Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Retro game store Up-pricing right in front of a customer, opinions?

Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default Retro game store Up-pricing right in front of a customer, opinions?

First, a little background. I am a long-time Sega CD collector and own all of the hardware variations. I have been collecting Sega CD games for more than ten years now, mostly keeping things local and helping support local shops and thrift stores. I've bought them when no one else wanted them, and I bought copies that should have been left alone just as placeholders. Here is what happened to me today:

I go into a local retro game store, their prices are overall high, but some good deals can be had if I look hard enough. Behind the counter are two games that I've searched for, ten years of searching: Popful Mail ($50) and Snatcher ($100). Just as I express interest in them, the sales lady starts marking them up after an e-bay search. They're now $100 and $200, respectively. I'm not happy, I tell them I would gladly pay them the original $150 for both. Sorry, no luck for me. "Well I've crushed one person's dreams, I'm done for the day" says the sales lady. I get out of the store at that point and go on my way (and continue my decade long quest to find a reasonably priced copy of both games). Sigh.

I'm going to boycott them, period.

Thoughts from the DP crew? All are welcome. Should I be so mad, or perhaps the store was just acting in their best interests?

ServBot (Level 11)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts