Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Sega 32x only shows black & white garbled picture

  1. #1
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    93
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default Sega 32x only shows black & white garbled picture

    Hey guys, hoping someone can shed some wisdom on me. I purchased a Sega 32x the other day, and I'm having some trouble getting it to work correctly.

    Now I should start off by saying i do not have a pass through cable at the moment, however I've read online that it should show atleast the 32x part of the game with audio correct? Please correct me if I'm wrong.

    Here's what's happening. When the composite video cable (I've tried 2 different composite and 1 RF cable, all with same results) is plugged into the 32x Video Output, I'm only getting a black-and-white garbled picture of the game playing with no audio when using 32x games.

    However if I plug the AV cable directly into the back of the Genesis system itself (using two different model 2's), the picture looks great. It's in full color with stereo sound, the only thing missing is the 32x graphics.

    I've opened up the 32x, cleaned and re-seated the 2 ribbon cables on each end, but still no dice. There is some rust on the RF shielding inside the unit, but the board itself is clean.

    Is this all because I don't have the pass-through cable and I'm a dumb ass? 😄 Or is there actually something wrong with my 32x?

    Any help would be much appreciated!

  2. #2
    Pac-Man (Level 10)
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    2,919
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    107
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    103
    Thanked in
    99 Posts

    Default

    with one of the S-video cables I have, Ill get a black and white picture sometimes, and to correct it, I have to wiggle the cable a little. thats all the insight i have

  3. #3
    Ghostbuster
    Greg2600's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Soprano Land, NJ
    Posts
    3,905
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    6
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    54
    Thanked in
    49 Posts

    Default

    Without the crossover cable, honestly I don't remember what it will do, but I would just wait to acquire one, see if the console then works.
    The Paunch Stevenson Show free Internet podcast - www.paunchstevenson.com - DP FEEDBACK

  4. #4
    Apple (Level 5) Gamevet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    1,027
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    8
    Thanked in
    8 Posts

    Default

    I’m using component cables. You’ll get a black screen when the crossover cable is removed while trying to run Star Wars.

Similar Threads

  1. Intellivision picture in black and white? Help?
    By Tetsu in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-27-2011, 10:44 AM
  2. CDI shows black screen when turned on
    By Atari 5200 in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-05-2010, 09:23 AM
  3. Need picture of white with red stripe SNES sample/protos
    By LuxKiller65 in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-30-2010, 01:24 PM
  4. Old SNES shows picture but fades quickly
    By joaomgcd in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-16-2008, 12:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •