Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Jaguar went poof (literally)

  1. #1
    Great Puma (Level 12) Gamereviewgod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toledo, Ohio and likely writing a review.
    Posts
    4,824
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Gamereviewgod
    PSN
    Gamereviewentity
    3DS Friend
    3136-6571-2996

    Default Jaguar went poof (literally)

    Moved my Jaguar to a different set-up today. When I plugged it in to test, it sizzled and popped while smoking... and I realized I had the wrong AC adapter. Super stupid mistake that I'm clearly about to pay for in some way. I'm going to be under the hopeful assumption that I could replace the AC port easily and get it back up and running? Maybe? There are no scorch marks. Inside of the board looks great. Everything looks fine.

    If that's the case, where do I look for a part like that?
    Last edited by Gamereviewgod; 04-13-2013 at 07:00 PM.

  2. #2
    Cherry (Level 1) raylydiard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    wales united kingdom
    Posts
    387
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    raymondlyd
    PSN
    soniccd

    Default

    VOLTAGE REG is gone i am not sure as i dont own one anymore i would have helped i am sure a atari jaguar owner could help you.

  3. #3
    Strawberry (Level 2) bust3dstr8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Boston,MA USA
    Posts
    442
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Clowns Suck

    Clowns Suck

  4. #4
    Cherry (Level 1) raylydiard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    wales united kingdom
    Posts
    387
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    raymondlyd
    PSN
    soniccd

    Default

    cool if i ever have a atari jaguar again and theres no power that would fix it thanks.

  5. #5
    Great Puma (Level 12) Gamereviewgod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toledo, Ohio and likely writing a review.
    Posts
    4,824
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Gamereviewgod
    PSN
    Gamereviewentity
    3DS Friend
    3136-6571-2996

    Default

    Thanks for the link. Two questions: One, where is this on the board? I see a handful of chips that look exactly alike. And second, wouldn't it look scorched or show some type of damage considering what happened?

    Thanks!

  6. #6
    Pretzel (Level 4) APE992's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Chico, CA
    Posts
    999
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    APE992

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gamereviewgod View Post
    Thanks for the link. Two questions: One, where is this on the board? I see a handful of chips that look exactly alike. And second, wouldn't it look scorched or show some type of damage considering what happened?

    Thanks!
    You'd have to crack it open to know where it is (unless someone has a convenient graphic) and it'd likely be near the power plug.

    Perhaps it will be scorched, perhaps it won't be. There are no rules for what a blown chip looks like. Replacing this isn't for anyone but advanced soldering types and if you're having trouble locating it I'd strongly urge you to find someone to do it for you. I'd offer but I don't want this to look like a conflict of interest.
    I fix things. You name it, I'll work on it. Want something modded? Recapped?

  7. #7
    Great Puma (Level 12) Gamereviewgod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toledo, Ohio and likely writing a review.
    Posts
    4,824
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Gamereviewgod
    PSN
    Gamereviewentity
    3DS Friend
    3136-6571-2996

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by APE992 View Post
    You'd have to crack it open to know where it is (unless someone has a convenient graphic) and it'd likely be near the power plug.

    Perhaps it will be scorched, perhaps it won't be. There are no rules for what a blown chip looks like. Replacing this isn't for anyone but advanced soldering types and if you're having trouble locating it I'd strongly urge you to find someone to do it for you. I'd offer but I don't want this to look like a conflict of interest.
    Yeah, this is probably beyond my basic capacitor fix soldering skills. I replaced the power jack just for the hell of it and it won't turn on at all. Whatever happened to it has killed it in its current form.

    Don't know what the conflict of interest would be, but I'm more than willing to send this out. Gotta assume it's cheaper to repair than the current $80-$100 price they're going for on eBay.

  8. #8
    Strawberry (Level 2) bust3dstr8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Boston,MA USA
    Posts
    442
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I wouldn't say replacing a SOIC package is advanced types only.....more like intermediate.

    If you have some good small side cutters and some rework flux, it shouldn't take much longer
    to replace than a DIP chip.


    Snip the pins at the chip body
    Remove the pins from the pads with an iron
    Clean the pads with wick
    Tack the new chip down at the corners
    Cover the pads and pins with rework flux
    Drag a tinned hoof tip over the pins or solder point to point with a conical
    Remove any bridges with more flux and wick

    If you have a hot air station you can zip past the first two steps
    Clowns Suck

    Clowns Suck

  9. #9
    Great Puma (Level 12) Gamereviewgod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toledo, Ohio and likely writing a review.
    Posts
    4,824
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Gamereviewgod
    PSN
    Gamereviewentity
    3DS Friend
    3136-6571-2996

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bust3dstr8 View Post
    I wouldn't say replacing a SOIC package is advanced types only.....more like intermediate.

    If you have some good small side cutters and some rework flux, it shouldn't take much longer
    to replace than a DIP chip.


    Snip the pins at the chip body
    Remove the pins from the pads with an iron
    Clean the pads with wick
    Tack the new chip down at the corners
    Cover the pads and pins with rework flux
    Drag a tinned hoof tip over the pins or solder point to point with a conical
    Remove any bridges with more flux and wick

    If you have a hot air station you can zip past the first two steps
    Hmm. That's actually not too bad, but it's a small space and I don't have the necessary tips. My soldering supplies are basic.

  10. #10
    Strawberry (Level 2) bust3dstr8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Boston,MA USA
    Posts
    442
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    SOIC is a fairly wide pitch, with enough flux you can probably solder it with almost any tip....just some might be easier than others.
    I usually use my general purpose 2mm chisel for SOIC and it works fine.
    Clowns Suck

    Clowns Suck

Similar Threads

  1. WTB: Literally *ANY* N64 Game
    By dbiersdorf in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 01-07-2009, 01:52 PM
  2. Toaster NES - Literally
    By CosmicMonkey in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 09-19-2008, 11:27 AM
  3. Something that is literally free...
    By Querjek in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-01-2003, 10:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •