Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    SoulBlazer07

Default Favorite Strategy-Tactics Game?

Have'nt seen anything on this yet.....

Here' is a genre that is hard to pin down exactly as to WHAT kind of game that it is. It combines a strategy game with elements that you may see in a fighting game, or a RPG, or some other type of game. A relitivily recent invention in video gaming, compared to many other types out there, the earilest US releases I think that could be called such would be Conflict and Shining Force. And yet, this is one of my all time favorite type of games.

So which ones are your personal favorite?

In no order, I would have to say mine are:

Arc the Lad Collection (PSX) -- It took forever for WD to get this out the door, but I was hooked the moment I started playing. Good stories, nice music, and well paced battles with optional stuff a plenty to do. The third is my personal favorite, with the trademark WD humor and losing the depressing feel of the first two.
    Shining Force series (multipule) -- can't go wrong with these games -- weak plots but fun gameplay action.
    Final Fantasy Tactics (PSX) -- the classic of the genre. Wonderfull things all around, save the graphics and the depressing ending. Can't wait for the GBA one!
    Front Mission 3 (PSX) -- Oh, if only Square had brought the others over here! At least the first one has had the ROM translated. One of my all time favorite PlayStation games. Good story, good music, and great mech smashing fun!
    Vanguard Bandits (PSX) -- Once again, WD has good taste in which games to bring over. Fun story and charcters with trademark WD humor and five different story lines to work on, keeping you busy for a while.
    Vandal Hearts 1 and 2 (PSX) -- Konami can't do any wrong. One is kind of dated, but two is unqiue in how opposing units move at the same time and is a VERY long game.
    "Four o'clock and all is well.....wish I was in bed, Sir."