Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: IBM PS/1 repair help.

  1. #1
    Pac-Man (Level 10) vintagegamecrazy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Tryin' to smell the color 9
    Posts
    2,504
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default IBM PS/1 repair help.

    I recently got an IBM PS/1 for free from a friend. It has PC Dos 4.0 which is rare and I actually really like the OS so far. If I could get a sound blaster for it then it would be a good Dos gaming PC, the only problem is that the A drive is not working. No matter what disk I put in it it says "unformatted or bad disk". I know that this line if IBM PCs are fairly hard to upgrade and are fairly proprietary for hardware and what not. It does have the expansion on the bottom of the unit with included B drive. Is there a way to replace the A drive easily or is it specifically built for this PC? Can it be repaired? Can a CD rom drive be used with this PC?

    Thanks in advance.
    If they made a movie out of your top five worst sins, what would it be rated?

    Check out my list of trades on GameTZ Link

  2. #2
    DP's favorite trollbait Custom rank graphic
    Kitsune Sniper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Calexico, USA
    Posts
    13,853
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    FoxhackDN
    Steam
    Foxhack

    Default

    If it's a regular 3.5" floppy, you can replace it with another one. The interface has been standard for many years.
    Quote Originally Posted by Edmond Dantes View Post
    I can't tell if we're discussing My Little Pony or Neon Genesis Evangelion anymore.
    eBay Auctions / GameTZ profile / DP Feedback / Youtube / Twitter / RateYourMusic

  3. #3
    Pac-Man (Level 10) vintagegamecrazy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Tryin' to smell the color 9
    Posts
    2,504
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    It's standard as far as I know but PS/1 is known for being hard to upgrade or swap parts for. I'm going to see is a standard drive will fit in the slot.
    If they made a movie out of your top five worst sins, what would it be rated?

    Check out my list of trades on GameTZ Link

  4. #4
    DP's favorite trollbait Custom rank graphic
    Kitsune Sniper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Calexico, USA
    Posts
    13,853
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    FoxhackDN
    Steam
    Foxhack

    Default

    Ah... my mistake. I thought you said PS/2.

    Crap, I'll just let someone else with more experience than me see if they can help. Sorry.
    Quote Originally Posted by Edmond Dantes View Post
    I can't tell if we're discussing My Little Pony or Neon Genesis Evangelion anymore.
    eBay Auctions / GameTZ profile / DP Feedback / Youtube / Twitter / RateYourMusic

  5. #5
    ServBot (Level 11) tom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    USA & RUSSIA
    Posts
    3,681
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    If your PS/1 has an ISA connection, you can get a CD Rom drive for it, but since you're already eying up a soundcard, you obviously have ISA.
    I used to own a internal Mitsumi 2-speed CD Rom I used on my HP 386, it just about ran Return to Zork on CD. The drive didn't fit into the PC (no 51/4" slot), so I taped it to my desk, and broke through the back of the PC to connect the cable to the ISA CD ROM card. Great fun

    Last edited by tom; 06-06-2011 at 12:42 PM.

  6. #6
    Peach (Level 3)
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    756
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I thought the PS/1 used Microchannels. I used to have a PS/1, I loved how quick it booted up.

  7. #7
    ServBot (Level 11) tom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    USA & RUSSIA
    Posts
    3,681
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Just reading about microchannels in a Thinkpad book, Wiki says PS/2s only though.

  8. #8
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The Midwest
    Posts
    65
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    PS/1s were ISA, when they were expandable at all. The PS/1 line lasted about 7 years and had a lot of different models, ranging from 286 (I think) to the 486 or early Pentium era. I'm fairly confident that it's a 386 or better, it shouldn't be a problem finding a Soundblaster to put in it. The early models that stacked together like Legos could be dicier.

    Every PS/1 I ever saw had a standard 34-pin floppy drive in it. So you should be able to drop in a 3.5" floppy from any run-of-the-mill PC and it would work fine.
    Last edited by Dave Farquhar; 06-07-2011 at 09:12 AM.

  9. #9
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    9
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    If it's some custom drive thats hard to replace (some of them had weird fronts/covers/buttons) you can probably revive the old drive. Chances are that the drivebelt has dried out and disintegrated. An easy $1.50 fix.

  10. #10
    Pac-Man (Level 10) vintagegamecrazy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Tryin' to smell the color 9
    Posts
    2,504
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Well I got around to taking apart my PS/1 and the drive is proprietary for sure. It is powered by the ribbon cable and has no separate power wires. It also doesn't have a face plate on it. Every other A drive that I own will not work as even taking off the face plate makes the eject button fall off.

    How would I go about repairing mine? I saw some replacements on Ebay but they were like $40 and I don't want to spend the cash if I don't have to.

    Thanks
    If they made a movie out of your top five worst sins, what would it be rated?

    Check out my list of trades on GameTZ Link

Similar Threads

  1. NES repair
    By BuckNutty in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-26-2011, 08:04 PM
  2. Vectrex repair guide? Or someone in San Diego county that can repair one?
    By Kuros in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-15-2009, 10:17 PM
  3. WTB or repair?
    By Gamingking in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-02-2009, 07:29 PM
  4. Would anybody be willing to repair this for me?
    By doomedpeasant in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-01-2004, 01:48 PM
  5. NES Repair...
    By chadtower in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-20-2003, 04:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •