
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Tried it on our very old tv and get the same result. The tvs we are using are new, so the AV connection on the TVs should be fine.

  4. #4
    Famicom Pirate Custom rank graphic
    Parodius Duh!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,558
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    try an RF adapter and see if you get the same result. were these systems stored in a basement or storage unit where the elements may have gotten to them?

  5. #5
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    3
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Don't have an RF adapter handy, but will have to go grab one at the store. The Nintendo uses the coax and looks the same as the Sega. Any other ideas?


    Yea, they have actually been stored in the basement. We are thinking they may have just started corroding with the moisture.

  6. #6
    Famicom Pirate Custom rank graphic
    Parodius Duh!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,558
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    yup.....Im 99% sure thats what your problem is then. These older systems need to be stored in a nice dry 65-70 degree environment, a bedroom closet is ideal. Chances are these systems have bit the dust. Maybe someone else here has an idea that might be able to save them, but its unlikely.

  7. #7
    ServBot (Level 11)
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,239
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Clean the cart slots. Once in a while, I get this when a cart isn't in quite right.

  8. #8
    Alex (Level 15) Custom rank graphic
    Gameguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Richmond Hill, Ontario (Canada)
    Posts
    7,234
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    33
    Thanked in
    27 Posts

    Default

    Are you using the proper power supplies?

  9. #9
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    3
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    It's a bit weird that the are both exhibiting the same symptoms, but I did have a similar experience with an old NES I picked up. I basically got corruption on the screen the same as you had.

    On first inspection after taking it apart, it looked ok - but after I pulled off the "bit" where the cart connector attaches to the board... you'll know what I mean if you get the top off. I found that one of the pins had a load of corrosion on (see pic). After cleaning this off it was perfect. Certainly worth getting the top off and having a look for signs of trouble.


  10. #10
    Pear (Level 6) Oldskool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    1,260
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Yeah I was gonna say when I first looked at the screen shots. It's just a coincidence that both consoles are doing similar things. Definitely dirty console and carts.

  11. #11
    ServBot (Level 11)
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,239
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Sometimes it's fun to see what results the corruption makes. I seem to get it consistently when I wiggle a cart the right way.


  12. #12
    ServBot (Level 11)
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,239
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default



    I always play on NOZMIL. Just reinsert the cart and it's usually fine.

  13. #13
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    1
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default I have the same issue with sega genesis model 1

    Quote Originally Posted by scott View Post
    I have both a Sega Genesis (square shape) and an NES, both of which give perfect sound, but the pictures are scrambled and some of the words look to be in Russian. We have cleaned the cartriges and took apart the SEGA, but no luck.

    The NES, we are using the original A/V coax output cord and the Sega we are using a new component cord (yellow, white, red) that I got off ebay. At first I thought the problem might have been the new Sega cord, but since the Nintendo is doing the same thing, now I have no clue. Would the newer tv's have anything to do with this, do they receive the picture signal differently than older tvs?
    The sega genesis I have was displaying a black screen. I cleaned the cartridge slot on the board with sand paper and alcohol and I then got clear sound with scrambled video. I thought the slot needed to be tightened up, so I followed a video on how to do that. The video did not get better. I have tried an rf connection, and the scart connection. All connections have been tested on a classic tube tv. I am using a sega brand power supply which is specific to the model 1. Everything else on the board looks fine. No popped caps or leaks. I have also tested many games. Did you ever correct your issue?

  14. #14
    ServBot (Level 11) Niku-Sama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Deadford, OR
    Posts
    3,684
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    25
    Thanked in
    23 Posts

    Default

    last activity is 2011.

    don't think your gonna get your answer, probably best to start a new topic while possibly adding a bit more info if at all possible.

    like the tiny specifics that you might not think important

  15. #15
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    33
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Blow until your Lungs collapse, or what I did is dust off with Air compressor , use a credit card with a torn t-shirt dip in alcohol Rub inside slot then let air dry 30 mins then plug back in. It's just dusty. if your hearing white noise the you might have a bad AC adapter.

  16. #16
    Cherry (Level 1) raylydiard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    wales united kingdom
    Posts
    386
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    raymondlyd
    PSN
    soniccd

    Default

    ok guys i had a genesis like that fault bad vram ic 9 ic 10 zip chips near the video encoder.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 06-14-2010, 01:48 AM
  2. Weird ghosting/double scrambled picture problem with my NES Help/Opinions!?
    By Kevincal in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-06-2009, 11:18 PM
  3. yellow-tinted picture from my Genesis
    By Diosoth in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-26-2009, 03:24 PM
  4. Sega Genesis 16-Bit.. Won't Power On / Show Picture
    By Hitman Tyler in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 09-05-2008, 02:33 PM
  5. Genesis 2, No Picture
    By Psyleid in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-22-2005, 12:14 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •