Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: SNES reset / crash annoyances

  1. #1
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    6
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default SNES reset / crash annoyances

    I have a PAL SNES (UK). All my games are PAL.

    For a while now my old SNES would reset occasionally but I thought it was just my system aging badly and it didn't really affect my gaming sessions. Another issue I had was games, some time ago I posted a thread about DKC2 not working correctly, and recently I bought another one for a good price and also purchased Kirby's Fun Pak and I got the same issue with DKC2 and Kirby wouldn't load at all, it later turned out to be my old SNES so I replaced that with a new one and the games work flawlessly now.

    Games I haven't been able to get working however are Street Fighter II Turbo and a new game I bought (Yoshi's Island). Street Fighter would either freeze at the opening or freeze once I make it past the title screen and proceed to the character select, oddly enough I can use the options. Yoshi's Island likes to reset at the Nintendo Presents screen and the intro, what it would do is either reset when the nintendo logo appears or when I am at the intro and I press start, a white box flashes (sometimes) and it goes back to the nintendo screen.

    I am starting to believe that the PSU that I am using is what is causing the resets for Yoshi at-least but I can't be sure. The person I bought the Yoshi from told me that it worked perfectly fine, and I used Surgical Spirit (rubbing alcohol) and a Q-tip to clean the contacts. The PSU I am using is not official, it is a really old IC universal regulator (I am not really familiar with this but that is what it says on the PSU >_>) which my parents got for me when I was still a kid. Is this why Yoshi resets?

    I think Street Fighter is a lost cause, but I hope this is the case with Yoshi, this game cost a lot.
    Last edited by Ragnarok; 06-25-2012 at 03:54 PM.

  2. #2
    Pretzel (Level 4) APE992's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Chico, CA
    Posts
    999
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    APE992

    Default

    Hope you didn't pay more than $15 for Yoshi's Island.

    You could try disabling the CIC inside the SNES to see if communication issues are at fault.
    I fix things. You name it, I'll work on it. Want something modded? Recapped?

  3. #3
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    6
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I will try that.

    All I have to do is heat a knife and remove four specific legs off the chip, right?

  4. #4
    Peach (Level 3)
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    657
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    This actually sounds like a cleaning issue. Have you made sure to clean all the contacts of the carts/SNES with contact cleaner/rubbing alcohol?

  5. #5
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    6
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    At first I thought it was dirty, so I thoroughly cleaned Yoshi's Island and the SNES and it was still doing it.

    Edit - Though I am curious, what is the best way to clean the cartridge slot on a PAL SNES?
    Last edited by Ragnarok; 06-26-2012 at 03:47 PM.

  6. #6
    Cherry (Level 1) raylydiard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    wales united kingdom
    Posts
    386
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    raymondlyd
    PSN
    soniccd

    Default

    http://www.mmmonkey.co.uk/console/ni...s-glitches.htm


    try this i fixed a snes the other day with this fault.

  7. #7
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    6
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Thank you.

    My issue has been resolved. As I suspected, my AC Adapter was causing the problem. I just received my official adapter and Yoshi's Island works flawlessly.

Similar Threads

  1. What is the Button Reset Code to reset an SNES Controller?
    By BooperGrandson in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-07-2010, 09:48 PM
  2. WTB: Prototypes of "Crash Twinsanity"/"Crash Unlimited"
    By DecoderRing in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-13-2009, 12:53 PM
  3. I hit the reset button for $8.00
    By cheshire191 in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-12-2007, 04:48 PM
  4. Snes reset doesn't work... any ideas?
    By Psyleid in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-07-2005, 12:25 AM
  5. Arcade Annoyances
    By Darth Sensei in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 10-30-2003, 09:48 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •