Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Turbo Duo: No Power - Suddenly Dead?

  1. #1
    Ryu Hayabusa (Level 16) Custom rank graphic
    Oobgarm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Milford. Ohio.
    Posts
    8,084
    Xbox LIVE
    Oobgarm
    PSN
    Oobgarm
    Steam
    Oobgarm
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Turbo Duo: No Power - Suddenly Dead?

    Been a couple years since I was last here, maybe someone here has some Duo knowledge they can pass on.

    I got a US Duo back at the end of June. Things worked fine the few times I used it at that point. Got it from a highly reputable seller (and was told that their person did A+ work on the system for a recap and an RGB mod)and they have been more than accommodating for a newbie to the system.

    Plugged it back in a few days ago and got nothing. Disc doesn't spin, no insert disc screen, HuCards don't load. Even my Everdrive shows no lights like usual at boot. This system had not moved from its spot on the shelf during that time, only thing that did move was the AC adapter when I unplugged it from the wall - but not from the system.

    Multimeter shows power is coming from the (official) AC adapter, and when plugged into the system, the fuse shows voltage as well. I've re-seated the connectors from the small power board to the main board, and they show power too. Board shows no signs of leaking caps.

    I looked over older posts and nothing there seemed to help.

    Any thoughts? I'm bummed that I wasn't able to fire it up the other day, and now I worry about this rather expensive purchase's future.
    RIP bargora, you will be greatly missed.That is how we do things on Giedion Prime.

  2. #2
    ServBot (Level 11) jb143's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    3,925
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    4
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    29
    Thanked in
    28 Posts

    Default

    Have you checked voltage between Vcc and ground on the ICs?
    "Game programmers are generally lazy individuals. That's right. It's true. Don't let anyone tell you otherwise. Since the dawn of computer games, game programmers have looked for shortcuts to coolness." Kurt Arnlund - Game programmer for Activision, Accolade...

  3. #3
    Great Puma (Level 12) Bratwurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,415
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    4
    Thanked in
    4 Posts

    Default

    Another thing to check is verify that the power switch itself is working, a simple enough continuity check for either state.


Similar Threads

  1. SNES suddenly has no power
    By Xavier in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-29-2016, 11:45 AM
  2. TurboGrafx CD suddenly went dead
    By Orion Pimpdaddy in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 02-23-2013, 01:46 AM
  3. I have 2 dead Turbo Grafx Games
    By neojapan in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-08-2012, 09:36 AM
  4. F/S: Turbo Express Unit(NO DEAD PIXELS; GREAT SOUND!)
    By JohnnyBlaze in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-15-2012, 01:50 PM
  5. No power on my Turbo Duo RX
    By drwily008 in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-01-2004, 10:59 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •