Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24

Thread: Genesis 1 VS Genesis 2 VS Genesis 3 (compatibility with acce

     
  1. #1
    Pac-Man (Level 10) The Manimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,120
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Genesis 1 VS Genesis 2 VS Genesis 3 (compatibility with acce

    Which is compatible with what?

    As far as accessories go...Sega CD, 32X, Power Base Converter


    I just read that Genny thread about different versions of the first unit (didn't know that)...


    I'm under the belief that:

    Genesis 1 accepts CD, 32X, PowerBase (but looks kinda goofy with CD and 32X as they are designed to 'match' the Genny 2)

    Genesis 2 acccepts CD, 32X, but not the PowerBase

    Genesis 3 accepts CD, 32X, but not the PowerBase...plus it doesn't play '3-D' games like Virtua Fighter..




    ??? I have one Genesis 2, and two Genesis 3's (got one extra because the price of a Genny used is the same as the price of buying an A/V cable for the system through eBay).

    Don't own a Genesis 1....think it's too big. I wanted a Power Base Converter so I could play SMS games...but I'm not sure about that anymore, because I remember the only 'exclusive' game that caught my interest last time I looked through a listing of games years back was "Phantasy Star"....and I just recently got a reissue of that along 2 and 3 from the Genesis (which I don't have) as a 3-pack for the GBA.

  2. #2
    Great Puma (Level 12) Achika's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Jersey, unfortunately
    Posts
    4,745
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Achika

    Default

    Genesis 3 can't accept the CD unit and I don't think it will take the 32x either. I could be wrong on the 32x bit, but there is no connection for the CD unit.

  3.  
  4. #3
    Great Puma (Level 12) Bratwurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,447
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    10
    Thanked in
    8 Posts

    Default

    The 32X won't work on a Genesis 3 because its use of a z80 processor function is integrated into a chip, and the configuration isn't what the peripheral is expecting. Same reason why a Power Base Convertor won't work on it.

  5. #4
    Pac-Man (Level 10) The Manimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,120
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    So the Genesis 3 pretty much allows nothing :lol

    Any reason why the Power Base doesn't work with the Genesis 2...or am I wrong about this?

  6.  
  7. #5
    Great Puma (Level 12) Bratwurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,447
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    10
    Thanked in
    8 Posts

    Default

    It will work, it just doesn't normally fit unless you butcher some of the plastic. And if anyone's going to do that, please swap with me for one missing its cover so you don't ruin a beautiful specimen.

  8. #6
    ServBot (Level 11)
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Aboard a pirate ship, sailing towards adventure.
    Posts
    3,555
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    You could also hunt for one of those special over-seas mini-power base converters specially designed to work on a Genesis 2 (well, technically megadrive 2, but it'll still work)

  9.  
  10. #7
    Pac-Man (Level 10) The Manimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,120
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    how do you 'butcher' these correctly? There's several on eBay right now.. I'm assuming you need to remove the plastic that gets in the way of the reset and power buttons? I need detail, please... Will the 'Gun' and games from SMS work?


    Also...what is the 'Card Input' for? I never had a SMS. When that was around, I was still playing the 2600. Got an NES in '89, and the Genesis was out by then...

  11. #8
    Crono (Level 14)
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    6,077
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    It's for the SMS card games, they're very similar to TG HU cards.
    Seeking display quality copy of I Want My Mommy for the 2600... if you have one, PM me, I will pay/trade well.

  12.  
  13. #9
    Great Puma (Level 12) Gamereviewgod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toledo, Ohio and likely writing a review.
    Posts
    4,824
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Gamereviewgod
    PSN
    Gamereviewentity
    3DS Friend
    3136-6571-2996

    Default

    It's not the reset and power buttons that are the trouble, it's the cheap hunk of plastic that hangs off the back of it. You need to cut that part off or you won't be able to connect the AC or AV cable, I don't remeber which. I just took a saw to mine. Works great!

  14. #10
    Great Puma (Level 12) Bratwurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,447
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    10
    Thanked in
    8 Posts

    Default

    I weep for thee, little Power Base Converter.

  15.  
  16. #11
    Crono (Level 14)
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    6,077
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Bratwurst, I just look at look at your website... it has an ad for Southern MA real estate offices on it... does that mean you live in Southern MA?

    EDIT: Of course, I just saw that your location says North Carolina... :/
    Seeking display quality copy of I Want My Mommy for the 2600... if you have one, PM me, I will pay/trade well.

  17. #12
    Great Puma (Level 12) Bratwurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,447
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    10
    Thanked in
    8 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chadtower
    Bratwurst, I just look at look at your website... it has an ad for Southern MA real estate offices on it... does that mean you live in Southern MA?
    Angelfire inserts unrelated banner advertisements in all html documents hosted by them. The cads.

  18.  
  19. #13
    Red (Level 21) Jorpho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    We're all mad here
    Posts
    13,537
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Sega Parts still says something called a "Conversion Cable Gen 1" in its 32x section.
    ________
    Pissing Pussy
    Last edited by J'orfeaux; 04-01-2011 at 05:37 AM.

  20. #14
    Cherry (Level 1)
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Chequamegon Bay, WI
    Posts
    247
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I prefer the Genesis 1 (I have two of them, one boxed) for one simple reason: TRUE STEREO SOUND (from the headphone jack)!

    I also bought an composite-to-S-Video adapter at Radio Shack for $12, and it really makes a difference in the color.

    My 32X fits snugly and works perfectly. Kolibri looks awesome, especially with S-Video. Good stuff, Maynard!

  21.  
  22. #15
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    577
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    The other posters made some good points. I think someone should get a
    gen1 instead of hacking up a pbc for a gen 2, they look great on a gen 1.
    A gen2 has stereo through the AV jack, no headphone jack.
    A gen3 can't take any extras and has only mono sound. However the gen3 and cdx are supposed to have better quality sound than the other genesis models.
    Also gen3s (and late model gen2s) can be easily modified for s-video output.
    Gen1s can also do s-video after a more complicated mod.
    And sometime soon, I'm going to investigate the compatiblity problems on a
    gen3 and nomad. People always talk about the consolidated chip set, but the cdx also has this and it works with the pbc and 32x.
    John
    www94.pair.com/jsoper

  23. #16
    Pac-Man (Level 10) omnedon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,908
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I have genny 2 A/V (stereo composite out) cables for sale. PM me if interested).
    ... for your gaming and iPod service needs http://www.oldschoolgamer.com/ For all your Video Game console and iPod upgrade/repair needs!

  24.  
  25. #17
    Kirby (Level 13) ubersaurus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    5,471
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    ubersaurus

    Default

    The CDX has a Sega CD built in, the headphone jack from the Genesis 1, the power base convertor works, and supposedly so does the 32X (though its not recommended). Plus its small. I know you weren't asking about that, but it is a model of the Genesis too
    Check out the Kleppings!
    Make Way For Madness!
    "9 is a poor man's 11, and 11 is a Baker's Ten."
    Infinite Lives

  26. #18
    Peach (Level 3) devilman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Stoke, England
    Posts
    630
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Another thing to consider is, if you're interested in playing imported Mega CD games, you're better off with the earlier versions of the console if you're going to use a Datel CDX cart for example.

    Personally, I'd go for a MD1, MCD1 - that way you'd be able to play imports with the cart, you'll have a headphone socket, the Power Base convertor & 32X will work with no problems and they're also cheaper to get parts for. At least in the UK anyway - MD2 cables are a pain to come by.

    Hypocritcally, I'm using a Multimega at the moment to save space!

  27.  
  28. #19
    Red (Level 21) Jorpho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    We're all mad here
    Posts
    13,537
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by The Clonus Horror
    I also bought an composite-to-S-Video adapter at Radio Shack for $12, and it really makes a difference in the color.
    I heard that you lose a lot of the video signal when you use those. (I'm not quite sure what is meant by that, but that's what I heard...) They're also a lot cheaper on eBay.
    ________
    COACH PURSES
    Last edited by J'orfeaux; 04-01-2011 at 05:37 AM.

  29. #20
    Cherry (Level 1)
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Chequamegon Bay, WI
    Posts
    247
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I have my Genesis and NES hooked up this way, and seriously, the image is WAY better, especially the color as noted before. I think maybe people have complained about losing signal when using them with VCR's and such, but I can honestly tell you that it works superbly with these two machines.

    As far as them being cheaper on ebay, great--but Radio Shack is two blocks away!


Similar Threads

  1. Ishido Genesis 3 Compatibility Question
    By Casati in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-14-2011, 01:25 AM
  2. Genesis/Megadrive compatibility questions.
    By camarotuner in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-05-2009, 12:07 PM
  3. megadrive/genesis compatibility
    By eightbitonline in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-16-2005, 12:13 PM
  4. Mega Drive Games/Genesis 3 Compatibility?
    By Videogamerdaryll in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-19-2003, 12:42 PM
  5. Genesis PAL compatibility question-
    By Bratwurst in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-21-2003, 06:45 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •