Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Simcity 3000 vs 2000... what's different,exactly?

  1. #1
    ServBot (Level 11) Edmond Dantes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    3,476
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    15
    Thanked in
    15 Posts

    Default Simcity 3000 vs 2000... what's different,exactly?

    Just got Simcity 3000 Unlimited at Goodwill. And I don't even see what's that different between it and 2000, except for minor changes to how power lines work.

    Also, does Simcity 3000 Unlimited (or even normal 3000--I got both, yes) have DRM? Cuz I noticed it installed something called MS Access 97 and I wanna make sure my computer isn't gonna eat me or anything.

  2. #2
    Kirby (Level 13) Tanooki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    5,957
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    Try making a bridge or a tunnel and not get a growing urge to punch the screen.

    In 2000 you just went to the edge of water and it prompted you to build it, that's it. In 3000 bridges and tunnels are handled the same way. It will want to make sure all terrain is entirely even. It will also want to destroy many squares around the area of where the bridge/tunnel hits the edge on both sides and it will consistently and obtusely bitch it won't build until it is right, even if it looks like it. Eventually you'll find having to wipe out good space all around the bridge in particular just to get it to break ground losing good stuff in the process that doesn't even need removing. 3000 took the ease of building structures out of it like 2000 had and made it very picky and exacting to a grating degree. I bought 3000 back when it was pretty new and tried hard to like it due to the cash I sunk into it, but it just pissed me off badly. Also you'll find that the city heads of different stuff, education, garbage, etc are a pushy and whiny lot, especially the garbage gets pretty out of control that in SC4 they backed those off a bit from being so annoying and time consuming.

    It's not a bad game, but it will probably grate on you eventually. I have all the old SC main games but that currently (1, 2K and 4.)

    MS Access is a database program from Microsoft that's part of office, and I have no idea why it would shove that on there but there shouldn't be any DRM.

  3. #3
    Lvl 99 Custom rank graphic
    Daria's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    5,214
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    2 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Nymphomatic

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Edmond Dantes View Post
    Cuz I noticed it installed something called MS Access 97
    ...It installed database software?

  4. #4
    ServBot (Level 11) Edmond Dantes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    3,476
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    15
    Thanked in
    15 Posts

    Default

    I think I ran across something that said one of its modeling programs or whatever is modeled on MS Access or some crap like that. I just recall it mentioning it during the install and I'm like "Wait, what is that?" And then seeing that yeah, its still there--according to CCleaner and other registry programs, its now on my Add/Remove Programs list, so I can uninstall it if I want.

  5. #5
    ServeBot (Lɘvel 11) RP2A03's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    59 6F 75 72 20 48 44 44 20 61 64 64 69 6E 67 20 65 6D 62 61 72 72 61 73 73 69 6E 67 20 64 61 74 61
    Posts
    3,548
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    SimCity 3000 doesn't have that sexy voice that says "reticulating splines"; and for that reason it shall be forever inferior to SimCity 2000.
    Mario says "... if you do drugs, you go to hell before you die."

  6. #6
    Kirby (Level 13) Tanooki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    5,957
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    Just doesn't do it for ya unless you have the mystery lady reticulate your spline eh?

  7. #7
    ServBot (Level 11) Slate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    3,612
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    33
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    The water pipe system's a bit different in SC3K; just put a main pipe nearby where the water is to go and you don't need to connect it to other underground pipes like is necessary in SC2K.

    - Austin

Similar Threads

  1. WTT: PSP-3000 for PSP-2000
    By Gamereviewgod in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-10-2012, 05:38 PM
  2. PSP 2000 Vs. 3000
    By maxlords in forum Modern Gaming
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-14-2009, 04:33 PM
  3. PSP 2000 Discontinued...PSP 3000 moves in..
    By zektor in forum Modern Gaming
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 10-12-2008, 01:39 PM
  4. There was a SimCity TCG?
    By Jorpho in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-07-2006, 02:41 PM
  5. Willing to pay $2000-$3000 for a Dreamcast collection
    By Atari7800 in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-19-2003, 02:58 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •