Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Should I open up my Turboduo now?

  1. #1
    Pac-Man (Level 10) VACRMH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,959
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    RottenToTheGore
    PSN
    TheSuperSadist

    Default Should I open up my Turboduo now?

    A few years ago my duo started to get the famous CD Audio problem. I'm in the process of talking to a friend about having him replace the caps, but I've heard that the old ones can start leaking after time.

    Should I at least open it up for now and see if they have leaked? Is there anything I can do if it has? Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Oobgarm
    Hello VACRMH, you have just received 666 Meseta from Oobgarm.
    The following comment was made: HAIL SATAN

  2. #2
    Banned
    IHatedSega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    635
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Yeah open it up, and see if theyre leaking, get him to go there and fix it as soon as possible.

  3. #3
    Pac-Man (Level 10) FABombjoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lansing, MI
    Posts
    2,145
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    They have already leaked, no inspection required. Unfortunately at this point in time every non-R Duo and Express needs service.
    Console5.com - Console parts, kits, games and more. [shop] [wiki] [RSS] [f] [t]

  4. #4
    Pac-Man (Level 10) VACRMH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,959
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    RottenToTheGore
    PSN
    TheSuperSadist

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by FABombjoy View Post
    They have already leaked, no inspection required. Unfortunately at this point in time every non-R Duo and Express needs service.
    Bah. Is there anything I can do now? So that it doesn't corrode anything?
    Quote Originally Posted by Oobgarm
    Hello VACRMH, you have just received 666 Meseta from Oobgarm.
    The following comment was made: HAIL SATAN

  5. #5
    Alex (Level 15) Custom rank graphic
    Gameguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Richmond Hill, Ontario (Canada)
    Posts
    7,595
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    48
    Thanked in
    42 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by VACRMH View Post
    Bah. Is there anything I can do now? So that it doesn't corrode anything?
    Remove the old capacitors, clean the board from any leaked material, and install new capacitors. That's about it.

  6. #6
    Pac-Man (Level 10) VACRMH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,959
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    RottenToTheGore
    PSN
    TheSuperSadist

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gameguy View Post
    Remove the old capacitors, clean the board from any leaked material, and install new capacitors. That's about it.
    Right. I'm trying to see if a friend will do the removal and installation of the new ones. But should I open it up now just to clean anything that's leaked? Can I just wipe it off with a paper towel?

    I just want to do something now before I get someone to fix it, to prevent any (or any more) damage.
    Quote Originally Posted by Oobgarm
    Hello VACRMH, you have just received 666 Meseta from Oobgarm.
    The following comment was made: HAIL SATAN

  7. #7
    Pac-Man (Level 10) FABombjoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lansing, MI
    Posts
    2,145
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    You can't really clean it properly until all of the old caps are removed. The PCB should also be fully washed before the new caps are installed.
    Console5.com - Console parts, kits, games and more. [shop] [wiki] [RSS] [f] [t]

  8. #8
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Norwalk, CT
    Posts
    140
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Based purely on my own personal experience, I wouldn't worry about cap leakage, but they are certainly dead. It isn't very difficult to open it up and check (with the right security bit). I also didn't find it hugely difficult to replace those two capacitors, though I was taken aback by how crazy small that stuff is compared to what I expected from those instructional photos.

Similar Threads

  1. WTB: TurboDuo
    By hindsr1976 in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-13-2014, 10:15 PM
  2. MAG Open Beta is... Open! - Thoughts?
    By NayusDante in forum Modern Gaming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-06-2010, 05:11 PM
  3. WTB - US TurboDuo!
    By BlackandBlue in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-25-2009, 10:49 PM
  4. Sealed Astal for The Saturn: to Open, or Not to Open?
    By Kyle15 in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-24-2009, 02:47 PM
  5. Looking for a TurboDuo
    By The Sage of Sega in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-14-2005, 06:36 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •