Thread: a hypothetical cpu (z80) replacment

Great Puma (Level 12) Niku-Sama's Avatar
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    59 Posts

Default a hypothetical cpu (z80) replacment

ok so I have been eyeballing MVS single slot PCBs on ebay for a while and I am tempted to get a bare board with some problem, cheap, and take a whack at fixing it. obviously trying to stay away from acid damaged boards.

there on on the ebays, its a little much for my tastes but its an early single slot board I've been looking for with controller ports, memory card expansion slot and headphone out already on board for roughly $40. it says something about a z80 error and its non op. could be a bad cpu, possibly bad ram. theres no acid damage, or apparent acid damage in the pics and they are clear pics.

heres the hypothetical...

I have a master system with a cracked PCB and more broken traces that I can count. if I flex the board the right way I can get it working and aside from the cracks its a working board but theres no way I can track down all of the broken traces on both sides od the pcb and get it working with out some tom foolery, at this point its a donor board for a non working system but would it be possible to take the z80 off of the master system and use it as a replacement for the MVS?
    basically are they pin compatible?

ServBot (Level 11) Custom rank graphic
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    1 Post
    Xbox LIVE
    Psygnosis8
    PSN
    Psygnosis8
    Steam
    Psygnosis8

Quote Originally Posted by Niku-Sama View Post
    ok so I have been eyeballing MVS single slot PCBs on ebay for a while and I am tempted to get a bare board with some problem, cheap, and take a whack at fixing it. obviously trying to stay away from acid damaged boards.