Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Why Was SEGA CD Voice Acting So Bad?

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default Why Was SEGA CD Voice Acting So Bad?

I just started playing Keio flying Squadron and man, thank god I was using the headphones.

Is there a reason so many games with voice acting were so god awful in the 90s?

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    12 Posts

Play something like Popful Mail and see it was the exact opposite.

Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

The Sega CD has had some of the best voice acting of all time! See Popful Mail, Adventures of Willy Beamish, Snatcher, Cobra, etc. I always though the PSX had some of the worse voice acting ever because of the low budgets of many games. Really, it all came down to the budgets. Video gaming companies often did not feel like hiring quality voice actors was an important part of producing (especially for localization) of a game. Nowadays it's kind of expected.

Great Puma (Level 12) Custom rank graphic
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    10 Posts

I chalk it up to a mixture of a new medium and low budgets. People would be impressed that there was any voice at all that they didn't care about how horribly it was acted. This is also how FMV games lived so long.

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

I think it just comes down to it being generally harder (and more expensive) to get good voice talent compared to good graphical artists/programmers. You generally have to go outside the development house to get voice actors, unless you're huge like Bethesda, or are willing to make a truly horrible localization like Chaos Wars.

Banned

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    SloshyCape0