Thread: NES Game trouble

Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Unhappy NES Game trouble

Hello I'm retrodoctor I recently started playing retro games I opted for a retro duo over the original systems due to price. However my problem I have is some of my NES games (1943,Super Mario Bros, warriors and wizards and robo warrior) I bought them used from a game store Mario and 1943 work however between stages the game goes out and I loose sound and video for a few seconds. Wizards and warriors the same but gives out occasionally. I play other nes games fine like N.A.R.C and double dragon but those are giving me trouble is this caused by the game or system?

Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by Retrodoctor View Post
    Hello I'm retrodoctor I recently started playing retro games I opted for a retro duo over the original systems due to price. However my problem I have is some of my NES games (1943,Super Mario Bros, warriors and wizards and robo warrior) I bought them used from a game store Mario and 1943 work however between stages the game goes out and I loose sound and video for a few seconds. Wizards and warriors the same but gives out occasionally. I play other nes games fine like N.A.R.C and double dragon but those are giving me trouble is this caused by the game or system?
    More than likely it is the system causing the problem.. Did you make sure you clean your carts?

Also, I don't think original hardware costs that much. The retro duo is 41 dollars shipped on amazon.. I sold a NES side loader I refurb for 50 bucks shipped with zero yellowing complete with a controller, power, rf connector and SMB game.

Id just pay the 10 or 20 dollars more for a NES side loader with disabled lockout chip then you wont have any problems.

Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received