Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Does the SNES Game Genie delay a mili second of the press of a button?

  1. #1
    Insert Coin (Level 0) bigbadbear9885's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    15
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Does the SNES Game Genie delay a mili second of the press of a button?

    I'm not sure if I'm asking a stupid question, but I'm just making sure anyway. Does a Game Genie for Super Nintendo, or any other console that has a Game Genie (Sega Genesis, NES, Game Boy) do the same thing emulators do, delay a mil. second of a press of a button?
    I wonder this because of the image that the game is plugged into another PCB with some of its own software, which is plugged to the console itself.

  2. #2
    Bell (Level 8)
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1,618
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Must be some sort of delay. It's the only way I can think of how Sunsoft was somehow able to detect it and make games crash if a Game Genie was inserted (even if you didn't enter any codes).

  3. #3
    Insert Coin (Level 0) bigbadbear9885's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    15
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SparTonberry View Post
    Must be some sort of delay. It's the only way I can think of how Sunsoft was somehow able to detect it and make games crash if a Game Genie was inserted (even if you didn't enter any codes).
    Well, what i'm actually asking is: When you play a game on the Game Genie, will it make it so every time you press a button on the controller, it will take half a minute more to execute than playing it with just the plain console hardware?

    Emulators do it

  4. #4
    Cherry (Level 1) Shulamana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    224
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    There will be very very short delays in read times for data coming from the ROM on the cartridge, but input detection should all be done on the console itself. Either way it's not going to be anything you would perceive differently.

  5. #5
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    22
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bigbadbear9885 View Post
    I'm not sure if I'm asking a stupid question, but I'm just making sure anyway. Does a Game Genie for Super Nintendo, or any other console that has a Game Genie (Sega Genesis, NES, Game Boy) do the same thing emulators do, delay a mil. second of a press of a button?
    I wonder this because of the image that the game is plugged into another PCB with some of its own software, which is plugged to the console itself.
    yes there is a lag with the snes genie but its hard to notice the lag is actually 1 300th of a milisecond i looked into it

  6. #6
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Redwood City, CA
    Posts
    71
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    As Shulamana said, absolutely not. The data is changed as it comes off the ROM, not by any software. A delay of 1/300mS is ridiculous. A frame is only 15-20mS so even if it existed that delay would make no difference.

    Detecting is easy, just check the RAM for the variables its menu uses. Which Sunsoft games check for GG?

  7. #7
    Insert Coin (Level 0) bigbadbear9885's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    15
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JoshTheNESNerd View Post
    yes there is a lag with the snes genie but its hard to notice the lag is actually 1 300th of a milisecond i looked into it
    The thing i've been worried about is, I was gonna use one to play Super Famicom (Japanese Snes) games, and I just ordered the japanese version of Hagane, which is known as the number one hardest SNES game, so I feel that I'll be pressing buttons as fast as bullets nonstop.

  8. #8
    Pac-Man (Level 10) theclaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,217
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post
    Xbox LIVE
    theclaw135
    PSN
    Eonclaw

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bigbadbear9885 View Post
    The thing i've been worried about is, I was gonna use one to play Super Famicom (Japanese Snes) games, and I just ordered the japanese version of Hagane, which is known as the number one hardest SNES game, so I feel that I'll be pressing buttons as fast as bullets nonstop.
    That won't work. Super Famicom games don't fit an un-modified Game Genie. Even then you'll likely be unable to play enhanced games. Most Game Genie versions lack the wider pin connections used by Super FX, Super Game Boy, Megaman X2/X3, Mario RPG...
    Lum fan.

  9. #9
    Strawberry (Level 2) Custom rank graphic
    Drixxel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    452
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by theclaw View Post
    That won't work. Super Famicom games don't fit an un-modified Game Genie. Even then you'll likely be unable to play enhanced games. Most Game Genie versions lack the wider pin connections used by Super FX, Super Game Boy, Megaman X2/X3, Mario RPG...
    Possible compatibility issues aside, hacking out the plastic tabs on a Game Genie is a little easier than doing so in the console's cartridge slot. Not a bad workaround, in my opinion.

  10. #10
    Kirby (Level 13) Leo_A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    5,878
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by theclaw View Post
    That won't work. Super Famicom games don't fit an un-modified Game Genie. Even then you'll likely be unable to play enhanced games. Most Game Genie versions lack the wider pin connections used by Super FX, Super Game Boy, Megaman X2/X3, Mario RPG...
    I don't believe you will find one that has those side connections.

    And there's barely anything for Super Famicom enhanced games that would be of interest to anyone that wasn't released here. They got maybe 10 games that used various chips that we didn't get and I suspect most can live without things like Jumpin' Derby (Although I do remember that they got a Parodius game that used a SA-1 chip that might be of import interest to SuperNes owners). So that isn't much of a problem I suspect for most.
    Last edited by Leo_A; 02-09-2012 at 04:21 PM.

  11. #11
    Insert Coin (Level 0) bigbadbear9885's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    15
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by theclaw View Post
    That won't work. Super Famicom games don't fit an un-modified Game Genie. Even then you'll likely be unable to play enhanced games. Most Game Genie versions lack the wider pin connections used by Super FX, Super Game Boy, Megaman X2/X3, Mario RPG...
    Yes, I already modded the Genie to play SFC games.

    Also, I'm not looking at any SFC that have a SFX chip.

  12. #12
    Bell (Level 8)
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1,618
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Leo_A View Post
    I don't believe you will find one that has those side connections.

    And there's barely anything for Super Famicom enhanced games that would be of interest to anyone that wasn't released here.
    Jikkyou Oshaberi Parodius, yes.
    I think the Kirby games (Super Star and Dream Land 3) and RockMan X2/3 are cheaper to find than the western versions (last I checked, X3 was just over $20 for the SFC version vs. $50+ for the US, probably even more for the PAL version).

    To answer another question, the one Sunsoft game I can personally remember that seemed to refuse to work with the GG was Death Valley Rally. Would always glitch up at the Sunsoft logo and crash on it or on the black screen between the Sunsoft logo and the copyright notices screen.

Similar Threads

  1. Snes Mini Delay loading game! Help PLz!
    By neojapan in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-11-2013, 11:56 AM
  2. The SNES Game Genie conundrum
    By jperryss in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-08-2010, 09:49 PM
  3. how do you use an SNES Game Genie?
    By MissingNo_1231 in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-14-2009, 04:01 PM
  4. snes game genie question
    By vintagegamecrazy in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-09-2008, 04:59 AM
  5. SNES Game Genie
    By Bratwurst in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-25-2003, 01:22 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •