Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: BIG COMMODORE 64 PROBLEM NEED HELP

  1. #1
    Pear (Level 6)
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    bugging the employees at Goodwill
    Posts
    1,352
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default BIG COMMODORE 64 PROBLEM NEED HELP

    The topic says it all. okay, heres the scoop. i got a c64 off of ebay, and it didnt have an RF switch or a Power Supply. so, i used an existing RF switch, and i just got a power supply in the mail yesterday anyway, the light turns on, and when i turn it on, there is no proof of it being on, on the TV. THE DAMN SCREEN DOESNT SHOW UP!!!!! anyway, is it the RF switch, or is it just the system? cuz its not the power supply. so all in all, the red light on the system turns on, the screen gets a little fuzzier when i turn it on, but doesnt show up, and one more thing. i also have a disc drive hooked up. i doubt thats the problem.
    Somebody once told me to get a life.

    I told them I sold it for money to buy video games.

  2. #2
    Pretzel (Level 4)
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    983
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Try the following channels: 2, 3, or 4. Make sure the select switch is set to "Game/Computer"

    If that doesn't work, chargeback the money to the ebay seller. I had a similar problem with my Commodore Plus/4 (light on, looked like it should work), but the internal circuitry had been burned out.
    TROY'S GAMING HISTORY
    1977- Atari 2600 (primitive)
    1985- Commodore=128 (8-bit)
    1989- Amiga 500 (16-bit)
    1991- zzzzzzzzzzz :scatter:
    2002- Playstation 2 (128-bit)

  3. #3
    Ryu Hayabusa (Level 16) Raedon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Texas Land
    Posts
    8,054
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I will assume you have a 5 pin DIN monitor port on the Breadbox C64 as it's off of Ebay. If you checked the channel and you know the switch box works then the next thing to do is open the c64 up and clean it out. I've opened a C64 before and found a dead colony of roaches.

    If you open it up and it appears clean, re-seat all the chips. These old circuits get finicky like a NES cart as they get old. Blow on the motherboard to clear off any dust.

    If that doesn't work then you need to start troublesooting starting at the Zylog Z80..

    Just a note that the chips on the C64 can still be baught, but it costs close to $10 for each of them so your better off buying another C64 for $10 and using this one for parts (extra keyboard, etc)
    Fear your thoughts because they become your words
    Fear your words because they become your actions
    Fear your actions because they become your habits
    Fear your habits because they become your character
    Fear your character because it becomes your destiny

    Therefore: Thinking and nurturing positive thoughts, at any point in your life, can change your destiny.

Similar Threads

  1. Commodore 64C - The new member of my commodore collection.
    By gameplayerspecial in forum Computer Gaming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-13-2012, 01:25 PM
  2. Commodore 64 problem
    By bigbadbear9885 in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-20-2012, 09:27 PM
  3. TI99/4A, Commodore VIC-20, Commodore Plus4
    By lwizardl in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-24-2010, 01:19 AM
  4. Commodore 64 video cable problem
    By leicamaster in forum Technical and Restoration Society
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 01-20-2009, 05:23 PM
  5. Looking for Commodore 64 carts/Commodore console
    By swlovinist in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-21-2004, 03:20 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •