Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: RGB to Component Video (YPbPr) Chip Now For Sale!!!!-For Turbografx/PCE/Genesis/SNES

  1. #1
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    63
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default RGB to Component Video (YPbPr) Chip Now For Sale!!!!-For Turbografx/PCE/Genesis/SNES

    Hey guys, turbokon here, I don't get on here much but I do stay active over at pcenginefx.com forum. I have been working on a rgb to component converter and just released it for sale.

    Finally a rgb to component video converter based on original design by pcenginefx's thesteve. Originally designed for all NEC turbografx and pc-engine systems, with three resistors, now works for all rgb enabled systems.

    Now works with the all rgb enabled systems with the addition of three resistors to rgb signals from system to rgb input on component video board. Resistor values depend on voltage of RGB signals coming in from system. Works with a genesis using 1K ohm resistors at RGB signals. More systems will be tested to determine the right resistors value.

    $32 shipped within US.

    Go to this website for ordering and payment processing:

    www.tg16pcemods.com

    This component video chip will only work on HDTV sets that accept 240P. *Check to make sure your HDTV supports 240P before ordering.

    I throw together a quick installation guide here:

    http://www.mediafire.com/?x7m3oxarr9p74x0

    Video:
    http://youtu.be/EeqmgNaq0-k

    Some pictures:




    Component Video installed in a Turbo Duo





    Installed in a turbografx-cd dock





    Installed in a pc-engine








    Installed in TE


    Video of Street Fighter II in component video:
    http://youtu.be/_CyxG7sBsdY

    Installed in a genni.


    More pictures of the component video board in action




    SNES
    IMG]http://i1125.photobucket.com/albums/l594/superkon316/pc-enginefx/null-92.jpg[/IMG]



    Last edited by turbokon; 11-21-2013 at 09:25 PM. Reason: Added pictures

  2. #2
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    63
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Added a video link if street fighter in action on component video.

  3. #3
    Great Puma (Level 12) c0ldb33r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,980
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Can you switch between composite and component after the mod?

  4. #4
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    63
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Yep, it still keeps the composite signal.

  5. #5
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    3
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Would I be able to do SCART RGB out with this? I have an RGB. (15Khz/31khz) monitor. Also, Do you happen to have an installation guide? I have a core grafx2/cdrom2
    Last edited by RGB_Gamer; 07-11-2013 at 05:45 PM.

  6. #6
    Great Puma (Level 12) c0ldb33r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,980
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Will it fit easily on a Coregrafx 2

  7. #7
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    63
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I believe you can if your monitor accept component video. I do have the install guide, it's the mediashare link on top.
    Last edited by turbokon; 07-11-2013 at 08:36 PM.

  8. #8
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    63
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by c0ldb33r View Post
    Will it fit easily on a Coregrafx 2
    Yes it can. I built it so that it can even fit in a TE or GT. See the updated pictures above where I installed it in a pc-engine and TE.
    Last edited by turbokon; 07-11-2013 at 08:37 PM.

  9. #9
    Ghostbuster
    Greg2600's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Soprano Land, NJ
    Posts
    3,816
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    5
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    45
    Thanked in
    40 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RGB_Gamer View Post
    Would I be able to do SCART RGB out with this? I have an RGB. (15Khz/31khz) monitor. Also, Do you happen to have an installation guide? I have a core grafx2/cdrom2
    I've seen implementations where the RF port is replaced with an 8-pin that fits the Sega Genesis SCART cable for example.
    The Paunch Stevenson Show free Internet podcast - www.paunchstevenson.com - DP FEEDBACK

  10. #10
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    3
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I wouldnt mind if my cdrom2 had a SNES style connector

  11. #11
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    63
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Greg2600 View Post
    I've seen implementations where the RF port is replaced with an 8-pin that fits the Sega Genesis SCART cable for example.
    I have done the same thing to several pce and tg16 where I installed a mini din 7 connecter and used a mini din 7 to component cable. I have also used a din 8 for a couple duo's to keep the stock look and made a custom cable for it.






  12. #12
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    63
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Now works for all rgb enabled systems with additional three resistors.

  13. #13
    Great Puma (Level 12) c0ldb33r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,980
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    If I pay extra can you include the required wiring and resistors?

  14. #14
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    63
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Sure, I can do that.

  15. #15
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    63
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Just installed this component board in a genni



  16. #16
    Great Puma (Level 12) c0ldb33r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,980
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I'd like this in my pce duo. Could I pay to have you install it and replace all the caps?

  17. #17
    DP's favorite trollbait Custom rank graphic
    Kitsune Sniper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Calexico, USA
    Posts
    13,853
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    FoxhackDN
    Steam
    Foxhack

    Default

    God DAMN that looks nice.
    Quote Originally Posted by Edmond Dantes View Post
    I can't tell if we're discussing My Little Pony or Neon Genesis Evangelion anymore.
    eBay Auctions / GameTZ profile / DP Feedback / Youtube / Twitter / RateYourMusic

  18. #18
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    63
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by c0ldb33r View Post
    I'd like this in my pce duo. Could I pay to have you install it and replace all the caps?
    Sure you bet. Check out my website for more details.

    www.tg16pcemods.com

  19. #19
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    63
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Confirmed that the component boards work with the SNES. More systems testing to come.



  20. #20
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    63
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    More pictures of the component video board in action

    Genesis




    SNES



Similar Threads

  1. Running Component Video From a Genesis 1/CD/32x
    By substantial_snake in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 07-15-2012, 02:22 AM
  2. Genesis and SNES sound chip strengths and weaknesses
    By Wraith Storm in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 74
    Last Post: 09-28-2011, 05:53 PM
  3. Genesis s-video on LCD problem / component to VGA?
    By Eternal Champion in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-07-2011, 05:03 PM
  4. Component Video on my SNES!!
    By erik in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-18-2008, 04:41 PM
  5. Help w/Genesis RGB/Component video mod.
    By NESWizard in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-21-2007, 12:35 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •