Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Neo Geo AES - Japan Power Adapter work in US?

  1. #1
    Strawberry (Level 2) Necrosaro420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Afganistan
    Posts
    502
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Neo Geo AES - Japan Power Adapter work in US?

    Ive heard the Japan power adapter will work fine in the US on the system? Or Should I get a stepdown/stepup (whatever one it is) adapter? Thanks

  2. #2
    Kirby (Level 13) ubersaurus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    5,471
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    ubersaurus

    Default

    Dunno about AES specifically, but I've ran a Japanese PC Engine Duo and a Famicom without needing an adapter or anything, so I believe it should run just fine. As a precaution I just didn't leave it plugged in when not in use.
    Check out the Kleppings!
    Make Way For Madness!
    "9 is a poor man's 11, and 11 is a Baker's Ten."
    Infinite Lives

  3. #3
    Pac-Man (Level 10) theclaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,213
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post
    Xbox LIVE
    theclaw135
    PSN
    Eonclaw

    Default

    I believe it is safe for PC-FX, Super Famicom, AV Famicom, and FM Towns Marty. Couldn't say everything would be...
    Lum fan.

  4. #4
    Cherry (Level 1) saferkefka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    217
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    kefkalol

    Default

    i havent had any issues with using my japanese aes ac adapter here in the states.

  5. #5
    Pac-Man (Level 10) Custom rank graphic
    XYXZYZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    1986
    Posts
    2,606
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    My AES hasn't developed any issues using the Japanese power supply. But I do have suspicion about the Japanese power supply playing a role in killing my PC Engine Duo.

  6. #6
    Strawberry (Level 2) Necrosaro420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Afganistan
    Posts
    502
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Great, thanks for replies!

  7. #7
    Great Puma (Level 12) Steve W's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    DFW Metroplex, Texas
    Posts
    4,252
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    26
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    20
    Thanked in
    18 Posts

    Default

    I just got myself a PC Engine, and I was worried about the power issues too. Then in a total freaky bit of serendipitous luck, the afternoon before I received the PC Engine I came across Japanese power inverter still in the package in a Goodwill for $2.99! It's for Japanese people traveling in the US who are worried about killing their electronics. Total dumb luck in finding that. I think I've only had that kind of luck once before, in 1989 when I bought an Intellivision ECS game cartridge then a few hours later and several miles away bought an ECS to use it on without realizing it's significance until much later.

  8. #8
    ServBot (Level 11) MarioMania's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    3,499
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    How can a Japanese PSU kill a PC Engine Duo??

  9. #9
    ServBot (Level 11) kedawa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    3,429
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    You could theoretically be giving it an input voltage that's ~20% above what it is rated for, but even in that scenario, it probably wouldn't cause any real harm.
    There is a lot of tolerance built into both the power supply and the console's internal voltage regulators, after all.

Similar Threads

  1. LF: Snes power adapter , genesis model 1 adapter
    By Sega_Naomi in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-19-2009, 01:45 PM
  2. Someone in Japan-Help, please. WTB Chameleon and FDS adapter
    By rbudrick in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-15-2006, 01:38 PM
  3. NES AC Adapter what others will work?
    By FireMillen in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-12-2005, 07:09 PM
  4. Will Japan NEO Geo systems work in US?
    By Packerfan66 in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-22-2004, 01:19 PM
  5. COULD A NES POWER PLUG ADAPTER WORK ON A REGULAR SEGA GENES
    By diggy_dawg in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-10-2003, 06:06 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •