Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: SNES blank screen?

Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Unhappy SNES blank screen?

Let me start of by saying I have NO retro console knowledge at all and I HAVE searched for this issue and didn't find anything.

I recently found an old SNES in my basement and needed to buy the proper cords, a game, and a controller. I got the cords from amazon and it said that they would work with the SNES. I got the AC power adapter (NOT an official Nintendo power adapter) and it seems to work fine. I get the red light on the front of the system. I also got the RCA cord (Yellow,Red,White) and that also seems to work fine...I think. The problem is when I turn the system on my screen flickers a little bit (as it should?) and just goes to a blank screen. I've tried it on all the TV's in my house and they all do the same thing. When I slide the reset button the screen, again, flickers for half a second and then just a blank screen.

Some info the might help.
    I've tried the SNES on a Modern flat screen TV (42" samsung plasma TV) and an old Tube box TV. Still have the same problem.

The RCA cable I ordered from Amazon is NOT Nintendo official but I have found my old GameCube RCA cable which IS Nintendo official. The problem still happens with both.

Hope you guys can help!

Pear (Level 6) Custom rank graphic
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

First thing, what's the rating on your power adapter. The SNES requires DC 10v 850mA, with a negative tip, which looks like this on the adapter (+)----(o----(-)

Second, have you cleaned the game connector with a q-tip and some rubbing alcohol? Also have you tried multiple games to see if any worked?