Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: PS2 Power Cord

  1. #1
    I can't change my avatar. Custom rank graphic
    Porksta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    2,755
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    YaoIsGod

    Default PS2 Power Cord

    On the PS2 console it states that it uses a 120V power source. All the cords I can ever find are labeled as 125V. Even the power cord I have been using is 125V. Will this extra 5V mess up the console, or are the cords supposed to be of the 125 variety?
    Like free stuff? I have earned hundreds of dollars in free Amazon gift cards through Swagbucks. Check it out here! Earn 3000 points and I will give you FREE shipping the next time you buy from me!
    http://www.swagbucks.com/refer/Porksta

  2. #2
    Great Puma (Level 12) jb143's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    4,240
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    5
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    66
    Thanked in
    59 Posts

    Default

    US power fluctuates much more than 5V.

    110V, 120V, 125V...in most cases, all theses mean the same thing; that you plug it into a standard electrical receptacle.
    "Game programmers are generally lazy individuals. That's right. It's true. Don't let anyone tell you otherwise. Since the dawn of computer games, game programmers have looked for shortcuts to coolness." Kurt Arnlund - Game programmer for Activision, Accolade...

  3. #3
    Cherry (Level 1) Shulamana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    224
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Besides, that just means that the cord is rated for 125v, which means anything under that will be just fine. The number on the cord doesn't mean exactly 125v is getting pushed through from the wall.

  4. #4
    I can't change my avatar. Custom rank graphic
    Porksta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    2,755
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    YaoIsGod

    Default

    Roger that, thanks guys.
    Like free stuff? I have earned hundreds of dollars in free Amazon gift cards through Swagbucks. Check it out here! Earn 3000 points and I will give you FREE shipping the next time you buy from me!
    http://www.swagbucks.com/refer/Porksta

  5. #5
    Pretzel (Level 4) APE992's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Chico, CA
    Posts
    999
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    APE992

    Default

    The higher the voltage=the more current that can be carried on thinner wires. Generally speaking.

    I couldn't tell you the gauge difference would be for a few volts given the PS2 doesn't even top more than an amp or two.
    I fix things. You name it, I'll work on it. Want something modded? Recapped?

Similar Threads

  1. CD-i Power Cord
    By Genjackson in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-12-2012, 02:41 PM
  2. What does a PS3 Power Cord Look Like?
    By WesternNYCollector in forum Modern Gaming
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-05-2011, 09:09 AM
  3. nes power cord not working help!!
    By iluvmarionluigi in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11-21-2009, 11:41 PM
  4. Anyone have a 3 in 1 Genesis/CD/32X power cord?
    By camarotuner in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-05-2007, 07:50 PM
  5. Phillips CD-i Power Cord
    By ARCZero in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-26-2003, 07:43 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •