Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: NeoGeo AES sound question

  1. #1
    Insert Coin (Level 0) SpiritualK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Los Angeles, Ca.
    Posts
    56
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default NeoGeo AES sound question

    Hi everyone,
    so I finally bring out my neogeo aes console yesterday, now when I turned it on to play it I noticed that there was a static sound in the game intro. I figured it was the tv or bad connection so I take it to another tv and it does the same thing. I tried a few different games out and the same static sound on the game intro would happen. mind you I didn't have any controllers plugged into the system during this time.
    obviously I was freaking until I did plug in the controllers and the sound from the games went crystal clear perfect.

    I just want to know, is that normal? to have a static sound on the games when there are no controllers plugged in and perfect sound when the controllers are plugged in? I just noticed that.

    I have an un-modded AES console serial under 10,000... plugged in with the standard composite cable it came with.

    also side question... anyone else notice how the visuals of the AES aren't as bright or vivid when its plugged into an HD tv? freaky


    btw I didn't know where to put this question in the forums so if it's on the wrong place. sorry about that.

    Thanks in advance everyone

  2. #2
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    552
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Could be bad grounding on the video cable. As far as the video is concerned, hooking up the aes via composite will always yield a garbage picture when used on an hdtv. You'll have to upgrade to s-video or component to get a nice picture on an hdtv.

  3. #3
    Pear (Level 6) Custom rank graphic
    alec006's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    DFW
    Posts
    1,270
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SpiritualK View Post
    Hi everyone,
    so I finally bring out my neogeo aes console yesterday, now when I turned it on to play it I noticed that there was a static sound in the game intro. I figured it was the tv or bad connection so I take it to another tv and it does the same thing. I tried a few different games out and the same static sound on the game intro would happen. mind you I didn't have any controllers plugged into the system during this time.
    obviously I was freaking until I did plug in the controllers and the sound from the games went crystal clear perfect.

    I just want to know, is that normal? to have a static sound on the games when there are no controllers plugged in and perfect sound when the controllers are plugged in? I just noticed that.

    I have an un-modded AES console serial under 10,000... plugged in with the standard composite cable it came with.

    also side question... anyone else notice how the visuals of the AES aren't as bright or vivid when its plugged into an HD tv? freaky


    btw I didn't know where to put this question in the forums so if it's on the wrong place. sorry about that.

    Thanks in advance everyone
    That does sound like some kind of grounding issue, I had an N64 that did that for some reason. As for the NEO GEO AES video in general, the composite is abit dull at times, and it's more apparent on an HDTV for some reason. There's always the mod option for S-Video, and there's the RGB option which is the absolute best picture, but you will have to pay a little bit for it.

    Quote Originally Posted by shadowkn55 View Post
    Could be bad grounding on the video cable. As far as the video is concerned, hooking up the aes via composite will always yield a garbage picture when used on an hdtv. You'll have to upgrade to s-video or component to get a nice picture on an hdtv.
    He would have to get a SCART to YUV (Component) adapter to get component since the NEO GEO AES outputs RGB. Only problem is, most HDTV's don't like low res component signals, he would have to get an upscaler as well.
    Last edited by alec006; 09-15-2011 at 02:32 PM.
    "...leave love bleeding, in my hands, in my hands again..."

  4. #4
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    552
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    If he goes the scart route, he will most likely need to open up the console to replace a few caps. The early serial consoles have low value caps that feed the rgb lines and can cause distortions in the video.

  5. #5
    Key (Level 9) chrisbid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,819
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    if you are having a sound issue, have you tried using the headphone jack instead of the standard composite/mono cable?

  6. #6
    Insert Coin (Level 0) SpiritualK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Los Angeles, Ca.
    Posts
    56
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    thanks for all your help guys.... and yeah it could be a ground issue since I did have the cables near a my carpet (my bad, I know).

    ammm.... could anyone do me a HUGE favor and try it out with their neo geo aes to see if its normal or its just me?
    just plug in the aes to a tv, insert a cart but don't plug in any controllers. and turn it on to see if there is static sound on the start up screen and game intro/menu.

    thanks again

  7. #7
    Peach (Level 3) StealthLurker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    668
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SpiritualK View Post
    thanks for all your help guys.... and yeah it could be a ground issue since I did have the cables near a my carpet (my bad, I know).

    ammm.... could anyone do me a HUGE favor and try it out with their neo geo aes to see if its normal or its just me?
    just plug in the aes to a tv, insert a cart but don't plug in any controllers. and turn it on to see if there is static sound on the start up screen and game intro/menu.

    thanks again

    Nope don't have that problem on my stock system or modded one. BTW, in addition to svideo mods, component mods can be done also.

    .
    __________________________________________________ ___


    [ Severely Outdated Game Collection Pics ]
    [ My Multi-screen MADNESS!! ]

  8. #8
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    1
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    My MV-1 system has static when playing certain games and I don't know why???
    I am wondering if it will go away by plugging in a controller or two...

    Does this issue affect all your games or only some?
    Do you have to plug both controllers in or just one to correct it?

    So far it is: (a bootleg copy of) Puzzle Bobble 2, and (Japanese copy of) Stakes Winner

    I have not tested all of my games yet, but about half work without problems...

    I also have a 2 cartridge MVS (not sure of the model) I can probably test them on. (I just can't see anything on the screen with the monitor trouble I am having)


    Does this problem affect all of your games, or just some?

Similar Threads

  1. Neogeo pocket question
    By demen999 in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 08-28-2005, 12:08 AM
  2. Question about NeoGeo Pocket Color games on eBay
    By Jibbajaba in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-11-2004, 06:05 PM
  3. NeoGeo question!?
    By HellStar in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-02-2004, 12:11 PM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-04-2004, 08:46 AM
  5. Question about NeoGeo Pocket Color
    By PDorr3 in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-19-2003, 05:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •