Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 114

Thread: Trying to get the best video quality with my consoles (and other problems)

  1. #1
    Play me a Newfie jig! markusman64ds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Newfoundland
    Posts
    719
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Trying to get the best video quality with my consoles (and other problems)

    I'm...well if you read the title then you know.

    But I'm trying to do it without modding my systems. What would be the best video cable options for the following systems?

    N64
    Wii
    Xbox 360 Slim
    PS3 Slim
    PS1 original model
    3DO FZ-1
    Dreamcast
    Xbox
    Saturn
    Gamecube
    PS2 original model
    2600 original model
    Intellivision original model
    Sega Genesis original model with CD and 32X
    NES original model
    Master System original model
    SNES original model
    C64 original model
    VIC-20

    The TV I use has the following video ports open:

    3 HDMI
    VGA
    Component
    Component/Composite
    RF

    On a side note, which classic console should I get next?
    And is there any way to use light guns with HDTVs?
    Last edited by markusman64ds; 06-16-2012 at 07:50 AM.

  2. #2
    Pear (Level 6) ApolloBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    1,219
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Without modding, here's your options:

    N64 - S-video (you can get S-video to composite converters as you said your TV doesn't have S-video)
    Wii - Component
    Xbox 360 Slim - HDMI
    PS3 Slim - HDMI
    PS1 original model - RGB (you can use a SCART to component converter for this)
    3DO FZ-1 - S-video
    Dreamcast - VGA
    Xbox - Component
    Saturn - RGB
    Gamecube - Component or S-video, depending on the model
    PS2 original model - Component
    2600 original model - RF
    Intellivision original model - RF
    Sega Genesis original model with CD and 32X - RGB
    NES original model - Composite
    Master System original model - RGB
    SNES original model - RGB
    C64 original model - S-video or composite, depending on the model
    VIC-20 - Composite
    Quote Originally Posted by starsoldier1 View Post
    GUY WAS SUPPOSE TO PLAYABLE IN THE GAME
    My collection

  3. #3
    Play me a Newfie jig! markusman64ds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Newfoundland
    Posts
    719
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ApolloBoy View Post
    Without modding, here's your options:

    N64 - S-video (you can get S-video to composite converters as you said your TV doesn't have S-video)
    Wii - Component
    Xbox 360 Slim - HDMI
    PS3 Slim - HDMI
    PS1 original model - RGB (you can use a SCART to component converter for this)
    3DO FZ-1 - S-video
    Dreamcast - VGA
    Xbox - Component
    Saturn - RGB
    Gamecube - Component or S-video, depending on the model
    PS2 original model - Component
    2600 original model - RF
    Intellivision original model - RF
    Sega Genesis original model with CD and 32X - RGB
    NES original model - Composite
    Master System original model - RGB
    SNES original model - RGB
    C64 original model - S-video or composite, depending on the model
    VIC-20 - Composite
    So does the RGB go in the same ports as the component? Is it the same thing? My C64 is most likely from around the mid 80's. It has grey function keys and a darker paint colour than the original Vic-20. My Gamecube would be from around 2005. I got it new with Mario Party 7.

    I do not remember what these are called. Those things where you plug in a box in one port on your TV and it has more ports on the box. I think its called a video splitter? Any good suggestions for those?

    I'm using a 50 inch plasma if anyone was wondering.

  4. #4
    Pear (Level 6) ApolloBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    1,219
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by markusman64ds View Post
    So does the RGB go in the same ports as the component? Is it the same thing?
    It's not the same thing at all, hence why you need a SCART to component converter for your TV. Just get the converter and an RGB SCART cable for any of the systems that use it, and you're set. RGB uses three signals for color information and then a fourth signal for sync. Component is like S-video in that the brightness and color information are separate, but the color information is split into two signals.

    Quote Originally Posted by markusman64ds View Post
    My C64 is most likely from around the mid 80's. It has grey function keys and a darker paint colour than the original Vic-20.
    Does it have an 8-pin DIN jack on the back? If so, it'll output S-video.

    Quote Originally Posted by markusman64ds View Post
    My Gamecube would be from around 2005. I got it new with Mario Party 7.
    In that case your GameCube would be one of the later models which lacks component.

    Quote Originally Posted by markusman64ds View Post
    I do not remember what these are called. Those things where you plug in a box in one port on your TV and it has more ports on the box. I think its called a video splitter? Any good suggestions for those?
    You mean an AV switchbox? I don't know of any that would support composite, S-video, component and HDMI but you could probably get a separate one for composite and S-video (which most cheaper switchboxes will have) and another for component and HDMI.
    Quote Originally Posted by starsoldier1 View Post
    GUY WAS SUPPOSE TO PLAYABLE IN THE GAME
    My collection

  5. #5
    Play me a Newfie jig! markusman64ds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Newfoundland
    Posts
    719
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ApolloBoy View Post
    You mean an AV switchbox? I don't know of any that would support composite, S-video, component and HDMI but you could probably get a separate one for composite and S-video (which most cheaper switchboxes will have) and another for component and HDMI.
    Yeah those things. I made a drawing of how my setup would look with those.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	TV.jpg 
Views:	79 
Size:	45.4 KB 
ID:	5312

    This would work. I would just need a bunch of switchboxes and SCART to component converters.

    How is this for a SCART to component?

    http://www.ebay.ca/itm/NEW-SCART-RGB...item3362ac0577

  6. #6
    Pear (Level 6) ApolloBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    1,219
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by markusman64ds View Post
    How is this for a SCART to component?

    http://www.ebay.ca/itm/NEW-SCART-RGB...item3362ac0577
    That's the one! You don't necessarily have to get a bunch, just swap out SCART cables but keep them plugged in at the console end.
    Quote Originally Posted by starsoldier1 View Post
    GUY WAS SUPPOSE TO PLAYABLE IN THE GAME
    My collection

  7. #7
    Play me a Newfie jig! markusman64ds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Newfoundland
    Posts
    719
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ApolloBoy View Post
    That's the one! You don't necessarily have to get a bunch, just swap out SCART cables but keep them plugged in at the console end.
    Would it matter if the SCART cable was NTSC or PAL? Or can cables actually be NTSC or PAL? Also, do all the systems you listed with RGB have SCART cables?

    EDIT: And on that converter in the eBay listing, I can't see any audio output. Am I missing something?
    Last edited by markusman64ds; 06-15-2012 at 06:59 PM.

  8. #8
    Pear (Level 6) ApolloBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    1,219
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by markusman64ds View Post
    Would it matter if the SCART cable was NTSC or PAL? Or can cables actually be NTSC or PAL? Also, do all the systems you listed with RGB have SCART cables?
    NTSC/PAL doesn't matter with RGB, and even then the output signal is determined by the console, so your NTSC consoles will output 60 Hz regardless. There are SCART cables available for any console that has RGB out of the box, but you have to be careful as some SCART cables will have composite instead of RGB (SCART is a connector standard which has provisions for several different outputs).

    Pretty much all of the SCART to component converters don't have audio, but you can find SCART breakout boxes that go between the SCART cable and the converter, giving you standard RCA audio jacks. If you're good with a soldering iron you can also modify the converter itself with audio cables or jacks.
    Quote Originally Posted by starsoldier1 View Post
    GUY WAS SUPPOSE TO PLAYABLE IN THE GAME
    My collection

  9. #9
    Play me a Newfie jig! markusman64ds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Newfoundland
    Posts
    719
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ApolloBoy View Post
    Pretty much all of the SCART to component converters don't have audio, but you can find SCART breakout boxes that go between the SCART cable and the converter, giving you standard RCA audio jacks. If you're good with a soldering iron you can also modify the converter itself with audio cables or jacks.
    So approximately how much would it cost to mod the converter?

  10. #10
    Pear (Level 6) ApolloBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    1,219
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by markusman64ds View Post
    So approximately how much would it cost to mod the converter?
    Well, if you'd like me to mod it I could probably charge $10+return shipping. I've done mine before (although I use a Sony PVM monitor with RGB now) and it's actually pretty easy.
    Quote Originally Posted by starsoldier1 View Post
    GUY WAS SUPPOSE TO PLAYABLE IN THE GAME
    My collection

  11. #11
    Play me a Newfie jig! markusman64ds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Newfoundland
    Posts
    719
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ApolloBoy View Post
    Well, if you'd like me to mod it I could probably charge $10+return shipping. I've done mine before (although I use a Sony PVM monitor with RGB now) and it's actually pretty easy.
    If I had a good guide I could probably do it myself. I would just need to know how. The most I've done with mods is the NES region free mod, and even then I cut the wrong pin, twice

  12. #12
    Play me a Newfie jig! markusman64ds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Newfoundland
    Posts
    719
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    On the topic of getting the best out of my systems, I have problems with my Genesis and SNES. They work fine, but with the Genesis it's annoying to look at and with the SNES I think it may lead to problems in the future. The Genesis has that pin missing from the controller ports and the SNES has a broken power port.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2012-06-16 09.33.45.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	86.6 KB 
ID:	5313Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2012-06-16 09.35.42.jpg 
Views:	15 
Size:	95.0 KB 
ID:	5314

    Should I get new systems? Are there any easy fixes for these problems?

    Also, when I found my current C64 at a store for $3 I was so excited that I dropped it and broke off one of they keys. Can these be fixed easily too?

    EDIT: I tried the RF systems on the plasma screen. The 2600 is fine, but the picture on the Intellivision is very shaky.
    Last edited by markusman64ds; 06-16-2012 at 07:48 AM.

  13. #13
    Pretzel (Level 4) APE992's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Chico, CA
    Posts
    999
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    APE992

    Default

    I have multiple RGB modded N64s available if you need one. They look amazing on my Sony PVM displays.
    I fix things. You name it, I'll work on it. Want something modded? Recapped?

  14. #14
    Play me a Newfie jig! markusman64ds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Newfoundland
    Posts
    719
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Looking up more about SCART, it looks like it would cost a lot and probably isn't worth the trouble. S-Video seems like the way to go. Is S-Video the second best unmodded video for the PS1/Saturn/Genesis/SNES/Master System?

    And would this be a good VGA box for Dreamcast?

    http://www.ebay.ca/itm/Sega-Dreamcas...item4ab8b55139

    Just to remind everyone, here are my questions so far besides those ones;

    Should I get new Genesis/SNES systems or are they easy fixes?
    Should I replace my C64 keyboard or can that be fixed too?
    Why is the video on the Intellivision shaky?
    ^For those 3 see my last post.

    Which classic console should I get next?
    Is there any way to use light guns and ROB with HDTVs?
    Last edited by markusman64ds; 06-16-2012 at 04:52 PM.

  15. #15
    Pear (Level 6) ApolloBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    1,219
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by markusman64ds View Post
    Looking up more about SCART, it looks like it would cost a lot and probably isn't worth the trouble. S-Video seems like the way to go. Is S-Video the second best unmodded video for the PS1/Saturn/Genesis/SNES/Master System?
    You can get S-video unmodded out of the SNES, PS1 and Saturn, but you need to mod your Genesis and SMS for S-video. Getting SCART cables might be a little pricey but the picture quality through RGB is absolutely incredible. I use RGB for a lot of my systems and I haven't regretted it one bit. It is definitely worth the trouble.
    Quote Originally Posted by starsoldier1 View Post
    GUY WAS SUPPOSE TO PLAYABLE IN THE GAME
    My collection

  16. #16
    Play me a Newfie jig! markusman64ds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Newfoundland
    Posts
    719
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ApolloBoy View Post
    You can get S-video unmodded out of the SNES, PS1 and Saturn, but you need to mod your Genesis and SMS for S-video. Getting SCART cables might be a little pricey but the picture quality through RGB is absolutely incredible. I use RGB for a lot of my systems and I haven't regretted it one bit. It is definitely worth the trouble.
    I will be fine with S-video. So does that mean the best video for Genesis and Master System is composite? And is that VGA box on eBay a good one?

  17. #17
    Pear (Level 6) ApolloBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    1,219
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by markusman64ds View Post
    I will be fine with S-video. So does that mean the best video for Genesis and Master System is composite? And is that VGA box on eBay a good one?
    The second best video for the Genesis and SMS will be composite, which isn't very good on both. It doesn't take much to mod either for S-video and it's a huge step up from composite. Not sure about the DC VGA box as I don't have much experience with that.
    Quote Originally Posted by starsoldier1 View Post
    GUY WAS SUPPOSE TO PLAYABLE IN THE GAME
    My collection

  18. #18
    Play me a Newfie jig! markusman64ds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Newfoundland
    Posts
    719
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Cool. So now that that's cleared up, it's time to find out why the RF connection from my Intellivision isn't doing great. It will work fine on a CRT, but on my plasma TV the picture is very shaky. Is it the TV or is it the system? How do I fix it?

  19. #19
    Pretzel (Level 4) APE992's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Chico, CA
    Posts
    999
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    APE992

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by markusman64ds View Post
    Cool. So now that that's cleared up, it's time to find out why the RF connection from my Intellivision isn't doing great. It will work fine on a CRT, but on my plasma TV the picture is very shaky. Is it the TV or is it the system? How do I fix it?
    You can't and don't fix it. RF is garbage and modern displays aren't built to make an attempt at making it look good. There is a composite mod:
    http://www.intellivision.us/video_mod/video_mod.php
    I fix things. You name it, I'll work on it. Want something modded? Recapped?

  20. #20
    Play me a Newfie jig! markusman64ds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Newfoundland
    Posts
    719
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by APE992 View Post
    You can't and don't fix it. RF is garbage and modern displays aren't built to make an attempt at making it look good. There is a composite mod:
    http://www.intellivision.us/video_mod/video_mod.php
    I barely play my Intellivision anyway, so if I have to I'll just get out one of my old TVs.

    Any problems with my Genesis should be ignored because I'm replacing it with an X'Eye soon, but there is still the problem with my SNES power port.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2012-06-16 09.35.42.jpg 
Views:	15 
Size:	95.0 KB 
ID:	5314

    Is my SNES ok or should I replace the port? I have an extra SNES I'm not using.

Similar Threads

  1. N64 image quality: Gray vs. Colored consoles
    By Mega Mania in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-04-2012, 11:39 AM
  2. NES Video Quality Getting Worse?
    By jdcarter4490 in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-12-2012, 12:21 PM
  3. SNES best video quality connection?
    By poopnes in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 03-05-2006, 12:22 AM
  4. WTB Quality Used PCI Video Card
    By Jorpho in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-15-2004, 10:04 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •