Banned

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    PSN
    needler420

Default Needp advice and help with changing batteries in games

I'm about to purchase everything ill need on amazon. Batteries are pretty cheap on there a 5 pack is about $2 dollars vs in store retail price it would be even more for one battery.

I'm going to go with the most basic cheapest 20watt soldering iron which is like $7 bucks on amazon. For the time being that's all I need. If i get into bigger projects in the future ill consider a newer iron.

Now I know this is probably the most asked about topic when it comes to video game repairs.

I'm most likely going to be soldering directly to the battery as battery tabs are more expensive then the battery. Not to mention I plan to help fund my hobby If i can offer my services.

Bascially what I'm getting at is what is the safest way to go about this. What kind of protection should I use etc. This is my first time using a soldering iron so I'm not going to do my very first solder to the battery. I will practice test a few things first.

Being as I'm a noob with a iron I'm going to assume the battery will explode and was just wondering what kind of protection will I need?

Bascially what I want is not for people to tell me I shouldn't do this but to tell me advice on how not to hurt myself nor damage anything. I have no clue how big the explosion can be etc. How bad can the shrapnel be?

I'm thinking about doing this outside.

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    62 Posts

I would advise against soldering directly to the battery, especially if you are new to soldering. It takes a lot of heat transfer to do so. In production, they aren't generally soldered anyways, they are spot welded.