Thread: Famicom Disk System Game Prices?

Insert Coin (Level 0)
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Default Famicom Disk System Game Prices?

Hey All...

I just joined the forum. I am an american university student living in Tokyo. I know...its the mecha of games...no doubt about it....

Anyway I just picked up a brand new new style Famicom A/V at the store along with a couple of games. I picked up Metal Gear with a mint box and instructions for roughly $20 US dollars. Is this a good price? It seemed like it to me and since Metal Gear is one of my favorite series I did not really hesitate.

Anyway, I also found a small used book store/game shop that has many famicom disk system games. They are all priced at about US $5. What is the average price for disk system games in the US?? I just would like an idea if its a good idea to pick up games I dont really know much about at that price point. To give you guys an idea of what they had....Golf Japan Course with Instruction manual, about 5 copies of Super Mario 2 (Japan) some with instructions, some other game titles (all in Kanji...gahh still studying), and some Konami game with a military theme...i forget them name something like Commandos...something generic...cant be too many for disk system anyway.

Ok last question is....how many games were released in total for the Famicom Disk system?

Any help would be appreciated and let me know if you are looking for certain games and I might be able to pick them up...

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Hey waxpoet:

Welcome to the forums (and to Tokyo). First off, as with the other post, there's an import forum that's probably more appropriate for very import-specfic topics... although such topics do pop up here from time to time, and there are very few assholes on this board.