Thread: Xenogears: Awesome, or Awesome? also questions

ServBot (Level 11) Edmond Dantes's Avatar
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    31 Posts

Default Xenogears: Awesome, or Awesome? also questions

So I just started playing Xenogears again for the first time in a decade and even if I hadn't forgotten a lot of things, I seem to be finding stuff I never noticed before.

Jumping into the well in Lahan gets you items.

Jumping into the trees on the path to Citan's place can cause stuff to happen... one tree holds a nest which you can steal an egg from, but its mom comes after you (I opted to give the egg back, I'm not sure what happens if you keep it or what use it has), another tree has a spider you can pick up (again, not sure what to do with this).

I got a Mermaid Tear in the bar, and won the RPS Badge (surprisingly without much hassle--I just trusted my sixth sense). And I have no idea what these items are for.

So then Fei Fong Shinji decides he must indeed run away and meets Lisa Hayes in the forest (how fitting that this game began with the SDF-1 being destroyed) and... okay, what is with all the Hobgobs in the forest that you can chase around? Is there any point to fighting them all? I did so and nothing seemed to come of it.

And in Dazil I somehow saw a cutscene I never saw before where Fei sees and comments on a dig site.

So yeah, what are the Mermaid Tear and RPS Badge for? And does anything come of the Spider and the bird's egg?

And on non-game-related-question, should I pick up the Xenosaga games? How do they stack up?

Also, I think I might pick up Xenoblade Chronicles, but the DS version apparently only works on certain models. So is the Wii version better?

Thanks in advance.

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    2 Posts