Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Help! JVC X'eye lacking DIN output

  1. #1
    Insert Coin (Level 0) driph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nv
    Posts
    14
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Help! JVC X'eye lacking DIN output

    Spent this morning reading through about 6 years worth of X'Eye-related posts... didn't find an answer to my question, but I sure did learn a lot about the X'Eye! :]


    I've got a JVC X'Eye that I'm preparing to tear down and restore (doesn't load catridges at all, sits on "checking disc" forever with CDs), but I need to find out one little detail to determine if it's worth it..

    The particular model I have is one of the revisions without the Genesis/32X DIN output socket. The indentation where it would go is in the case, but it's just blank plastic.

    Has anyone added a Genesis/32X DIN to a JVC X'Eye? Is it even possible, or were there different board revisions as well?


    Related, has the reasoning behind the 3 different X'Eye output revisions (RCA, DIN, RCA+DIN) ever been discovered? Do we know the order the revisions were produced, or details on model number variations per revision?
    Chris

  2. #2
    Pretzel (Level 4) APE992's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Chico, CA
    Posts
    999
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    APE992

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by driph View Post
    Related, has the reasoning behind the 3 different X'Eye output revisions (RCA, DIN, RCA+DIN) ever been discovered? Do we know the order the revisions were produced, or details on model number variations per revision?
    It is obviously cost reduction measures. If you have discrete outputs you don't need the DIN connector at all which is a part produced in lesser quantities.

    The checking CD bit is probably due to a bad lid sensor as they seem to go bad by looking at them. You could add the connector but you'd have to get one from a donor console and add in a whole slew of missing components. This isn't something I'd remotely call easy or simple.
    I fix things. You name it, I'll work on it. Want something modded? Recapped?

  3. #3
    Pac-Man (Level 10) theclaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,213
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post
    Xbox LIVE
    theclaw135
    PSN
    Eonclaw

    Default

    No DIN breaks support for RGB, and consequently any external devices requiring it. Such as 32X or some video transcoders.

    Yeah not too important in the US for most people. About all it offers unique.
    Last edited by theclaw; 11-20-2012 at 09:51 PM.
    Lum fan.

  4. #4
    Insert Coin (Level 0) driph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nv
    Posts
    14
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by APE992 View Post
    It is obviously cost reduction measures. If you have discrete outputs you don't need the DIN connector at all which is a part produced in lesser quantities.

    The checking CD bit is probably due to a bad lid sensor as they seem to go bad by looking at them. You could add the connector but you'd have to get one from a donor console and add in a whole slew of missing components. This isn't something I'd remotely call easy or simple.

    No DIN, no 32X! :[

    Lid sensor appears fine, it acknowledges the disc but just doesn't get anywhere trying to read it. I'm guessing a laser issue, gonna swap one out of my Saturn to test, and if that works alright I'll grab a new one.
    Chris

Similar Threads

  1. Does the Pc engine DUO output RGB?
    By BricatSegaFan in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 04-25-2015, 12:35 AM
  2. Magnavox CD-i A/V Output
    By ProjectCamaro in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-28-2015, 11:46 AM
  3. TI-99/4a and component output
    By missyrelm in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-16-2007, 11:39 AM
  4. A/V output mod for a top loader?
    By 64squares in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-20-2004, 12:43 PM
  5. TurboGrafx 16 RCA Output
    By mr_robot in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-07-2004, 02:26 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •