Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: NES (frontloader) video interference issues - not RF related

  1. #1
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    13
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default NES (frontloader) video interference issues - not RF related

    Howdy folks,

    I just picked up a spare NES at a yard sale today. Just tested it out, and it works - took some doing to get it to actually boot a game, but I expected that as it probably needs a new 72 PIN.

    The issue i'm having is there is wavy interference in the picture - during both a/v and rf output, so it's not a case of it being a bad rf connection. Compared to the existing NES I had hooked up, which was crystal clear. I'm using an official NES adapter in both tests.

    Is there a fix for this or is the console fubared? I have a sinking feeling I know a possible cause - the dude was using some sketchy offbrand adapter to power it. It said the output is 10v but the NES clearly states 9v - although I've read the NES can tolerate between 7 to 12v. But I dunno.

    Anyone have any idea about this?

    Thanks!


    EDIT: Took the sucker apart and noticed a glob on the board underneath the shielding on the modulator unit (where the a/v and rf ports are) Is this evidence of a capacitor leaking or is it supposed to be there? I took a pic:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0091.jpg 
Views:	26 
Size:	75.8 KB 
ID:	6676
    Last edited by MoxManiac; 05-19-2013 at 07:27 PM.

  2. #2
    Pretzel (Level 4) Polygon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    865
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    PolygonGTC
    PSN
    PolygonGTC
    Steam
    BlastMode7

    Default

    I would say no. However, that doesn't mean you don't have leaky caps. I would inspect each cap and look for any bulging. I doubt it's your 72 pin connector. That's not something that would cause wavy lines. However, it's easy enough to swap the connectors between units to check.
    Atari: 2600, Jaguar
    Microsoft: XBox, XBox 360
    Nintendo: NES, GB, GBC, SNES, N64, GameCube, GBA SP, Wii, New 3DS, Wii U
    Sega: SMS, Genesis, Game Gear, Nomad, Sega CD, 32X, Saturn, Dreamcast
    Sony: PS1, PS2, PS3
    Wanted: 7800, Neo Geo CD

  3. #3
    Pear (Level 6) ApolloBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    1,219
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    That glob you see is just hot glue that was applied over the coils in the RF box to hold them in place. However, I would definitely suggest changing out the big 2200 uF filter cap in the RF box, it usually causes problems like that when it's on its way out.
    Quote Originally Posted by starsoldier1 View Post
    GUY WAS SUPPOSE TO PLAYABLE IN THE GAME
    My collection

  4. #4
    Insert Coin (Level 0) sonicfan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Appalachian Mountains,USA
    Posts
    28
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I have had this issue before in two different NES'es. The 2200UF electrolytic cap was the problem both times. Replaced them and they're back in business.

  5. #5
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    13
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Ah okay. I'll try replacing the capacitor then.

    Thanks guys!

  6. #6
    Reticulating Splines BetaWolf47's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Naples, FL
    Posts
    2,810
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Wait, the video output isn't supposed to be wavy like that? And all you need to do to fix it is replace the 2.2 mF capacitor on the video output? I've got to do that!
    Selling gaming accessories. Click

  7. #7
    Cherry (Level 1) raylydiard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    wales united kingdom
    Posts
    386
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    raymondlyd
    PSN
    soniccd

    Default

    All if not most nes consoles i worked on i had to replace the caps.
    in the rf box not a easy job but would make life easier with hot air tool.

  8. #8
    Pear (Level 6) ApolloBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    1,219
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by raylydiard View Post
    but would make life easier with hot air tool.
    That's a sure fire way to lift some traces.
    Quote Originally Posted by starsoldier1 View Post
    GUY WAS SUPPOSE TO PLAYABLE IN THE GAME
    My collection

Similar Threads

  1. Colecovision Video Interference Help (not power switch) Coleco
    By poppj in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-24-2015, 03:49 PM
  2. Mega Drive issues (6-button pad related?)
    By FoxNtd in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-16-2012, 02:56 PM
  3. Sega CD frontloader HELP ME
    By Drexel923 in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-17-2008, 01:33 PM
  4. Wii component video "interference"
    By SkiDragon in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-06-2008, 10:35 AM
  5. Dreamcast s-video interference
    By gumbyandpals in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-09-2007, 12:27 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •