Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Famicom question..can you hook it up with av cables?

     
  1. #1
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    16
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Famicom question..can you hook it up with av cables?

    Hello , I want to hook up my Nintendo Famicom with the AV cables that are attached to it (black and red cables). When I connect it to my crt tv the image looks kinda dark. I have connected it with the NES rf switch and it looks ok but I was wondering if there was a way to hook it up with the AV cables that are on the famicom for a better clearer picture. Are the AV cables that are attached to the famicom just for Japanese tv's? Thanks

  2. #2
    ServBot (Level 11) kedawa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    3,429
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    NTSC is NTSC.
    It won't look any better on a Japanese set.

  3.  
  4. #3
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    16
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I forgot to mention my tv has a yellow and white AV inputs while the Famicoms AV cables are red and black.

  5. #4
    ServBot (Level 11) kedawa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    3,429
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Composite is composite. It doesn't matter.
    The NES uses red and yellow instead of white and yellow.
    Maybe they're colour blind.

  6.  
  7. #5
    Bell (Level 8)
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1,618
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Do you mean an AV modded original Famicom (red and white with attached controllers) or the official AV Famicom (that looks like the top-loader NES, including removable controllers). For the former, don't know. For the latter, it uses the same AV cable as the SNES, N64 and GameCube.

    As to NTSC-U vs NTSC-J, I've heard the Japanese variant of NTSC has a different "black" value and that is pretty much it.

  8. #6
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    16
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I have the famicom with the attached controllers. Are the AV cables that are attached to it for another device or to hook it up to a tv?

  9.  
  10. #7
    Pac-Man (Level 10) Custom rank graphic
    XYXZYZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    1986
    Posts
    2,606
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Where did you get this Famicom? Unless there was some official derivative I don't know about, this sounds like a botched mod job. Open it up and see if there's any sloppy soldering or something like that.

    I did an AV mod for an Atari VCS and the picture was too dark despite using the same components listed in the circuit diagram. I wound up replacing the resistors with potentiometers that I could tweak until I got a good picture. When I tried that same console on another TV, the picture was bad again. (But still fine on the former TV)

  11. #8
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    16
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by XYXZYZ View Post
    Where did you get this Famicom? Unless there was some official derivative I don't know about, this sounds like a botched mod job. Open it up and see if there's any sloppy soldering or something like that.

    I did an AV mod for an Atari VCS and the picture was too dark despite using the same components listed in the circuit diagram. I wound up replacing the resistors with potentiometers that I could tweak until I got a good picture. When I tried that same console on another TV, the picture was bad again. (But still fine on the former TV)
    I got this Famicom like 15 years ago at a flea market for $10. I played Super Mario Bros for for maybe 2 minutes and kept it on my shelf ever since. It didnt know my Famicom was modded and assumed they all had av cables connected to them similar to the way the controllers are connected. I opened it and the job looks ok...but then again I dont really know to much about soldering or fixing electronics. Im going to try and find someone that can fix it for me. Thanks XYXZYZ for the help.

  12.  
  13. #9
    Strawberry (Level 2) Custom rank graphic
    Drixxel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    452
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    jesse977, are you sure this is a Famicom you're dealing with? The red and black RCA cables that you say are hardwired to the system make this out to be something else. If you're able to share a photo of the console and the AV cables, that may be a big help towards figuring out this situation.

    Does your console look like the attached image?

    Name:  133586619_nintendo-fc-famicom-console-system-boxed-import-japan-.jpg
Views: 614
Size:  8.1 KB

  14. #10
    Don't do it...or,do. (shrugs) Custom rank graphic
    Frankie_Says_Relax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    On permanent vacation from this bullshit.
    Posts
    7,824
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    FlyingBurrito76
    PSN
    FlyingBurrito76

    Default

    Might be an old clone.

    I own (and treasure) a pre-NOAC era "Famiclone" that has standard AV output (mono audio, just like NES) that I use for my Famicom disc system, I SWEAR you wouldn't be able to tell the difference between it and the real deal if it didn't say "Video Game" on the front panel instead of "Family Computer". Even has the expansion port for keyboard/Famicom 3D glasses.

    Last edited by Frankie_Says_Relax; 02-23-2013 at 09:44 AM.
    "And the book says: 'We may be through with the past, but the past ain't through with us.'"


  15.  
  16. #11
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    16
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Here are some pics of my Famicom




    Last edited by jesse977; 02-23-2013 at 02:30 PM.

  17. #12
    Peach (Level 3)
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    657
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I could be wrong, but it looks like a stereo mod to me. The black should correspond with the white AV jack. But that doesn't make any sense because there's still the RF jack there. When you said the screen was dark, could you actually see any of the picture at all? If so, I'm at a loss. If not, it just might be a weird stereo mod.

  18.  
  19. #13
    Cherry (Level 1) Jack_Burton_BYOAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    279
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by o.pwuaioc View Post
    I could be wrong, but it looks like a stereo mod to me. The black should correspond with the white AV jack. But that doesn't make any sense because there's still the RF jack there. When you said the screen was dark, could you actually see any of the picture at all? If so, I'm at a loss. If not, it just might be a weird stereo mod.
    That seems easy enough to test.

    OP, just plug both cables into the audio inputs on your tv and see if anything comes out.

  20. #14
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    16
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    When i hook it up with the av cables you can see the image and play without any problems. The image just looks way darker than normal and I could not make it brighter with the tv's settings. I hooked it up to 3 tv's and the image looks dark and the colors are a bit off.
    Last edited by jesse977; 02-23-2013 at 06:02 PM.

  21.  
  22. #15
    Cherry (Level 1) Jack_Burton_BYOAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    279
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I think you might be getting a weak connection. Open the system up and see if the cables are securely soldered in place.

  23. #16
    Cherry (Level 1) Pikkon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    The Sunshine State
    Posts
    248
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Reason the picture is darker is because who ever modded the fami used some low value resisters.

Similar Threads

  1. What AV or RF Cables can I use to hook up a Sega Saturn to the TV?
    By garagesaleking!! in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-29-2009, 09:47 PM
  2. Can I hook up a Famicom with NES parts?
    By XYXZYZ in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-23-2008, 09:29 PM
  3. How to hook up a Famicom?
    By Gapporin in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 09-07-2005, 11:39 AM
  4. How to hook up a Famicom?
    By Gapporin in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-26-2005, 12:31 PM
  5. Sega CD, 32X, gen hook up question
    By Kevin Listwan in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-20-2003, 09:23 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •