Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Rolling Screen on Atari 2600 "darth vader"

  1. #1
    Cherry (Level 1) Jack_Burton_BYOAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    279
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Rolling Screen on Atari 2600 "darth vader"

    I came across an Atari 2600 yesterday, and everything works on it except the screen rolls very quickly and constantly. I've tested it on multiple televisions, and replaced the computer<>tv switch with a phono>coax adapter. I've tried connecting it to a tv with a vertical hold adjustment. Little better, but still rollin'. I've checked the bottom of the console, and it's not a PAL unit, and all my games display in color.

    I figure the system is not properly outputting vertical sync. Does anyone know if there is a particular capacitor or transistor I can replace to try to fix the problem?

  2. #2
    ServBot (Level 11) tom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    USA & RUSSIA
    Posts
    3,681
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    I can't remember exactly, but open up the VCS and adjust the RF tuner (Is that the right term?)
    You have to use a hex key (Allen key) I think. It's somewhere in the VCS but it is fairly easy to find.

    But normally you use the vertical hold on the TV set to get a stable picture

  3. #3
    Banana (Level 7) Atarileaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,483
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I was going to recommend this as well but couldn't remember if it would affect the rolling issue or not. Worth a shot though.

  4. #4
    Alex (Level 15) Custom rank graphic
    Gameguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Richmond Hill, Ontario (Canada)
    Posts
    7,454
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    44
    Thanked in
    38 Posts

    Default

    What channel is it set to? I'm pretty sure the Atari 2600 can be set to channel 2 or 3, it's not just 3 or 4 like most other consoles. It's been awhile since I've looked at mine so I'm not 100% sure though.

  5. #5
    Cherry (Level 1) Jack_Burton_BYOAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    279
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I tried adjusting the two places on the board with adjustments. One is the tuner and the other is the TIA, I think. The tuner didn't do anything, and the TIA just changed the color of the screen. The screen rolling problem is still there.

    I've inspected the board for leaking capacitors or weak solder points, but I don't see anything.

    And I've made sure the tv is on the right channel.

  6. #6
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    1
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jack_Burton_BYOAC View Post
    I tried adjusting the two places on the board with adjustments. One is the tuner and the other is the TIA, I think. The tuner didn't do anything, and the TIA just changed the color of the screen. The screen rolling problem is still there.

    I've inspected the board for leaking capacitors or weak solder points, but I don't see anything.

    And I've made sure the tv is on the right channel.
    Did you ever figure this out (curious if it is the TIA chip). I am having the exact same issue:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	83aKAAHl.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	30.6 KB 
ID:	7375

Similar Threads

  1. ATARI 2600 "Darth Vader" - Complete 100% REBUILT Set-up w 50 games!
    By atari2atari in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-12-2012, 05:22 PM
  2. Boxed Atari 2600 "Darth Vader" system - nice!
    By Darth Vader in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-31-2011, 09:53 PM
  3. For Sale: Atari 2600 "Darth Vader" w/ 2 joysticks
    By The Insomniac in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-25-2004, 11:24 AM
  4. Atari 2600 "Darth Vader"
    By slip81 in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-20-2004, 02:34 PM
  5. Atari 2600 "Darth Vader" in box *SOLD*
    By Keir in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-14-2003, 07:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •