Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Anyone here repair Turbo Duos?

  1. #1
    ServBot (Level 11) Edmond Dantes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    3,813
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    30
    Thanked in
    29 Posts

    Default Anyone here repair Turbo Duos?

    So I bought a Duo online over a month ago. the CD unit played fine at first, but it wouldn't read hucards. Being the idiot I am, I opened the unit up, and wound up accidentally tugging on some wires or something (the unit is modded by the way). Now not only will it not play cards but the CD-ROM portion behaves like a choking old person.

    Now, I'm sure it can be repaired, and in addition I've heard something about replacing capacitators. But since I'm the dumbass that broke it in the first place (and besides, I don't have any soldering tools or the space to use them), I'd rather pay someone else to do it.

    And before you ask: I wanted to ask over at pcenginefx, but their forums require a mod to approve your account. My account has been awaiting approval for like two weeks now and I'm starting to think its never gonna happen, so I'm asking here.

    Any takers?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Apple (Level 5) xelement5x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Southwest US
    Posts
    1,052
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    It took me about 3-4 weeks to get approved into PCEngineFX, so you should get approved eventually. I seem to remember someone saying that it takes awhile since the person who does approvals doesn't check that often.

    I'm by no means an expert, but I've got a couple quick questions if you don't mind:
    1) I'm assuming you have a US Duo, not a Japanese Duo/R/RX?
    2) Was the mod done previously a region mod, just an Composite/RGB/S-Video mod, or some combination?

  3. #3
    Don't do it...or,do. (shrugs) Custom rank graphic
    Frankie_Says_Relax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    On permanent vacation from this bullshit.
    Posts
    7,824
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    FlyingBurrito76
    PSN
    FlyingBurrito76

    Default

    I don't, but I do repair threads posted in the wrong forum.

    Moving this to Technical and Restoration. If there's a person who can do the job that is where they'll be.
    "And the book says: 'We may be through with the past, but the past ain't through with us.'"


  4. #4
    ServBot (Level 11) Edmond Dantes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    3,813
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    30
    Thanked in
    29 Posts

    Default

    Oh! Sorry about that, Frankie. My brain wasn't working as well as it should yesterday.

    Quote Originally Posted by xelement5x View Post
    I'm by no means an expert, but I've got a couple quick questions if you don't mind:
    1) I'm assuming you have a US Duo, not a Japanese Duo/R/RX?
    2) Was the mod done previously a region mod, just an Composite/RGB/S-Video mod, or some combination?
    It's a region mod.

    And the duo is a US Duo.

  5. #5
    Apple (Level 5) xelement5x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Southwest US
    Posts
    1,052
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Okay, well all Turbo/PCE CD games are region free, so if your system was modded that really shouldn't have been an issue. It's possible the switch for the HuCard regions is set to the wrong region, have you tried both US and JP HuCards?

  6. #6
    ServBot (Level 11) Edmond Dantes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    3,813
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    30
    Thanked in
    29 Posts

    Default

    Yes.

    And as I said in the OP, the CD unit worked until after I stupidly opened the system. I did accidentally yank a couple of wires when I did that so I'm thinking something needs to be soldered, but I do not have the tools to do this.

    The Hucard part though, never worked. With either JP or US games.

  7. #7
    Insert Coin (Level 0) isufje's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    136
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    You ever consider buying a solder iron and fixing it yourself? Could be fun... <_<

  8. #8
    ServBot (Level 11) Edmond Dantes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    3,813
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    30
    Thanked in
    29 Posts

    Default

    No, I never considered that. My hands have a way of randomly shaking so I'm sure I would just further destroy the system if I tried to fix it myself.

    Honestly, if I can't get it fixed I'll sell it for parts and put the money towards buying a Japanese model.

  9. #9
    ServBot (Level 11) Edmond Dantes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    3,813
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    30
    Thanked in
    29 Posts

    Default

    Bumptasming.

    If nobody can repair this, I'll just have to sell it as a "for parts" console.

  10. #10
    Insert Coin (Level 0) weaponepsilon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    25
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    weapon epsilon
    PSN
    weapon epsilon

    Default

    Perhaps I may be of some service. You said it was modded or something? HOw was it modded? I have done a lot of my own repairs and maintenance for years. I even worked at an electronics reseller doing repair work. I'm in MN, where are you at?
    Currently owned:

    52 platforms; 67 individual systems; 912 singular games (0 doubles!); 2 arcade cabs

Similar Threads

  1. Need repair work done (PS3, Jaguar CD, Turbo CD)
    By sixxgunner81 in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-21-2012, 05:02 PM
  2. Interest Check - Boxed Turbo Duos - no sound :(
    By maxlords in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-21-2010, 08:07 PM
  3. Wanted: Repair Service For Turbo Express
    By ThoughtBomb in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-27-2009, 04:22 PM
  4. Turbo Duo CD repair
    By ScottK in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-23-2007, 08:09 PM
  5. Turbo Duos...
    By Classicgamesdepot in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-25-2003, 08:23 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •