Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: My NES has bugged graphics... Pls Help !!!

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    2
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default My NES has bugged graphics... Pls Help !!!

    Hey all,

    Long story short, I've tried to resurrect my old NES (original side loader). I've done some extensive cleaning on both console and games, replaced the 72 pin connector, etc. but have run into a common problem between games. The sprites (or character layers) are reversed and half of it lags when playing the game... everything else is fine which is why i'm reluctant to give up and fork out $150 for a new system. Could it be a faulty PPU? I have uploaded some photos to my photobucket, please see links below.

    Title Screen


    Playing 1


    Playing 2


    Any help appreciated !!

    Thanks,
    TheViruxX

  2. #2
    ServBot (Level 11) Niku-Sama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Deadford, OR
    Posts
    3,759
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    36
    Thanked in
    32 Posts

    Default

    Could be a faulty ppu or ram. My money would be on ram. But it's hard to say with out swapping ICs.

    A new nes shouldn't cost you $150 bucks though

  3. #3
    Kirby (Level 13) Tanooki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    5,957
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2
    Thanked in
    2 Posts

    Default

    Well he did say new. If you want to take new literally, it could be that much depending on which one you find and how many see it/fight over it in the end.

  4. #4
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    2
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Niku-Sama View Post
    Could be a faulty ppu or ram. My money would be on ram. But it's hard to say with out swapping ICs.

    A new nes shouldn't cost you $150 bucks though
    They are at a local GameTrader store... plus i'm in Canada and our dollar isn't the best these days
    Do you know where i could get some spare IC's ?? I do have a decent solder gun for chips.

    Thanks !

  5. #5
    ServBot (Level 11) Niku-Sama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Deadford, OR
    Posts
    3,759
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    36
    Thanked in
    32 Posts

    Default

    These are clone chips from umc. I guess they were notorious for making their own nes compatible cpu/ppu and selling them to make hardware clone systems

    http://pages.ebay.com/link/?nav=item...733454&alt=web

    Your not upgrading from a PAL system so you shouldn't need to install the crystals.
    I'd try changing ram first though. Console5 has a wiki and should have part numbers to find the ram on mouser or digikey. I think those both ship to Canada

Similar Threads

  1. WTB : PCI Graphics Card
    By jonjandran in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-09-2007, 10:28 AM
  2. Unbeatable bugged console games.
    By Slimedog in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 79
    Last Post: 02-22-2006, 01:48 PM
  3. 1 thing that always bugged me (terranigma)
    By Richter Belmount in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-16-2004, 02:29 PM
  4. which has better graphics?
    By bobdrywalls in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-12-2003, 09:24 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •