Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: OK, someone please help me. [installing FFXI]

  1. #1
    Ryu Hayabusa (Level 16) Custom rank graphic
    Oobgarm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Milford. Ohio.
    Posts
    8,086
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Oobgarm
    PSN
    Oobgarm
    Steam
    Oobgarm

    Default OK, someone please help me. [installing FFXI]

    Well, I decided to try Final Fantasy XI with some friends at work. Funny thing is, I cannot get the game to install on my machine. I've contacted Square regarding it, and they've been of no help. I know that some folks here are tech savvy, so I turn to you. You're my only hope.

    Here's what I've tried, and none of them have worked:

    --Exchanged discs where I bought them
    --Borrowed a friend's copy, who has successfully installed on numerous computers to ensure their disc is good
    --Updated DVD Rom firmware (Pioneer DVD-116R)
    --Copied CD contents to Hard Drive (still asks for me to put CD in the drive)
    --Updated the InstallShield drivers
    --Tried using my CDR/W drive

    Here's the error I'm getting:

    Error 1311.Unable to locate E:\playonline\data1.cab. Verify that the file exists and that you can access it.

    My computer has Windows XP, with all driver updates/patches/etc.

    Any help here would be GREATLY appreciated, as my patience is wearing thin.
    RIP bargora, you will be greatly missed.That is how we do things on Giedion Prime.

  2. #2
    classicus carnivorous
    digitalpress's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Circling about overhead
    Posts
    26,331
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post
    Xbox LIVE
    Digital Press
    PSN
    digitalpress

    Default

    Quick questions that will help someone troubleshoot.

    Is E:/ your CD-ROM drive? If so, is it the one the CD is in?

    When you go to that same folder through Windows Explorer, can YOU see the file there?

  3. #3
    Ryu Hayabusa (Level 16) Custom rank graphic
    Oobgarm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Milford. Ohio.
    Posts
    8,086
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Oobgarm
    PSN
    Oobgarm
    Steam
    Oobgarm

    Default

    Yes, E: is the DVD drive, which is the main drive I use for installing programs/ripping CDs and the like.

    Yes, the files are there when I explore the drive.
    RIP bargora, you will be greatly missed.That is how we do things on Giedion Prime.

  4. #4
    Pac-Man (Level 10) hezeuschrist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    2,737
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Hezeuschrist

    Default

    Another FFXI thread... my willpower is quickly dissipating

    I can't resist anymore, I'm going to buy it... Nooooooooooooooooo!

    As for your problem, I have no clue

  5. #5
    Banana (Level 7)  Gideon 's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Mich
    Posts
    1,411
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    49
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    4
    Thanked in
    4 Posts

    Default

    It's possible that an error occured at the factory, which is what seems to be the case considering that you said that you exchanged the game--that is, assuming that e: is your CD drive label. Usually, the error message you're getting is a strong indication of a scratched disc, so it's weird that something like that would happen with one that's brand new.

  6. #6
    Ryu Hayabusa (Level 16) Custom rank graphic
    Oobgarm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Milford. Ohio.
    Posts
    8,086
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Oobgarm
    PSN
    Oobgarm
    Steam
    Oobgarm

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gideon
    It's possible that an error occured at the factory, which is what seems to be the case considering that you said that you exchanged the game--that is, assuming that e: is your CD drive label. Usually, the error message you're getting is a strong indication of a scratched disc, so it's weird that something like that would happen with one that's brand new.
    I've tried 3 discs. I bought the game at Best Buy. No luck with that, so I borrowed a friend's disc, who has been playing the game since it was released. No luck there, either. That SHOULD have worked. I then decided to exchange the game at a different Best Buy store. Still no luck.
    RIP bargora, you will be greatly missed.That is how we do things on Giedion Prime.

  7. #7
    classicus carnivorous
    digitalpress's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Circling about overhead
    Posts
    26,331
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post
    Xbox LIVE
    Digital Press
    PSN
    digitalpress

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gideon
    It's possible that an error occured at the factory, which is what seems to be the case considering that you said that you exchanged the game--that is, assuming that e: is your CD drive label. Usually, the error message you're getting is a strong indication of a scratched disc, so it's weird that something like that would happen with one that's brand new.
    I doubt it's a factory problem unless it's a direct relationship between his specific DVD drive and the game installation. He mentions that his friend used the same disc to install on multiple other machines, presumably with no problems.

  8. #8
    Great Puma (Level 12)
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Northeast IL
    Posts
    4,291
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    chunkycorn

    Default

    try once, changing your drive letter and installing again. xp actually has a problem when you install from scratch and loading drives for multiple drives on where it's looking.
    My life and perception has changed, but my principals are the same.

  9. #9
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    447
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I am not sure about this, but it might be the problem. My brother just got the Morrowind GOTY on pc, and he couldn't get it to install from his dvd drive, only the cd writing drive. It could possibly have something to do with how they are set up in the bios, primary/secondary slave/master. You might wanna check and make sure they are put in there correctly.
    http://www.davidwhite.cjb.net
    CitizenWhite(at)hotmail(dot)com

  10. #10
    Ryu Hayabusa (Level 16) Custom rank graphic
    Oobgarm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Milford. Ohio.
    Posts
    8,086
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Oobgarm
    PSN
    Oobgarm
    Steam
    Oobgarm

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Chunky
    try once, changing your drive letter and installing again. xp actually has a problem when you install from scratch and loading drives for multiple drives on where it's looking.
    How might I do such a thing? I'm still not 100% familiar with XP, since I just installed it over ME about 2 months ago.
    RIP bargora, you will be greatly missed.That is how we do things on Giedion Prime.

  11. #11
    Great Puma (Level 12)
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Northeast IL
    Posts
    4,291
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    chunkycorn

    Default

    Using the Windows interface

    Open Computer Management (Local).
    In the console tree, click Disk Management.
    Where?

    Computer Management (Local)
    Storage
    Disk Management

    Right-click a partition, logical drive, or volume, and then click Change Drive Letter and Paths.
    Do one of the following:
    To assign a drive letter, click Add, click the drive letter you want to use, and then click OK.
    To modify a drive letter, click it, click Change, click the drive letter you want to use, and then click OK.
    My life and perception has changed, but my principals are the same.

  12. #12
    Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    A world that's full of turds.
    Posts
    147
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    I've been working with software installation issues for the past four years. I can tell you that you havent tried everything until you've F-DISK'ed it. Pain in the ass, I know, but it's an option if you've tried everything else. I've also had to resort to upgrading the BIOS on the motherboard, replacing hardware - starting with the cd/dvd rom first. And yes, sometimes even that does not work. There's certain computers where certain software just will not install, no matter what and you may never know why.
    Worst offender - Toshiba laptops.
    Cinnamon!

  13. #13
    Ryu Hayabusa (Level 16) Custom rank graphic
    Oobgarm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Milford. Ohio.
    Posts
    8,086
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Oobgarm
    PSN
    Oobgarm
    Steam
    Oobgarm

    Default

    Funny thing is, I haven't had any problems with anything at all until now.

    One thing I forgot to mention is that I'm getting nowhere in the install when the error pops up. It genereates the install scripts and whatnot, and as soon as it begins to copy files, the error occurs.

    Quote Originally Posted by Blendo75
    I can tell you that you havent tried everything until you've F-DISK'ed it
    I'm not going to go to any extreme length to get this to work, but I appreciate the input.
    RIP bargora, you will be greatly missed.That is how we do things on Giedion Prime.

  14. #14
    Great Puma (Level 12)
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Northeast IL
    Posts
    4,291
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    chunkycorn

    Default

    for got about something simple here:

    - If you have extra space on your hard disk drive, try copying the files from FINAL FANTASY XI Discs 1, 2, and 3 into a folder on your hard drive manually, then start installation by double-clicking the "setup.exe" file.
    My life and perception has changed, but my principals are the same.

  15. #15
    Ryu Hayabusa (Level 16) Custom rank graphic
    Oobgarm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Milford. Ohio.
    Posts
    8,086
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Oobgarm
    PSN
    Oobgarm
    Steam
    Oobgarm

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Chunky
    for got about something simple here:

    - If you have extra space on your hard disk drive, try copying the files from FINAL FANTASY XI Discs 1, 2, and 3 into a folder on your hard drive manually, then start installation by double-clicking the "setup.exe" file.
    I haven't even gotten that far!

    I can't install the PlayOnline viewer, which is required to install the actual game.

    I tried to select all/copy the files on the CD to a folder on my HD, and it asks me to insert the CD into the drive. Is there a way around this?
    RIP bargora, you will be greatly missed.That is how we do things on Giedion Prime.

  16. #16
    Strawberry (Level 2)
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    447
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Maybe a virtual drive? Nero has one I think.
    http://www.davidwhite.cjb.net
    CitizenWhite(at)hotmail(dot)com

  17. #17
    Alex (Level 15) maxlords's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    7,533
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    There's actually a production problem with the run of FFXI I've heard.

    I'll get the source for this quote...got it from a friend:
    As many people are aware, the online version of the popular Final Fantasy series was released for the PC recently. But all was not well, because many people were unable to install the game due to defective discs. The problem was apparently widespread enough to merit Square Enix to set up a place to download the software on the internet.
    It's not your PC man!
    scooterb: "I once shot a man in Catan, just to watch him die."

  18. #18
    drowning in medals Ed Oscuro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    16,550
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post

    Default

    Yet he borrowed a friend's disc which installed on other PCs. It is his PC, or perhaps an issue with the installation program itself being incompatible.

    I would certainly take that PC on a visit by windowsupdate.microsoft.com, though, that's what.

    But I'd also look through This Forum.

  19. #19
    Alex (Level 15) maxlords's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    7,533
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Default

    Most likely there's a fatal flaw in the installation program that makes it incompatible with most PCs. Hence the bad bad problems. I'll get more info as soon as I find it!
    scooterb: "I once shot a man in Catan, just to watch him die."

  20. #20
    Ryu Hayabusa (Level 16) Custom rank graphic
    Oobgarm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Milford. Ohio.
    Posts
    8,086
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Xbox LIVE
    Oobgarm
    PSN
    Oobgarm
    Steam
    Oobgarm

    Default

    w00t!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    A buddy of mine who is more into computers than I am came over and got it working. I dunno how, but now it's installed. Now the patch downloading begins...

    Thanks to all those who responded, your help is appreciated.
    RIP bargora, you will be greatly missed.That is how we do things on Giedion Prime.

Similar Threads

  1. FA: FFXI New, Genny 3 w/ 48 games, Etc
    By Dangerboy in forum Buying and Selling
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-10-2006, 11:25 AM
  2. Anyone still playing FFXI?
    By Blackjax in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-22-2005, 05:56 PM
  3. Anybody playing FFXI?
    By Cleatis in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 01-19-2005, 05:27 PM
  4. Anyone getting FFXI for PS2?
    By gamegirl79 in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: 04-01-2004, 02:33 AM
  5. No FFXI for the United States
    By Cmtz in forum Classic Gaming
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-08-2002, 11:22 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •