Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Question about PC Engine/Turbografx connections

  1. #1
    Insert Coin (Level 0) Crocket's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    30
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Question about PC Engine/Turbografx connections

    I was considering buying either a PC Engine or Core Grafx. I was wondering if an RF TurboGrafx adapter and/or plug could work on either system. Also if those do not work are there any other choices I can use.
    Last edited by Crocket; 09-16-2011 at 08:38 PM.

  2. #2
    Strawberry (Level 2) retroguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    The Middle of Nowhere
    Posts
    402
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Good question. I'd like to buy one of those myself someday because it's actually cheaper to buy a Japanese system then it is to buy a PCE-TG16 adapter. Anybody?

  3. #3
    Great Puma (Level 12) c0ldb33r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,980
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    the original white PC Engine has RF output and no AV
    the Coregrafx I & II both have AV out

    If you buy either system they should come with all required plugs

    It should be cheaper and easier to get a japanese system than a converter. It's less convenient though.

  4. #4
    Insert Coin (Level 0) Crocket's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    30
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by c0ldb33r View Post
    the original white PC Engine has RF output and no AV
    the Coregrafx I & II both have AV out

    If you buy either system they should come with all required plugs

    It should be cheaper and easier to get a japanese system than a converter. It's less convenient though.
    The reason I asked is because some PC Engines on ebay don't come with the cables. Still thanks for the info.

  5. #5
    Great Puma (Level 12) c0ldb33r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,980
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I wouldn't get a PC Engine btw - get a coregrafx so you can easily get composite out. you can get composite out of an original PC Engine but it requires additional hardware.

  6. #6
    Great Puma (Level 12) Steve W's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    DFW Metroplex, Texas
    Posts
    4,365
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    40
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    30
    Thanked in
    27 Posts

    Default

    I just got a PC Engine (thanks to 98PaceCar) and I can answer some of your questions. You can use one of those RCA-to-Coaxial adapters and get a really clear picture (on channel 98). Then you can use a simple RCA cable to connect it to your TV. I've been told that Japanese power supplies will work fine (just don't keep them plugged in when you're not playing the system), but you can always get a Japanese-to-US power inverter that will make sure your PC Engine's PSU won't burn out.

  7. #7
    Retro game console modder bacteria's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    189
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    If you're in the UK, you can get a TurboGrafx (not TG-16); and if you're happy to open the system up and do some basic soldering, can make your system output RGB for quality video output and wire up to a SCART plug.

  8. #8
    Part of the #vbender crew Custom rank graphic
    Ze_ro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3
    Thanked in
    3 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Abstract Zero
    PSN
    Ze_roV
    Steam
    abstractzero

    Default

    If you're still considering your options, I recommend getting a region-modded PC Engine Duo-R (or Duo-RX, they're the same thing). You really don't want to miss out on all the excellent CD-ROM games, and even though it's pretty expensive, it's easier than trying to screw around with CD-ROM add-ons later on when you decide you want one.

    --Zero

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-22-2012, 05:36 PM
  2. PC-Engine and Turbografx 16
    By bartre in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 04-28-2010, 08:08 PM
  3. SMB on the TurboGrafx 16/PC Engine?
    By rbudrick in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 11-15-2007, 09:48 PM
  4. PC Engine/TurboGrafx-16
    By insinion in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-28-2006, 11:01 PM
  5. PC Engine/Turbografx Hu-card ?
    By ghostangelofcky in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-28-2005, 02:47 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •