Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Anyone know how to get this to work on CDX?

  1. #1
    Cherry (Level 1)
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    343
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Stringfellow78

    Default Anyone know how to get this to work on CDX?

    I have a Sega CDX and love it but I bought the Sega CD Terminator and didn't know that you can't use it on CDX. Does anyone here know how to get this and the other CD games that don't work on CDX to work? No I don't want to go buy another Sega CD and Genesis.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Pac-Man (Level 10) FABombjoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lansing, MI
    Posts
    2,145
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I have a CDX and have tried playing Terminator. I played for about 20 minutes and never had anything go wrong. If there is a genuine compatibilty problem, I'd like to know exactly what. Maybe it just bugs out at a certain part of the game.

  3. #3
    Cherry (Level 1)
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    343
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Stringfellow78

    Default

    I've read on numerous sites that there are a few Sega CD games that don't work on CDX. The two I can remember are Terminator and Jurrassic Park. When I try to play Terminator it freezes up every time but not always in the same spot.

  4. #4
    Pac-Man (Level 10) FABombjoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lansing, MI
    Posts
    2,145
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    That's totally bizarre. Either there are different revision CDXs, or I'm just lucky. I've played both games in mine & never had a problem with either. I may have to try again and see what happens.

  5. #5
    Cherry (Level 1)
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    343
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Stringfellow78

    Default

    Gee if yours works with those games you wanna trade? j/k Maybe you have yours set up in some different way or something. I just wish I knew how to fix this problem because I always liked both of thos games.

  6. #6
    Great Puma (Level 12) Bratwurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,450
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    10
    Thanked in
    8 Posts

    Default

    Try comparing serial numbers on the bottom.

  7. #7
    Cherry (Level 1)
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    343
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Stringfellow78

    Default

    my model # is MK-4121
    and my serial # is Y40081789

  8. #8
    Pac-Man (Level 10) FABombjoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lansing, MI
    Posts
    2,145
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Ok, I gave it another whirl and here's what happened:

    S/N Y40 032953, 6 button controller.

    Jurassic Park: This game bombs out the minute you try to move away from the first screen. I must have been thinking of something else when I said that I didn't have any problems.

    The Terminator: I played until I got to the city level, where the police helicopter keeps ramming into you to kill you (it frustrated me, and I stopped playing). I never had a problem with the game the entire time I played, probably a total of about 1/2 hour worth (I played a few times in a row, just to be sure).

    Has The Terminator crashed before or after that point for you? Any changes to the default difficulty/key settings? I played for a bit on the defaults, and then switched to easy and played for awhile.

  9. #9
    Cherry (Level 1)
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    343
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Stringfellow78

    Default

    It usually freezes during the first level but sometimes I can make it further. I have tried playing with numerous settings and it always freezes.

  10. #10
    Ladd Spencer (Level 17)
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    9,238
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Scooterb23

    Default

    Are you using a 6-button or a 3-button controller??

    I have a theory (maybe others have already noted this, but I've never read about it) that some Sega Genesis, and Sega CD games are incompatible with the 6-button controller. I have a CDX as well, and I have Jurassic Park, played it for quite a while, with a 3-button controller, and have never had a problem with it, it froze when I tried it with a 6-button though. I do not have the Terminator game, so I can't halp you there. Don't know if this helps...if not just ignore me...

    Model # - MK - 4121
    Serial # - Y40 087835
    gamesandgrub.blogspot.com - My blog about boardgames, and sometimes food.
    roomwithaviewmaster.tumblr.com - My blog about Viewmaster collecting

  11. #11
    Cherry (Level 1)
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    343
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Stringfellow78

    Default

    Hmm I'll be borrowing a 3 button controller from a friend since all I have is the 6 button controllers. I will keep you all up to date.

  12. #12
    Cherry (Level 1)
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    343
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Stringfellow78

    Default

    Ok here's the update. I borrowed two 3 button controllers and have had no luck with either one. Oh well back to the drawing board. :/

Similar Threads

  1. Does the PS3 work in your car??
    By Deadman in forum Modern Gaming
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 03-24-2010, 06:50 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •