Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Arcade cab needs two ground connectors, but new PSU only has one

  1. #1
    Kirby (Level 13) megasdkirby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Bayamon, Puerto Rico
    Posts
    5,168
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    12
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    9
    Thanked in
    8 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    megasdkirby
    PSN
    megasdkirby

    Default Arcade cab needs two ground connectors, but new PSU only has one

    Although I'm almost certain that it's possible, can I connect two sources that require ground (green wire) on only one ground (green) connector on the PSU?

    Replacement PSU has only one ground female molex connector and I need to connect two cabinet ground male molex connectors (one ground is from the coin slot and the other were the controls are). I know, it's a dumb question and I should know better, but I just want to make sure.

    Thanks everyone!
    Game Wants: http://www.digitpress.com/forum/showthread.php?t=121467
    Completed US CIB Collections: Atari 7800, Neo Geo Pocket Color
    Quote Originally Posted by portnoyd View Post
    Jesus christ. Half the internet is truly retarded.

  2. #2
    Bell (Level 8)
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,709
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    84
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    74
    Thanked in
    70 Posts

    Default

    dont take my word as gospel because i dont want to be responsible if you get blown away but in all my experiences with car batteries, boat batteries, satellite communications, air conditioning units, video game repair, ive seen multiple instances of multiple things grounded on either a negative or multiple seperate ground screws that all connected to the same damn piece of metal.

    now with that being said... does the rule change depending on AC versus DC? I dont know. i guess car and boat batteries run on DC and it seemed fine to stack your negatives. and household power runs on AC and if you look at your air conditioning condenser, youll have 1 ground going to a screw that just bolts to the metal. i dont know why it would be dangerous to add another ground wire to same screw versus drilling a seperate screw somewhere else

    so im 99.9% sure youd be fine but im not an electrical engineer so...

Similar Threads

  1. Gameroom from the ground up!!
    By bust3dstr8 in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 04-07-2007, 12:17 AM
  2. Haunting Ground - Help Please
    By Griking in forum Modern Gaming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-08-2006, 12:49 PM
  3. Designing a room of doom from the ground up
    By chadtower in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 04-07-2004, 03:08 PM
  4. complete gain ground for genesis
    By autobotracing in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 03-09-2003, 05:00 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •