Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: using a turbo grafx joystick on a pc engine

  1. #1
    Great Puma (Level 12) c0ldb33r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,980
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default using a turbo grafx joystick on a pc engine

    I know that to use a tg16 controller on a pc engine, or vice versa, you simply crack open the controller and swap the cords. Easy.

    What about the turbo stick?

    I was hoping that modding a turbo tap would be as easy as modding a tg16 controller, but this isn't the case. The cord is completely different inside.



    Can you swap cords with a PC Engine multitap?

  2. #2
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    501
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I'd suggest tracking down one of the old TG16 to Duo adapter cords that TTI distributed, should work

  3. #3
    Pac-Man (Level 10) treismac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Savannah, GA
    Posts
    2,026
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Good luck! I'm rooting for you. I love the Turbografx-16- including all the zany PC-Engine games that never washed ashore to the States.

    I don't see why you couldn't swap/solder the wires of the Japanese Multi-Tap with the US version?
    Last edited by treismac; 10-12-2011 at 01:12 AM.

  4. #4
    Great Puma (Level 12) c0ldb33r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,980
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by savageone View Post
    I'd suggest tracking down one of the old TG16 to Duo adapter cords that TTI distributed, should work
    I've been checking around for them and can't fine any.

    Quote Originally Posted by treismac View Post
    I don't see why you couldn't swap/solder the wires of the Japanese Multi-Tap with the US version?
    That's the plan. I ordered a duo tap from eBay. If it doesn't work, my worst case scenario is that I've purchase a duo tap, which I'd like to have anyway.

    I'll post results once I get it.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-29-2008, 05:12 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-10-2007, 11:33 PM
  3. FS: Huge Turbo Duo, Turbo Grafx CD, Express, PC engine
    By rhiohki in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 09-06-2005, 06:56 PM
  4. How rare is the Competition Pro joystick for the Turbo Grafx
    By mcgrail0007@netzero.net in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-27-2005, 09:19 AM
  5. Best turbo grafx/pc engine cd games?
    By Richter Belmount in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-29-2004, 07:47 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •