Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 26 to 33 of 33

Thread: Sharp NES freezing up

  1. #26
    Great Puma (Level 12) Bratwurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,414
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    4
    Thanked in
    4 Posts

    Default

    Any dual wipe socket will do and it is what I recommend. Avoid machine pin sockets. Yes they're considered 'military grade' components and are touted often as being more reliable but I feel that philosophy ignores real world application. The Sharp TV board's not getting subjected to the high vibration environment of an armored personnel carrier.

    The legs of the NES CPU and PPU are flat, which a dual wipe applies more contact to than a machine pin and its round holes. Dual wipes have a higher success rate of remove/insertion cycles, plus machine pin sockets are brutally difficult to desolder if you ever wish to remove them.

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to Bratwurst For This Useful Post:

    Cornelius (07-11-2018)

  3. #27
    ServBot (Level 11) Custom rank graphic
    Cornelius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Wrong Place, Wrong Time
    Posts
    3,711
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    44
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    18
    Thanked in
    17 Posts

    Default

    Great info, I've now read about and have some understanding of dual vs single wipe sockets. I can't find anywhere that Mouser specifies 'dual wipe', but from a recommendation/product sheet I found elsewhere I settled on these sockets: https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail...u%2fvuSQ%3d%3d

    And in the cart, the thing says dual wipe, but nowhere on the item page itself. Weird.

    Now, should I order sockets for the other ICs? Adds about $8.


    Just listing what I might need here. Plan to socket the donor board, but maybe shouldn't bother?:
    4 40pin 0.6"
    10 16pin 0.3"
    4 24pin 0.3"
    50v 2.2uF BP cap

  4. #28
    Great Puma (Level 12) Bratwurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,414
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    4
    Thanked in
    4 Posts

    Default

    I wouldn't go to the trouble of socketing absolutely everything except as a last resort, some things like the audio amp chips aren't going to cause the system to lock up, just wouldn't output sound. At least I wouldn't think they could freeze the NES.

    Cannot see the benefit of socketing a capacitor if you've already changed it out.

  5. #29
    ServBot (Level 11) Custom rank graphic
    Cornelius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Wrong Place, Wrong Time
    Posts
    3,711
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    44
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    18
    Thanked in
    17 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bratwurst View Post
    I wouldn't go to the trouble of socketing absolutely everything except as a last resort, some things like the audio amp chips aren't going to cause the system to lock up, just wouldn't output sound. At least I wouldn't think they could freeze the NES.

    Cannot see the benefit of socketing a capacitor if you've already changed it out.
    Hah! Yeah, the cap is on there just because I need to order one, no plans to socket or anything. My initial order didn't include that bipolar cap because I just ordered based on a list for a regular NES I saw somewhere... never thought the Sharp NES would be different.

    Thanks for the advice!

  6. #30
    ServBot (Level 11) Niku-Sama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Deadford, OR
    Posts
    3,555
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    15
    Thanked in
    14 Posts

    Default

    i'm still not entirely convinced that its the cpu or ppu.

    did you ever try the hair drier thing?


  7. #31
    ServBot (Level 11) Custom rank graphic
    Cornelius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Wrong Place, Wrong Time
    Posts
    3,711
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    44
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    18
    Thanked in
    17 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Niku-Sama View Post
    i'm still not entirely convinced that its the cpu or ppu.

    did you ever try the hair drier thing?
    Yeah, I did, but it didn't seem to have an effect. So overheating doesn't seem to be the problem, as much as that would explain things. I'm assuming a chip could fail and cause lockups/glitches without overheating, but maybe that's not the case? Should I get a logic probe (and learn how to use it)?

  8. #32
    ServBot (Level 11) Niku-Sama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Deadford, OR
    Posts
    3,555
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    15
    Thanked in
    14 Posts

    Default

    do you have any access to a flash cart at all?

    could load the test cart rom to it and see if it comes back with any thing.

  9. #33
    ServBot (Level 11) Custom rank graphic
    Cornelius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Wrong Place, Wrong Time
    Posts
    3,711
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    44
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    18
    Thanked in
    17 Posts

    Default

    No, I don't. Hmmm.

Similar Threads

  1. SNES Freezing?
    By zdirty in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-04-2010, 10:13 PM
  2. ps3 bluray freezing
    By c0ldb33r in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-09-2009, 08:36 PM
  3. xbox 360 freezing
    By Daft Punk in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-07-2008, 02:51 AM
  4. 32x freezing
    By gamegirl79 in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-30-2003, 08:45 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •